We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hospitality !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss Inn Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
“Fantastic Hospitality !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

I would recommend this place for everyone, hospitality is amazing. JP and his Wife also guide and help us plan the iternary.....and assist us all the way to make sure our trip in Switzerland is very comfortable.

If you are not fussy abt bfast, like we Indians are ..pls go ahead and ask them for an extra charge u can get a basic bfast, if u dont want to go to the store and get the groceries.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank congo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    48
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

We had an unforgettable experience at the The Swiss Inn, Interlaken, Switzerland. The overall ambience of this charming hotel and apartments and the hospitality offered does not let us forget the place. we have come back with fond memories of switzerland especially because our stay was so comfortable. Moreover the hotel allows privacy for everyone because of its unique layout. There is no disturbance of any sort and our apartment was very comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor and it was self sufficient complete with all requirements.
We would highly recommend stay at this one. Infact visit to Interlaken is not complete without stay at swiss inn.

  • Liked — The Hospitality
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacesanddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

It was a fantastic place, very close to the railway station- Interlaken OST. The family owned hotel is managed well with rooms having all what a holiday family will require. They were one of our best guides who adviced us on places to visit around interlaken and how effectively we could plan our 5 days at Interlaken, ensuring that we don't miss out on any place of interest to us.
On reservations, when we tried our booking, the type of room we were looking out weren't available for the entire period. I just picked the phone to contact them and they were able to suggest alternate type of rooms so that we could continue in the same place for all the 5 days. So my learning on the booking process is if you don't find availability on the net, call them direct. With Public Transport at it's best, its very easy to get around. - Prakash

  • Liked — A very nice and homely place with all basic convenience in the room with Kitchenette
  • Disliked — Not suitable for business people
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Prakashroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

We placed our stay at the Swiss Inn between a visit to Lucerne on our arrival in Switzerland and Zurich at the end of our trip and it was a wise choice. We arrived from Lucerne on the Golden Panoramic Train to Interlaken, after taking advantage of Swiss Rail’s forward baggage service. Like everything done by the Swiss transportation, the train and the forwarded luggage arrived right on time. Forwarding the luggage via Swiss rail to any of the many stations throughout the country was great for us because we were staying in Lucerne first after we arrived at Zurich Airport. If you arrive at luggage before 9 am (and we did) and pay about $20 per bag you can have your bags forwarded on to another station and pick it up at 6 pm that day. If you arrive after 9 am, it will be next day at 6 pm delivery. Anyone lugging cases on trains, on and off the platform, etc., will realise that if you split your clothes, etc., and forward the largest shipment on to your next destination, it is a boon to your back and your patience. So, we took advantage of this, and it was a great idea.

Entering Interlaken Ost Station, it’s busy, but so well organized, clean, and bedecked again in flowers. JP from Swiss Inn was waiting for us and the luggage, and drove us to the Inn. It is in a quiet spot, lovely and quaint, and JP was so helpful on arrival with suggestions, directions, and a complimentary bus pass for all over town. We entered Apartment #9 and were very pleased with the layout. It’s not new, but was comfortable and spotless, and had a lovely little balcony that looks out towards the mountains, which we used a lot later.

The kitchen living area is combined, and yes the kitchen is small and cooking wise there is not a lot you can do with two rings, and a microwave, but really we only wanted it for breakfast and to make up a picnic and so on for our day trips out . There is another microwave and pop machine in a room on the same floor. We headed down to the smaller supermarket, MIgros, only five minutes away for supplies such as milk, cheese, bread, etc. Not water, you don’t need to buy water, just use the tap water, and fill an empty bottle with you each day on your excursions. For larger food choice by far, the Coop, especially the Coop opposite Interlaken Ost Station is by far the best, but the Migros serves you well, and also has a not too bad self serve restaurant. There is also another Coop in the Swiss Inn part of town just down from the West station, going across the bridge and in a shopping plaza down on the right. The Migros is in the plaza at Rugenparkstrasse. In that same shopping plaza is another discount-type store, Denner, right underneath Migros (Migros Grocery is on the top level), and it had all sorts of beer and wine and pop, so we stocked up for our “sit out on the balcony” moments. Just remember, that thankfully in some ways, unlike the North American need to pander to the endless call of cash registers 24/7, Europeans value their time more than filling it in with retail therapy, and stores close early, most not on Sunday, and also you will find some places still close for lunch.....so prepare for this when considering your shopping needs.

After unpacking, and getting stocked up with staple supplies, we walked down the quiet streets into town, where the busiest place is the main street that runs from one end to the other, (Bahnhofstrasse leading into Hoheweg) from Interlaken Ost and West stations. We crossed the bridge into Untersee, and enjoyed strolling there, back streets included, with the lovely houses, decorations and gardens, then along the riverbank, back across to Interlaken, and down towards the Ost end of town. By this time it was late afternoon, so we remembered that JP had said if we went to visit the funicular and lookout at Harder Kulm taking the 4:45 ride, it was reduced in price. We were close to the time, so had a coffee, took our time and made the ride up and were glad we did. Not many people up the top at that time, which was much better. Instead of clear blue sky and mountains, it was clear, but with those storm type clouds rolling above, which can be just as dramatic and striking to the senses. Not only that, it was so quiet as we watched them go by that you wanted to whisper so as not to disturb nature, or interrupt the scene in any way. It gave you the same feeling as you get entering a huge cathedral. You realise that for all man thinks he can conquer the world, the sheer force of nature formed these mountains, and rules them at her whim. The viewpoint is perfect, and we had a glass of wine and beer as we sat at the outlook, before heading back down, and finding the bus stop (bus runs every 15 mins both directions) to dropped us at Interlaken West, which is also just five minutes from the apartment.

The apartment is a great location, for the station, the Migros, and the steamer or train to Thun. It’s about 20 mins walk, or a five minute bus or train ride down to Interlaken Ost for the trains up the mountains, and the steamer and train to Brienz. Interlaken itself, is the hub for travel communications to all points, the stations are busy, and in true Swiss fashion run on time, as do the buses, and steamers. Interlaken has a certain charm, with nice little surprises. The Japanese garden is lovely and located nearer to Ost station. The riverbank stroll is an enjoyable walk, as is the one at the top end of town. If you cross behind the West Station, and the steamer station, and take the walk along the canal bank, you get your dose of exercise.

After supper we crashed in our apartment and checked the TV channel for the “live from the Jungfrau and Schilthorn” planning to watch it before an early trip out next day. Beds were comfy and we slept like logs, although North American’s should note that pillows in Europe are not as hard or thick, so bring your own if you need to. Also, one thing we did notice in the apartment that would have been nice, and I’ve just now remembered, is throw cushions on the sofa’s. This would give you something to put behind your head and shoulders if you watched TV on one of the sofa’s where you had to sit longways to see the TV. And one more thing that could be an improvement is brighter light bulbs in both the living area and bedside lamps, as at first we found it difficult, being big readers (There are loads of TV stations, but only two in English BBC Prime and CNN and we didn’t come to watch TV,). A brighter bulb would have made it easier to read books better, but also to see into the kitchen area when working at night, as there is no light directly in the kitchen area. But this was only a very minor thing, everything else was perfect. Each night we’d make up sandwiches of cheese and ham on lovely buns we got from Migros supermarket all ready for the next day, and we’d also get the kettle, coffee pot, and make up instant oatmeal in the casserole to heat up with fruit in the microwave for morning, along with the toaster and chocolate hazelnut spread. We were all set to go, and there are plenty places to go from Interlaken, thanks to the wonderful Swiss transportation system.

Our first day trip, we checked the TV, and it was terrible up top of both mountains, but clearer on the Jungfrau, so we set off for Interlaken Ost (via the bus from West) and got the train to Grindelwald. Grindelwald was quite busy, but such an attractive place. We knew the weather in the mountains could be unpredictable, so we always had the backpack filled with a rain slicker, and light fleece - layered all the way, plus the necessary water and of course, chocolate. Oh, and always wear good walking shoes....travelling around Switzerland is not for the fashion conscious.....I couldn’t believe the shoes, and for that matter clothes, some folks wore for their visits on the mountain trains.

From Grindelwald it didn’t look too bad weather wise we thought, so we decided to go a bit further to Kleine Scheidegg and see what it was like further up before deciding to go all the way to Jungfrau. By the way, at this point , reaching Grindelwald, if you have a pass, you are covered, but if you want to go further then take money, as from here the pass only gives a discount from the actual fare. It can take up to 2.5 hours each way to get to the summit and then return from Interlaken.

We continued on because the weather really wasn’t too bad, bit darkish and overcast, but when we got to Kleine Scheidegg the sun did come out although the clouds were still low lying. We saw others buying the tickets to go further and made a decision to follow, as we were almost there......big mistake. Unless it’s clear, don’t spend the extra to go up if you can’t see clearly all the way to the top of the mountain, in fact on reflection we should have done that at Grindelwald. We didn’t, and although we got views at the two stations on the way up, at the very top it was a total whiteout and you could see nothing. Lesson learned, but it was still thrilling to think of going up inside a mountain to reach those heights. On the way back down we took the train via Wengen, and found the journey towards Wengen full of changes in the countryside. We got off at Wengen, which I thought a lovely spot although it’s not large, had something to eat and drink, and then caught the train back down to Interlaken. Pretty much filled in the day for us.

Our next day trip was to Lauterbrunnen and Trummelbach Falls. Again, the Swiss transportation system is spot on. The trains are perfectly run and timed to fit in well with other connections. As you pull into Lauterbrunnen, you’re just in time to line up for the bus (also right on time) to Trummelbach Falls, which is good, as this late in the year it only runs once an hour it seemed. It was a really nice day there, and a lot of stairs to climb, and not personally something I totally enjoyed, as I’m not too keen on closed in spaces, but it’s something to see. I could not imagine how crowded the narrow stairway would be like in the busy summer months. Then we stayed in Lauterbrunnen a while before catching the train back to Interlaken in time for supper. Sat out on the balcony first and sampled some wine before the sun went in.

Next day we caught the train to Thun, and the sun came out by the time we pulled into Thun station. After exploring the town, with it’s what seems like millions of steps to reach the castle and church, and exploring the open market, we had a drink in the Beergarten at the station as we waited for the steamer to take us back to Interlaken. The sun shone on the lake, and it was a gorgeous journey, stopping at appealing spots on the way, seeing folks sitting in riverside cafes, and taking in the incredible blue of the lake and the landscapes rising up from the shore.

By this time we had more than noticed that all of this country was neat and clean, and had no huge signs or billboards to spoil the view that all those tourists have come to see. Always amazes me that tourist traps built around “sights” end up being cluttered by signs, billboards, banners, so much so that they spoil the very view of the thing the tourist comes to really see....and we live in Niagara Falls so can attest to this growing “advertising blot on the landscape” that has increased in the past few years... This does not happen in Switzerland, thankfully, and I hope it will always remain so.

Montreux was another day out, via the Panoramic Train, seats for which we’d booked beforehand. Wonderful trip by train, especially as the weather was so accomodating. Montreux was so different, in temperature and character, but the walk along the river front promenade to Clos de Chillon was like a stroll on the French Riviera, and longer than we thought - took us hours. Bordered in flowers all along the shore, with cafe’s, and display gardens, it’s a delightful and pleasurable stroll. We had lunch somewhere along the river walk, made it to Chillon and caught the bus back to centre of town. Had a bit of trouble on the bus when we didn’t know you had to buy a ticket at a machine situated right at the back of the bus, and when we tried to work it, our coin didn’t like it, and kept dropping out. There we were trying to find enough alternate coins to cover the cost of the ticket while everyone was looking at us and probably saying “stupid tourists”. Had a break in Montreux for a drink and then found the older coaches of the Panoramic train waiting in the station for the journey back......lovely touch. Another interesting thing to note in Switzerland was the consideration given to others. Not on this train, but on intercity trains, there are carriages delegated to “quiet” only, no cell phones, no music players, and no loud talking.........what a terrific idea!! Got to the apartment, and before the station closed at six, walked our largest suitcase down to forward on direct to Zurich Airport, complete with the souvenirs, and other heavier stuff. It was truly worth the money to do this. We’d not see it again until just before check in at the airport.

Our favourite day, was the last full day we had staying at Interlaken. As we had no luck weather wise on the Jungfrau, we thought on rising that morning that we’d check out the Schilthorn.....it was clear. So armed with that information, the backpack, and lunch, we once again got the train to Lauterbrunnen. Took the bus to the Schilthorn stop at Stechelberg where the gondola took us to Gimmelwald, and when we reached the top of the cliff, the clouds were lying. We looked at each other and thought, “not going up again to see a whiteout” so decided to walk round the village. It was the best part of our trip just having the place literally almost to ourselves, enveloped in the special silence that comes from being surrounded by nothing but clouds and nearby mountains, interrupted only by cow bells. Half way round the village the clouds started to move, and the blue sky appeared bit by bit, and everything you imagine Switzerland to be was all around just us.....perfect. We met a couple of cyclists who said they had hiked early in the morning from higher up at Murren, where they were staying, and we planned on going there, but figured we’d gondola up, and hike down. By this time the views were spectacular, but still cloudy right at the top. Going up to Murren was in sunshine, but when we saw the top of the Schilthorn on their TV screen, we declined a visit. After all, why go up with other tourists to a concrete pad in a whiteout when you can experience the real Switzerland all alone by just walking through the villages and mountains. Murren was closed for lunch it seemed, but suddenly a wedding party came from nowhere, and the reception was going to be held on a patio on the edge of the cliff overlooking the valley with the snow-topped mountain taking centre stage. What a backdrop, and it got better.....the bride wore what looked like traditional dress, and there was an alpine horn player on the patio, also traditionally dressed. So, we stayed a while, and walked down the trail, with the mountains shining in the sun, and hearing the disappearing sounds of the alpine horn as we went downwards. No tourist trap, just the real thing. Hiking down the trail in the sun, watching the small clouds move over the mountains and valley, with no sounds but waterfalls and cowbells, was something that you could not describe. I’d never understood why people want to climb mountains, or even be all alone with them, but there I did. It was as if the mountains were giving off feelings somehow, can’t explain it, you just felt it. It was awe inspiring and the closest thing to heaven.........topped only by the fact we stopped halfway, sat on a wall facing this magnificent moving painting, and ate our Swiss cheese and ham sandwiches! We felt we’d have withdrawal on our return home without our Swiss cheese, as we’d enjoyed those sandwiches every day. This was our final day in the Bernese Oberland, and our best. Memorable in every way.

We loved Switzerland, especially the Bernese Oberland, and that enjoyment was enhanced by the fact that we had a wonderful quiet apartment with lovely hosts at the Swiss Inn in Interlaken. We do all our research before travelling, train timetables, best restaurants, etc., so we didn’t need to bother our hosts with questions, although I know if we did, they would be more than helpful. If you want a place in Interlaken that is in a great location for train, bus, grocery, shopping, yet still quiet and peaceful, with great hosts, try the Swiss Inn. We doubt you’ll ever be disappointed.

  • Liked — It's great location to everything, and great hosts
  • Disliked — Very very little.....
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

Excellent stay. Very warm hosts. Very accomodating and friendly. Offered a free pick up and drop to the station. Clean and neat rooms. Ideal location - 5 mins walk from Interlaken west station.

  • Liked — the hosts, location
  • Disliked — No breakfast but not a big issue
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasi_Attili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

We've stayed at the Swiss Inn three or four times, for up to a week at a time, over the last few years. The place is comfortable and the owners are very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and are just great people. The Inn is located just a short walk from a grocery store, the railway station, restaurants and shopping. It's fun to get away from the big hotels when you have a place like this to stay.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Disliked — smoking allowed in adjacent rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellinglawyer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

Found this Hotel and self catering Lodge by searching Trip Advisor and found it to be excellent. I made contact via e mail and found Veronica to be most helpful. On arrival and during our stay this was to be the theme with both Veronica and her husband J P being most helpful and and full of information and advice which made our trip so much better.
The accommodation was spacious and had a huge balcony with a superb view. It was conveniently located 5 minutes from Interlaken West station and a nearby supermarket. Even though it was close J P gave us a lift to and from the station with our luggage on our arrival and departure.
The interior decor was a little dated in places but added to the character of the place. Cooking facilities were limited to two electric rings and a microwave oven and grill but it was easy to knock up a wholesome meal. As the cost of eating out was so high it not only saved us a lot of money but ensured we were able to eat enough after long hikes in the mountains!
Interlaken itself is an excellent place to base your stay being central to most of the walks and attractions and having excellent rail, boat and bus transport.
A swiss pass giving you free travel and half price on the mountain railways and cable cars is a must. It seems expensive at first but it paid for itself 3 time over and saved us a lot of money.
Finally would i go back and stay here again? Absolutely. Jon

  • Liked — comfort and helpfulness of owners
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrythedogPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Inn Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Inn Hotel & Apartments

Property: Swiss Inn Hotel & Apartments
Address: General Guisanstrasse 23, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Inn Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss Inn Hotel & Apartments was originally built in 1906. It has been last renovated in 2011. The family Mueller-Lohner ownes and operates our traditional house since 1982. For your convenience we offer 3 double rooms and 7 apartments. We are located in a quiet residential area of Interlaken only 3 minutes walking distance from the train station Interlaken West, the shopping center and the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swiss Inn Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing