We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed again at de la paix.. without doubt the best hotel in interlaken..the ambience the staff..the food... the comfort of the room.. the care whan someone isnt at their best ..( i managed to break a finger on holiday..) and there was as much assitance as i could possibly require..
There can be no finer feeling

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishermanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    71
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
41
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2011

On arrival we were greeted by Charlotte who was very helpful and friendly.
A continental breakfast set us up for the day and every evening there was a 4 course dinner. The dinner menu was displayed at breakfast and if there was something you didn't fancy they were happy to change it.
The room was clean and had everything we needed eg kettle, hairdryer.
It was lovely to sit on the balcony and take in the views.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
361 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Interlaken remains one of our favourite holiday destinations and we have always stayed at the De La Paix. Gillian and Charlotte provide a friendly welcome and go out of their way to help and provide service. Breakfast is a good buffet (don't miss the scrambled egg on the end by the toaster). We had a package including dinner which was excellent every night (table d' hote, but a good range over the 9 nights were were there). The hotel is very close to Interlaken West station, and the local hotel; cards give free local bus and train rides. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This a great family run hotel and a breath of fresh air for those of use who travel a lot with business and stay in the copy and paste multi nationals available.

We stayed for 3 days (probably enough for the area to see the main sites) and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed half board which I wouldnt do again - nothing wrong with the food but there looks to be a lot of good options downtown that would have been nice to try.

Good location and a great family who run the hotel, would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Hotel sits in a lovely quiet road about 5 mins walk from the West Station. The owners George and Gillian (who is English) are very friendly and extremely helpful. We were there for a week but the first 4 night were before they started doing evening meals, for the summer season, but the owners daughter Charlotte suggested a couple of very nice places to eat in town. On the three evenings we eat in the hotel the food was of a very high quality. Our room a Comfort Room on the corner was spacious and very clean with a lovely large covered balcony looking out over the mountains, where we spent most evenings sitting out till late. The beds were the most comfortable beds i have slept on in Switzerland, and that inlcudes hotels of a much higher star rating. The bathroom was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for the amount of time you spend in a bathroom. and there is free Wi-Fi throuout the hotel. We would definitely use the hotel again if the occasion arose.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie-Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Utterly delightful place, small but comfortable, cosy rooms, clean, convenient... great location, great breakfast, run by thoughtful and helpful people...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meenakshidharpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed here for three nights in mid-May of 2011. Interlaken is a good base for exploring nearby Lauterbrunnen and Gimmelwald. From there you can take the cable car to the Schilthorn, if you dare. Also, Zermatt is an easy train ride if you want to see the Matterhorn. This hotel is convenient to the Interlaken West train station and a large market is two blocks away. Breakfast is good and the lady of the house is just as efficient as you would expect.

Room Tip: Arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: Bernastrasse 24, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing