We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Beauty is amazing”
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Switzerland, the land of alps, extreme natural beauty, romance, pleasure, snow and what not. When you enjoy the full day in the alps, running here n there to hop on the trains on time and fully exhausted at the end all you need is a hot shower and a quiet and clean bed so that you are equally energised for the another day. We had a lovely time in the hotel though welcomed byt the owners cat which was a bit scary for me as I am not cat lover. Based in interlaken and that too on the main road, its easily accessible but at night there was hell lot of noise by the traffic and some local stuff. But the balcony facing the alps make me forget all this.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jltiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 631 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2009

centrally located in this beautifull town. walking accessibility to all major centres like railway station.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aavesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Interlaken for 10 nights in September. The service can only be described as excellent. All staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The hotel manager checked each night to ensure our stay was meeting our expectations. Located in a room on the front of the hotel with a balcony, the room was spotless, spacious and comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast buffet was very good and on warm days breakfast can be taken on the terrace. The service in the restaurant was excellent. The only criticism was that the food could have been slightly better, saying that it was still of good standard. The hotel location was perfect and I would definately not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ferg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Our stay in Interlaken was very much enjoyable, apart from the terrible memories we have of staying in this hotel. Not only were the staff rude and obnoxious but the hotel itself failed to live up to the historic character described on its website. Definately visit Interlaken, but definately do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UKEuroTraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Interlaken. We stayed 2 of 3 nights at the Lindner Grand Hotel but were unable to get a room there the third night. The desk personnel at Lindner suggested Hotel Interlaken and advised us it was just across the street (this was when we made our reservation by phone). I knew that Hotel Interlaken had gotten mixed reviews on this site but there weren't many other possibilities and it was only one night so we booked it. We were pretty disappointed. We arrived around 3:00 in the afternoon hoping to deposit our suitcases and possibly take a short nap before heading out for shopping and dinner. We knew this was a bit early for check in and weren't surprised that the receptionist told us she'd have to check to see if the room was ready. She did so and advised us that it would be 15 or 20 minutes and that if we wanted we could leave our luggage at the front desk and go to the bar for a drink, we agreed. Apparently she was unaware that the bar was closed?? Very odd. Nevertheless we did not want to leave the hotel until we'd had a chance to freshen up so we found a place to sit and waited, we gave them extra time, at least 30 minutes, when we returned to the desk the receptionist said she would show us to our room, which she did, however the cleaning personnel were still in it, we had to wait in the hallway while the finished vacuuming and once we were inside there were two additional trips inside by hotel personnel to re-stock items. It was awkward and not a great way to start our stay. Once in the room we continued to be disappointed, the furniture and bath were a bit out dated though not horribly so. The linens were clean but of poor quality. Everything about the room was just a bit below average, which would not have been that big of a deal except that it was quite expensive ($340 night). And since we had just stayed at the Lindner Grand which was much nicer and slightly lower priced it was a little hard to swallow. The only highlight is that breakfast is included in the price, I did not have breakfast but my husband did and he said it was probably the best thing about the hotel. The other good things would be that there is a very beautiful Japanese garden just outside, but it accessible from the street and can be enjoyed by one and all regardless of where you are staying. My advise- for a much nicer stay book the Lindner if at all possible.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtndrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Just left the hotel a couple of days ago.

A 10 mins walk from interlaken ost train station, so location ws good. It was near to shopping street along howeg and the casino is nearby.

Overall hotel is quite nicely decorated and staff was pleansant but not exceptional friendly and helpful.

Room was nice and clean but very small. There was no air-con in the room so you would need to open the window for cool wind. But at times we feel stuffy. Toilet has a bath tub and spacious, which is the plus of this room. Breakfast was normal but added surprise of steamed rice as there are plenty of chinese and japanese in interlaken.

What was not good in my opinion is the internet is chargeable if you wish to use and you need a credit card for it. It deprived the guest of some web surfing activities at night when the town is practically quiet after 9pm.

Overall it is still a functional place to stay for a night or 2 with good location.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Simone_sg1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We usually stay at the Metropole hotel in Interlaken, but for a change we choose this hotel because it looked nice from outside ( I have been often in Interlaken and walked on the main street in front of the hotel). I had to be in the area for business and stayed one night there with my wife and daughter. The building was originally part of the monastery, which is located behind the building and hosts now the offices of the local administration. The reception areas and restaurants have been completely renovated. Our room looked a little bit tired, (the hotel brochure mentioned that all rooms had been renovated in 1984-1985) and rather dull. The room was really not that clean and there was a smell of mould (carpet). We stayed in a room facing the street and we did not hear at all the bells of the church just behind the hotel, as some other reviewers mentioned who stayed in the back. The windows were really soundproof and we did not hear the traffic. This might be different in the summer, because there is no A/C. Breakfast was OK -self-service, even for the coffee that one has to get from a coffee machine. There was one girl to handle the breakfast room and the poor girl was running because she could not cope with the workload. This set up would be more of a 3 star hotel type service. There is a very small parking - free of charge - belonging to the hotel. The receptionists were kind and professional.


The problem in Interlaken is the restaurants, which in my experience, are expensive (tourist resort) and disappointing. An alternative is the brasserie and the attached italian restaurant of the 5star Victoria Jungfrau hotel, which is a 5 minute walk. These restaurants offer very good quality food. The menu is rather limited but the service is great and one has the opportunity to have lunch or dinner in a beautiful Jugendstil room.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
722 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#6 of 40 in Interlaken
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: $158 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing