We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
SW England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A short walk from the railway station and similar to the rest of the shops. Great hotel with a warm welcome. Helpful staff although they did have problems with the wifi. Breakfast was comprehensive and good quality

Room Tip: Plenty to do in the area. The tourist card from the hotel gave us free train and bus travel in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianvisitorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    204
    69
    14
    12
See reviews for
121
253
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3d2n at room 406. Room was really nice with a balcony facing the main road.
First, when I realized the Wi-fi was totally down, I asked for help only to be informed by the front office staff who affirmed the modem will be down for the next 48 hours & they can't relocate me as all rooms were fully booked. My 2-night stay were affected then, and took lift to 2nd floor business room to gain access to my emails etc.
Second, when I requested for shower gel that was unavailable the housekeeping staff who came seemed unconvinced that my room was not given any during the room clean, even walked into the bathroom to confirm that. No apologies except saying "I will bring for you" Housekeeping staff could be tired and overworked :)
Thankfully the breakfast served were nice and F&B staff were really nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Simgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Interlaken. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the room and your stay in general.

Since we installed free Wi-fi back in the summer we have experienced a lot of problems with the system. This is due to technical issues which makes the wi-fi connection very unstable. Unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about it and we are now waiting for a new and better system to be installed later this year. However, as you pointed out, we offer a free internet corner on the second floor and furthermore there is always free wi-fi available in the lobby by the seminar rooms.

Shower gel is provided in all bath rooms where dispensers are installed on the wall in the shower. I am sorry if you interpreted the behaviour of our house keeping staff as unfriendly or even rude when you asked for a refill. The language barrier might more likely be the reason for the lack of communication. I shall pass your remarks on to our house keeping supervisor in order for her to look into the matter. It is of course essential to us that our guests are treated with respect and kindness in all areas of the hotel.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

An excellent, customer friendly, extremely clean hotel.
It is well positioned, close to the railway station, and the town.
The hotel food was very good.
The staff went that extra mile to ensure that our stay was extremely enjoyable

Room Tip: There is a very good view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed for two nights in a single room in this hotel, accompanied by my dog for a meeting. The room was nice, very clean, free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities (electric kettle, cups etc.). The double bed was very comfy, big, simply great, I slept very well. Bathroom is basic but sufficiently stacked and the shower did work - so, no complaints. Parking is easy, free parking is available.
The breakfast and the evening meals were taken in the Rokoko-Saal, a very beautiful room, high ceiling - great atmosphere. In the evening we had a gala there with dance, the dancefloor being installed on the carpet (and maintained, when it started to slip, -very well, we danced a LOT).
The food was so-and-so. First evening a catastrophe, nearly non-edible an somehow without any ambition. Breakfast however was very good with everything you could ask for.
Second evening meal and a lunch with the ambassador was ok, not very good, but over all no disappointment.
Staff was very nice throughout. Everybody and all the time. Helpful, personal, engaged, - really just as you would want it.
So: It's a nice hotel, situated very very well. Breakfast is very good, other - perhaps opt for a restaurant in town. I'd recommend it, because staff was so nice and obliging.

Room Tip: I'm not sensitive to church bells, as I'm used to that... so I think all rooms are situated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is an old building but is nicely decorated and maintained. The staff, all of them, were wonderful. They were courteous, professional and extended themselves to help me through a non-hotel related problem. I would definitely go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagpur
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

In this picturesque town where you stroll around in horse carriages and eat chocolate fondues, this hotel is a legend on its own. Perhaps # 2 by standards but worth your money. A stroll away from the OST train station, staffed by friendly people, the rooms are spacious, clean and sleep worthy. Ours had a bunk bed made out of pine which my kids thoroughly enjoyed. Next door is the sleepy town hall where the bell chimes every hour. We only tasted the morning breakfast which was wanting for lack of more options and variety. The place is value for money and worth a second stint. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug5099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and of a good size. The food was first class we take our hats of to the chef here, really good. Lots of history.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#15 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing