We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice hotel, in Swiss terms good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, in Swiss terms good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is beautiful from the outside as well as from the inside. Room not so big but OK. Breakfast was OK too, no more than that Good location in Interlaken, The town itself is small and dull but the scenery around is like a painting, amazingly beautiful. Comparing to the outrages prices in Switzerland, you get a good value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank israelitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    201
    67
    14
    12
See reviews for
117
246
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed across the road the "Royal Hotel" however due to our jet lag we decided to just go across the road for dinner. The service was slow however they were all very courteous and helpful and we found it funny that a waiter apologised for not knowing "cucumber" in English yet we couldn't speak a word of Swiss/German. The meals were excellent, not traditional Swiss but good nonetheless. Meals ranged from 15-45 CHF. Overall, a good restaurant choice if you're close and not feeling adventurous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Restaurant Taverne. We are always very pleased also to serve guests who are not staying in our hotel.

I do apologise that you found the service to be slow. We try our best to serve our guests as fast as possible, however, we also aim to make the experience tranquil and easy.
We are very content with our staff and we know that they always do their very best to make our guests happy. Most of them speak English on quite a high level but of course sometimes there are words which are unknown. As of now “cucumber” will no longer be one of them.
Our Restaurant Taverne serve both traditional Swiss cuisine (different kinds of roesti, fondues and more) but also a large variety of international dishes. We hope to be able to please as well our international guests as also locals with our selection.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

the old age of the hotel kind of put us off, but when we arrived there, we were amazed. the room was very modern and looked better than in the pictures on their website.we stayed in the family room which fit 5 of us comfortably. service was superb, and so was breakfast. it was the best breakfast buffet throughtout our 15 day switzerland trip. the hotel was slightly far off from the main train station, but the scenery made the walk to the train station a very pleasant one. we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in Interlaken. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the services of both hotel and restaurant. Our family rooms (four-bed rooms with bunk beds) are most appreciated as they really do offer enough space and comfort for families.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back and next time you travel to Interlaken by train and stay over at the Hotel Interlaken you should get off at the Interlaken Ost station (not West) which is merely a five minute walk from the hotel.

We wish you a fantastic 2013 with a lot of pleasant travel experiences.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, close to train station, incredibly comfortable beds and great balconies for enjoying the views and cool mountain air. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Perfect for couples or solo tourists. Postcard perfect in the winter.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our facilities. We always aim to satisfy all our guests and having positive acknowledgement is the best motivation we can get and highly appreciated.

We wish you many nice travel experiences in the future and hope to welcome you back in Interlaken soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a pretty wet drive to Interlaken from Geneva though roads very good. Unfortunately a lot of Interlaken is dug up putting in new pipes. Easy to park right outside hotel and given comfortable room overlooking Japanese garden with pond containing huge carp-it must look spectacular in good weather. We arrived in rain and mist. Had good meal in restaurant that night and buffet breakfast in morning. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

10 mins walking from Interlaken Ost station. The hotel appearance bit old but interior still okay and quite comfortable. Room is small but most facilities available. Reception staff is helpful and nice.

Disappointed about restaurant service. We would like to try Swiss cheese fondue and thus made reservation in their Taverne Restaurant. They showed us only a fondue buffet menu when we arriving. We saw its a fondue and take this buffet set. However when the food arrived, we realized that's a meat fondue instead of cheese one, so we asked to staff and would like to change. Disappointingly, the waiter replied that we have to pay anyway since we ordered even we ate nothing!!

Finally, we just ate a few pieces and left.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Hotel Interlaken. We are glad that you liked our hotel.
I have spoken with our restaurant manager concerning your evening meal and your very unfortunate experience mainly adds up to some misunderstandings. As you made the reservation with the reception they only reserved a table for you and not the specific dish that you wanted. As you then ordered the Fondue Chinoise in the restaurant, the staff could not know that what you actually wanted was a Cheese Fondue. Furthermore, there might also have been some misunderstandings caused by language problems from the side of our staff. Please do accept our apologies for the mistake and any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will do our utmost to avoid any similar episodes in the future.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Interlaken was last destination in my family Europe vacation. After stayed in many hotels and apartment in number of cities in Europe, we're through lots of up and down, and many of them were downs! And this hotel was a sweet ending for my family.

Reception staf was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful (finally a four star hotel that really decorated as 4 star in Europe!), spacious even with my toddler running around. Bathroom was very clean, even the taps had no scratch! Bed is very comfy, even for a double bed they put together two singles. There was also complimentary wired internet connection, which unfortunately i couldn't use since I didn't bring my usb cable for my tablet PC at that time.
View from our room is amazingly beautiful. it was snow when we stayed but still gave us exceptional scenery.

Their continental breakfast was delicious although not many varieties. They even served rice which is great for Asian like me that had been weeks away from home.

Location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost station, and around hotel there are lots of casual restaurant.

Overall i found my stay was pleasant, and this hotel definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meidi_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#17 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing