We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our expectations greatly”
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

the old age of the hotel kind of put us off, but when we arrived there, we were amazed. the room was very modern and looked better than in the pictures on their website.we stayed in the family room which fit 5 of us comfortably. service was superb, and so was breakfast. it was the best breakfast buffet throughtout our 15 day switzerland trip. the hotel was slightly far off from the main train station, but the scenery made the walk to the train station a very pleasant one. we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in Interlaken. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the services of both hotel and restaurant. Our family rooms (four-bed rooms with bunk beds) are most appreciated as they really do offer enough space and comfort for families.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back and next time you travel to Interlaken by train and stay over at the Hotel Interlaken you should get off at the Interlaken Ost station (not West) which is merely a five minute walk from the hotel.

We wish you a fantastic 2013 with a lot of pleasant travel experiences.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 633 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent location, close to train station, incredibly comfortable beds and great balconies for enjoying the views and cool mountain air. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Perfect for couples or solo tourists. Postcard perfect in the winter.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our facilities. We always aim to satisfy all our guests and having positive acknowledgement is the best motivation we can get and highly appreciated.

We wish you many nice travel experiences in the future and hope to welcome you back in Interlaken soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a pretty wet drive to Interlaken from Geneva though roads very good. Unfortunately a lot of Interlaken is dug up putting in new pipes. Easy to park right outside hotel and given comfortable room overlooking Japanese garden with pond containing huge carp-it must look spectacular in good weather. We arrived in rain and mist. Had good meal in restaurant that night and buffet breakfast in morning. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

10 mins walking from Interlaken Ost station. The hotel appearance bit old but interior still okay and quite comfortable. Room is small but most facilities available. Reception staff is helpful and nice.

Disappointed about restaurant service. We would like to try Swiss cheese fondue and thus made reservation in their Taverne Restaurant. They showed us only a fondue buffet menu when we arriving. We saw its a fondue and take this buffet set. However when the food arrived, we realized that's a meat fondue instead of cheese one, so we asked to staff and would like to change. Disappointingly, the waiter replied that we have to pay anyway since we ordered even we ate nothing!!

Finally, we just ate a few pieces and left.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Hotel Interlaken. We are glad that you liked our hotel.
I have spoken with our restaurant manager concerning your evening meal and your very unfortunate experience mainly adds up to some misunderstandings. As you made the reservation with the reception they only reserved a table for you and not the specific dish that you wanted. As you then ordered the Fondue Chinoise in the restaurant, the staff could not know that what you actually wanted was a Cheese Fondue. Furthermore, there might also have been some misunderstandings caused by language problems from the side of our staff. Please do accept our apologies for the mistake and any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will do our utmost to avoid any similar episodes in the future.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Interlaken was last destination in my family Europe vacation. After stayed in many hotels and apartment in number of cities in Europe, we're through lots of up and down, and many of them were downs! And this hotel was a sweet ending for my family.

Reception staf was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful (finally a four star hotel that really decorated as 4 star in Europe!), spacious even with my toddler running around. Bathroom was very clean, even the taps had no scratch! Bed is very comfy, even for a double bed they put together two singles. There was also complimentary wired internet connection, which unfortunately i couldn't use since I didn't bring my usb cable for my tablet PC at that time.
View from our room is amazingly beautiful. it was snow when we stayed but still gave us exceptional scenery.

Their continental breakfast was delicious although not many varieties. They even served rice which is great for Asian like me that had been weeks away from home.

Location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost station, and around hotel there are lots of casual restaurant.

Overall i found my stay was pleasant, and this hotel definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meidi_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Renovated hotel, stylish, great room very cosy, comfortable bed, quite nice bathroom. Nice looking restaurant with poor service, very very slow, quality and quantity of food is not convincing and if you should be hungry don't eat there!
Reception was very helpful and friendly. So over all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephdo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased that you, over all enjoyed your stay.

As to the Restaurant Taverne we are very sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. We always strive to be efficient and quality conscious in everything we do, however, we understand that this was not the case on your visit. We would very much appreciate learning the exact date of your stay so we can take action in order to improve the services of our F&B department.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a Brit, who's lived in Switzerland for the five years (and earns a Swiss salary), even I have this certain problem. Every single time that I pay for, and walk into a Swiss hotel room, there's always a little voice inside me moaning "Oooww. is that it ? This is costing so much, is that the best they can do ?" Usually, I then find a little pricelist card in my room, describing the additional costs for an hour's Wi-fi, the price of that bottle of water they've left on your table, and that moaning voice gets even more depressed.

Which is why it is a relief to have found The Hotel Interlaken. Interlaken has become a horribly expensive place to stay, full of expensive jewellery shops and Japanese tourists.

Yet this is a hotel that just does things right.

When I arrived, the receptionist, Catherine, was away from her desk, walking around the small lobby, showing some guests where to find things. Soon, she was serving me, and dealt with me the same way. Honestly, when was the last time your receptionist WALKED YOU around where to find things, and took you 5 metres around the corner, to show you exactly where the lift was. Genius. Simple, but brilliant and friendly customer service at it's best.

My single room was not the biggest I've stayed in, but I hope the iPhone photos of it demonstrate how beautifully laid out it is. The bathroom, in particular, is tiny, but everything was brand new and without a single splash-mark anywhere.

And on the hotel room's desk is a network cable which provides - I hope other hotels companies are listening - free internet. Yes, free. At last, someone has listened to what customers want and expect.

This is a hotel which has just got it right. Internet is complimentary, the really nice breakfast is complimentary, and they give you a book of vouchers for local businesses. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby, the river is across the road, and the Interlaken Ost train station is a 5-minute walk away. The hotel also has a nice restaurant, with reasonable Swiss prices, a small bar, and some parking spaces.

This is, simply, one of the best hotels I've stayed at. And that opinion is based on me having one of their bottom-of-the-range single rooms, which I paid £77 for, on Expedia.

Great location, great breakfast, great staff, and really excellent value (particularly for this region).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UncleMikeAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Interlaken. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and motivates the entire team to carry on the good work.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
724 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: $160 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing