We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar and restaurant closed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Dover
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bar and restaurant closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Have always relied on trip advisor reviews but never written one. Signed up to leave my first about this hotel.

Nice looking hotel in decent area, parking easy and checkin efficient. Nice room.
From here a potential good review turns south.

I generally choose a hotel based on its website pictures of room bar and restaurant then read some reviews.
I like to have a drink in the bar then either eat in their restaurant or take a walk and find somewhere nearby, always followed by a return to the bar for a few drinks before bed.

This hotels bar and restaurant are currently closed for refurb until March.

I booked a month ago and was not informed of this.
I emailed them a week ago to confirm my booking.
On neither occasion was i informed of this obviously planned work.
Had I known about this I would definitely not booked here or would have cancelled my booking.

An expensive stay in a hotel with limited facilities who in my opinion should have been honest and were not.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Simon C
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that, on the whole, you liked our hotel.
The refurbishment of our kitchen has been planned since end October 2013 and has therefore also been published on our website as well as on internet booking platforms since the beginning of November 2013. I am really sorry if this information has not been clear enough and you therefore ended up staying at a hotel which did not at all meet you expectations.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.
The Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar are still expected to be re-opening by the end of February/beginning of March 2014.
Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    219
    74
    14
    12
See reviews for
128
274
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. I was so relieved that a misalignment of the tiles in our bathroom meant that ir was not excessively perfect, as is most of Switzerrland.
Excellent restaurant, but best to book.

Room Tip: They all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JolyonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is well located between the Ost railway station and town. Hence, it is a short pleasant walk either way. The hotel is well organised as the check in/check out were hassle free. The hotel has an old charm, with a balanced decoration. The room was very clean and modern furnished. The bed was comfortable and we slept really well. The breakfast was good and great job by the staff in replenishing the food promptly. Overall, this is a great hotel and definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Location just 10 minute walk from Interlaken Ost Station. Beside the hotel is Japanese Garden. Nice view when you had great breakfast. The hotel staff is very helpfull. Reasonable price for Good service, room and delicious breakfast. Just take free bus to Interlaken west or you could walk for about 20 minute.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.

The hotel is located about 5-10 mins walk from the main train station. And there were many brochures available at the hotel's reception that could help you to plan your stay at Interlaken.

The rooms were very clean, and of a decent size. There's no air-conditioning or thermostat, but there was a fan in the room. That's not a problem for us as it was winter. We had to switch on the fan so that the silence in the room wouldn't be too deafening (we are too used to noises in the city). Hence at some point in time, it could turn too hot or too cold in the room. But still, there's no complain on the sleep.

Breakfast was very sumptuous. They had a good variety of hot food such as scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, hash brown etc. And not to mention, the coffee from the hotel is very satisfying too. We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Interlaken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakuba-mura, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Met my expectations. Enjoyed my time in Switzerland, although wish I had longer here.
There is so much more to do than meets the eye.
Staff were great. Next time ill stay longer than a stay over.
Nice time of year to travel...a little quieter!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were intending to stay just for 1 night but extended because it was so pleasant. The hotel is well kept, clean and bathrooms were sizeable. We had a triple room and the 3rd bed was a creative touch that opened from the wall cabinet. Service was excellent. The receptionist was very helpful and took a lot of time to explain the local attractions, walks and what and where to visit. Yes you can hear the church bell go off every hour ... but because it was winter and we had closed the window we could hardly hear it ... even though our room faced the church. But we thought it was rather unique. The church bells do not ring after 10pm I think.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RESTAURANT CLOSED FROM JANUARY 15. UNTIL FEBRUARY 5. 2017. Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing