We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Loetschberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Loetschberg
Ranked #14 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This B&B is perfectly located - next to the train station and supermarket. Pros: partial kitchen which you can use (so use the supermarket and warm up your food in the microwave or just a place where you can eat your dinner if your taking out), location (across the street from the train station so easy to get anywhere). Yes, the rooms are small and a bit outdated and the washroom was also tiny, but it did the job. Breakfast was okay - not too much selection but was good enough to start the day. Staff were friendly and accomodating as they provided us with a heater at night cuz it was a little chilly.

All in all - I would recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeghaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    64
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our recent stay at what we thougt was Hotel Lotschberg was quite unexpected. We booked through Expedia which we have done a number of times in the past. To our surprise we were put in the shady hostel-like 'B and B' next door because we had booked an 'economy double' room. When we went into our room, we were greeted by a very dated angel theme. We were on the ground-level and the room was quite hot with little to no airflow. The breakfast was sparse, but did the trick. Hopefully the croissants will be thawed for you, because ours were not. The location is good. Very walkable. The shower was very slow to drain. When we were checking out we were told we had to pay cash because we were staying at the shady b and b, at which point I got out the reservation that very clearly stated our booking at Hotel Lotschberg. Proceed with caution if you are going to book with this establishment. All in all, not worth your money. If you want to stay in a dated hostel, stay here. If you do decide to stay here, make sure you book with Lotschberg and not Susi's B and B (if there is an option).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Rooms are clean and quiet, room size is big, but our bathroom is tiny even for one person inside. Breakfast is not so bad, and manager is always there in the morning willing answer any questions of where to go what to do. There's a lounge room on 1st floor, with refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, dishes, glassware, sink, etc., if you don't want go out eat (which is expensive in whole Switzerland) , you can buy food in grocery and make some simple dinner here. There's a washer and dryer free to use, they sell detergent in lobby. Staff are nice. We had problem with hot water one night during our stay, I hope they fixed problem. It is walking distance to train station, grocery store is nearby, quite convenient for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gugi_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel Lotschberg after hiking in the Jungfrau for 5 days. We were greeted by a lovely and helpful gentleman on arrival and were given a very clean and comfortable room. A great and quiet location to explore Interlaken and just a few blocks off the busier main shopping/hotel district, a 3 minute walk to the West train station. We were greeted with a smile at breakfast which was most delicious. We will stay here again when our travels take us to Interlaken.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuekBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

After staying at the Lotschberg, I owe gratitude to Fritz. This is a very friendly family run hotel which stay one more memorable experience to our trip to Swtzerland. We stayed at the Susi's apartment which was large and comfortable. The room had a small balcony which overlooked the Alps. The best thing was the common living room at the ground floor which had internet, coffee maching, library and some jackets and footwear. They offer bicycles at no cost to the guests.

The hotel offers very good value for money and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Switzerland is a very expensive country for people from the UK and therefore it was a delight to stay in The Lotschberg, my second stay. I think you will be hard pressed to improve on value for money in Interlaken. Rooms were clean and appeared refurbished since last visit. As mentioned elsewhere staff were friendly and helpful. There are comments elswhere on this site about he breakfast but we found it very good..Looking forward to third visit!

Room Tip: Corridor lighting poor on higher levels after dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestourbridgelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
000000
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I spent some good time with you makes me feel at home with my family a quiet area and beautiful views and all services are available and close to the train station and supermarket wonderful staff always smiling, but there is one thing to be improved ( breakfast ) Was poor

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipSaihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#16 of 40 in Interlaken
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loetschberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loetschberg

Property: Hotel Loetschberg
Address: General Guisanstrasse 31, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Loetschberg 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small Hotel Lotschberg enjoys a central but very quiet location, only a 3-minute walk from the Interlaken West Train Station. The hotel was built in 1906 in the art nouveau style and is still run the the owner family. The hotel rooms have been renovated in 2011, since summer 2014 we offer an outdoor seating area. All hotel rooms have private bathroom with shower/WC or bath/WC and a hairdryer. All rooms with TV, Safety box and table Fan, in the hotel rooms breakfast is included in the room rate. The apartments and the economic double rooms are located in the Guesthouse next to the hotel main building. The apartments feature a new, fully equipped kitchenette and a bathroom including a hairdryer. Towels and linen are provided and towels are changed after every third night. In the economic double rooms, daily cleaning and breakfast are included in the price. Hotel Lotschberg offers free WiFi in all rooms, tea and coffee station in the hotel, free use of washing, drying and ironing facilities, free use of bicycles, and free use of the microwave and the fridge. Sunny terrasse with pergola, outdoor sitting area. Every room has an en-suite bathroom and a cable TV, all have a Hairdryer and Safety box. Alarm clocks can be ordered at the front desk, different types of pillows and duvets are available on request at the reception. All rooms are very quiet and have a view to the surrounding mountains.Kids can play on the school yard and football field across the road. Children's playgrounds are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Loetschberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lotschberg & Susi`s Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Lotschberg & Susi`s Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing