We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another thoroughly enkoyable stay at the De La Paix”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have just returned from our second and equally enjoyable trip to the De La Paix. We stayed there 3 years ago and couldn't wait to go back there!

This time my Mother did not come with us, so we had just one room this time which we shared with our 11 yr old son. Due to the fact that we asked for an extra bed, space was somewhat limited, but it was fine. The balcony with it's table and chairs more than made up for it - and as a double room it would have been a very good size. The beds were very comfortable and the white bed linen very clean. The bathroom had a toilet, basin, small bath and a shower over the bath. Again, like everywhere, it was very clean.

We were warmly greeted by the daughter Charlotte who speaks excellent English (her Mother Gilliian IS English). I simply cannot understand a certain comment on T.A. which suggested the welcome was "cold". We were offered a courtesy drink on arrival in the charming lounge - just what we needed after a long drive. ALL the staff were polite and helpful.

We stayed on a half board basis. Breakfast was a good selection of several kinds of delicious breads, croissants, yogurt, fruit juice, fresh fruit, cheeses and meats, a wonderful fruity muselli, toast, scrambled eggs (always warm). It was accompanied by a choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate.

Dinner was a set meal - 4 courses. But as with the last time that we stayed there, if there was something on the menu that you didn't like (e.g. fish) they would offer you something else (such as chicken). The menu was displayed in the morning for that coming evening so we asked in the morning if we could have an alternative on the one occasion.

The food at dinner was always beautifully cooked and nice and hot. We were never rushed nor had to wait too long to be served.

Th hotel has a bar (hot or cold drinks) and any drinks purchased throughout the stay were added to a bill which you paid at the end of the stay, We felt that the prices charged for beverages were reasonably priced.

Also on T.A. there is a comment about the hotel being a long way from Interlaken West?? This is simply not the case. It is literally a couple of streets away - about 5 mins of gentle walking - at the most. "Paix" means PEACE and that is what the hotel offers. It is in a nice quiet street with views towards the Harder Kulm.

Some rather rude comments suggested that the hotel was "full of old people"! It is certainly not full of noisy youngsters, but there was a varied range of ages staying there, and it is a perfectly nice hotel to take well behaved children. The hotel is very welcoming and it is nice that it is a family run place. It is full of many old clocks which add to the charm.

If we return to Interlaken, we will make no hesitation in booking in at the De La Paix.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acornclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I decided to stay 2 nights in Switzerland after a 2 week Mediterranean cruise. After much homework and searching we decided to get out of the city and head to Interlaken. We found this hotel and booked by email. Easy and no fuss booking.

After arriving at Zurich airport, we jumped onto the intercity train. 2.5 hour trip was fine, but dragging luggage was a pain. Next time we would try to leave some bags at airport and take overnight bags only. Easy walk from train station to hotel, even with bags in tow!

Our host was Gillian and she made us feel at home. Rooms were small but very clean and tidy. Bed comfortable but pillows much too soft for our liking. We had our own bathroom which was a litle cramped, but no problem for short stay. Tariff included breakfast in the restaraunt. Good selection of pastries, cereals and drinks etc. Room was warm and cosy.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a base to explore the many delights Switzerland has to offer. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maze181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed here thinking that a private room was a good deal here. However, the "budget room" as it is called once you arrive is on the 4 floor and extreemly hot during the summer. I could barley sleep, I am shocked at how expensive it is considoring there is no AC and poor circulation at the top of the building. I would stay at a hostel in interlaken or in Murren or Grindelwald if i came here again. This place is quiet and full of elderly people visiting that like a nice cup of tea in the morning and one after they people watch in a resturant all day.

It was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Having stayed at the De la Paix once before in 2009 We couldnt wait to get back,, friendly and helpful doesnt even get near .. they are brilliant..Too many people want something for nothing these days, like 5 star hotels at 1 star prices..it doesnt happen , great value for money the de La Paix , you get great food, nice rooms,excellent staff, and nothing is too much trouble..
A 4 course meal every night , in our recent stay end june 2010 not one repeat meal and a good selection of food for the buffet breakfast...So not only has it all these attributes, but its got great character too, with the collection of clocks and various fairground slot machines memorabelia.. go on get it booked now !!!!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fishermanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest didnt like it as compared to other hotels that we stayed in Switzerland. Firstly, the service was very cold and this was the hotel with the least warmth that we have experienced in all our international travel. The room we had requested was clearly mentioned as a double room- but what we got was 2 single beds joined togehter - a BIG disappointment. The lady in charge said that there was little that can be done - Once you pay up the hotel there is little that you can do to change it. Other than this.. the bathroom they have in the room is an engineering marvel. I am thankful that the ensured that we dont stand and crap - its that tiny- just enough for you to sit..Location too isnt that close.. one of the farthest to walk from the Interlaken West station - this is differnet from the Interlaken OST station. But if you have swiss pass you hardly care as all the travel is covered.
Overall NOT recommended.. Interlaken has a LOT of hotels and they are all listed at the station itself with the ones that are available shown in green with a number to call them and book.. So you have got a LOT of choice- and can avoid this.

One thing that we would want to inform you is that in Europe a double bed means 2 single beds put together.. You got to mention "One Big Bed" to ensure that the hotel reserves that for you :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shailesh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We have just returned from two weeks of travelling around Europe with no accommodation booked beforehand. We stopped in Interlaken, at the Hotel De la Paix and asked if they had a room, which they did. I had my phrase book with me but admit to being very relieved that the family who run the hotel spoke English.

The hotel had such a lovely friendly feel about it. We never used the sitting room but it looked very cosy. The staircase up to our room on the second floor was full of interesting articles from a rocking horse to old "slot machines".

Our room was bright and clean. The bathroom was incredibly tiny - a toilet, wash had basin and shower cubicle - but the shower was good and it was again very clean. There was a nice spacious balcony too.

We had free wi-fi access which was a bonus as I travelled with my lap top though I believe there was a communal computer you could use downstairs.

The hotel was situated close enough to town to walk in in a few minutes but not close enough to be noisy or in the hustle and bustle.

A really pleasant stay all in all, we had two very pleasant nights there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

this hotel is ideally located near the main street and Interlaken West railway station. We were greeted by Gillian, who speaks perfect english (i think she was english) . She was very helpful with all of our requests and questions throughout our stay, including printing our boarding passes for our return flight, she only charged us CHF2, which was for the use of the internet. Our room was a little small, but my mum, who travelled with us, had a very nice room for one, which had a double bed, shower and bath (we only had a shower). The breakfast room was very nice, and the breakfast food good too, but we were a little disappointed that it was the same choice every day, the only hot item was scrambled eggs. Other breakfast food included rolls, ham and cheese, bread for toast, coissants, cereal, musli, yogurt, fresh fruit and preserves. There is also a comfortable lounge area, bar and outdoor seating area. We had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somethingsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#28 of 39 in Interlaken
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#17 of 39 in Interlaken
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Bernastrasse 24, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: $147 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing