We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor service”
Review of Hotel Krebs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Krebs
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good location, poor service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Right in the heart of Interlaken. Nice ambiance and reasonable facilities. Pull out bed for kids was very uncomfortable though. Had to put mattress on the floor to stop kids sliding into the top of the couch. Breakfast reasonable BUT service is very poor. Ranges from staff at breakfast friendly but confused (mix up of orders, no plates at buffet) to unhelpful and down right rude at reception. I would probably give Interlaken a miss too in hindsight, nicer towns in Switzerland (eg Zermatt and Lucerne).

Room Tip: If you must stay here do not chose a room with a sofa bed for sleeping on. Get a double instead. Sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfuninsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    147
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
78
203
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is near the Interlaken West station which was handy and a reasonable walk to Interlaken Ost station. There were several nice places to eat nearby and the hotel restaurant had lovely meals, although rather expensive. The rooms were neat and clean with views of the mountains. There was a lift to the room which was very slow, and wifi would only work in the main public areas.
The downside was the lack of staff. We waited 20 minutes one evening to order coffee at the bar. The breakfast was good, especially the burcher muesli, but food was often not replenished and you had to wait to be served for tea or coffee. One staff member actually got very rude and snapped at guests who requested things that weren't. Otherwise, an enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1947WesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Let me start with the good, because there is some good with this hotel. To begin with the rooms are nice and freshly redone. We were put on the third floor in a room with a balcony that had a really nice view. Breakfast was included and was pretty hardy but the menu never changes. Location is good as long as you don't need to access the ost train station very often.

My criticisms of Hotel Krebs begin with the staff. Although i will be the first to admit that i don't speak German or French so any language barrier clearly falls on me, I do expect a four star hotel to be ready to assist their guests with basics such as how to find local businesses and restaurants and the Hotel Krebs proved unable to do this on multiple occasions. The hotel restaurant is overpriced and suffered from far below 4 star service.

The bottom line for Hotel Krebs is that it is an average 3 star hotel nothing less and nothing more. So if you can get more for your money at one of the other hotels in Interlaken go for it but for the right price Krebs can offer value for money.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms have a balcony and this offers a great view of the alps and the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d50kimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Krebs hotel is a small hotel in my idea but it is good because (1) good location: just walk from Interlaken West for 5 minutes with your lugguage on the left side of the street heading Interlaken Ost, you will find the hotel striking you with the name "Krebs" on its roof. The building has 5 floors I think but feel like ancient home when you go inside. Though the elevator was small (european style?), when you go down by using stairs you can enjoy cute decoration between floor which you can enjoy taking some photos. The room was decent, clean, bathroom with amenities you need. (2) good quality of sleep after a long tired day (3) good breakfast: ham, boiled egg, omlette, rice! with curry, bread and so on. (4) good for starting the Jungfragh excursion: take the bus at the opposite side to go to Interlaken Ost about 10 minutes and take the trains to the top of Europe! Swiss pass can discount the train ticket. Please prepare the warm coat, hat, gloves...it's freezing up there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Hotel is situated perfectly in this city. We were able to walk to the hotel from the train station. The Hotel itself is warm and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. It is to note, that you can purchase tickets for the Jungfrau trip right at the front desk. They also have a weather advisory to help you chose a good clear day to go. The restaurant is serving outstanding Swiss fare and is worth a trip there for a meal, even if not staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMPeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed four nights in the Krebs and enjoyed the hotel. It is a very good three star hotel, rooms are a nice size with a great bathroom and plenty of drawer space to unpack. All of the desk clerks were friendly and provided very good information. We had a room with balcony and the view of the mountain, which we liked, but if you want total quietness you might want a room on back side. In our 10 day stay in Switzerland we found that the rooms with a view were a bit over rated, as you are on front side of hotel with more noise at night. Even in October we needed to keep windows open for comfortable sleeping. The noise was not a problem for us but could be for some. Breakfast was very good with excellent service. Location is just a couple of blocks from the train station Interlaken Oust, we used Interlaken est more but enjoyed the walk (about 15 minutes) past the park and five star hotels to the station. A bus is available free about one block from the hotel. We enjoyed sitting on the front veranda of the hotel sipping wine at the end of the day and were very impressed with the hard working waitress that served us each night. Many good restaurants within a few blocks makes this location very comfortable. Wifi is available although very spotty at times, had to go to lobby to get good reception. A very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcwn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went on a group tour and stayed in this hotel. I'm totally impressed with this hotel. The service of the receptionists is good. Wifi is also free in the hotel. Some of the rooms come with a balcony that allows you to chill in the cool weather. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preciousinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krebs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krebs

Property: Hotel Krebs
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 4, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
#8 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#9 Romantic Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krebs 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Krebs - more than 130 years of hospitality Built in 1875, Hotel Krebs was completely renovated and re-opened in 2008. Centrally located, just a short foot walk from the train station West, the Hotel Krebs is equally popular with business travellers and also tourists.The 37 rooms and 7 suites are modernly furnished and boost friendly colours. All rooms are equipped with bath/WC, flat screen TV, telephone, internet access, safe deposit box, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The junior suites have a mini-bar in addition. In the interest of our guests, Hotel Krebs exclusively disposes of non-smoking rooms and we do not have air-condition. The use of internet and Wifi is free of charge. The culinary handwriting of our gastronomy is marked by a classical Swiss cuisine with international influences. Local products are used whenever possible and great importance is placed on high quality products, from the moment of purchase to the presentation on the plate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Krebs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krebs Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing