We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service upon reservation cancellation.”
Review of Hotel Krebs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Krebs
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had made a reservation in advance with credit card guarantee. When we arrived to check in we were overwhelmed by the street crowds and noise related to an ongoing music festival. My wife has an inner ear disturbance which is exaggerated by loud noise. We asked to cancel our reservation and for an exception to be made regarding the credit card guarantee. Mr. Corsin Biert, the General Manager, came to the desk, grasped the situation quickly and graciously granted our request. His attitude was thoroughly appreciated and is a reflection of outstanding service. To complete this survey I have indicated average ratings for cleanliness, etc., since we did not stay nor did we view a room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V0yager64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 391 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel with my wife and two children aged 12 and 9. The check in was quick and the receptionist was friendly and helpful.A number of reviewers appear to have been unhappy with the service levels but having stayed in a few hotels in Switzerland including the the 5 star Montreux Palace it is clear that the service levels are never going to equal what some guests may have experienced in the far east or even other parts of Europe.For instance assistance with luggage or showing us to our room after check in was not offered in all the hotels we stayed in during the visit.

To be honest this was not a big issue for us as it was not required and this seems to be specific to Switzerland rather than the hotel. We were quite happy with the service we received during our stay from the receptionists as well as the staff serving breakfast who were all helpful.

Turning to the hotel itself it is ideally situated being no more than a 2 minute walk from Interlaken West station. We stayed in a Junior suite and the room was spacious and was of high quality with a nice TV and a music system.A good touch was free water and some soft drinks which were provided on a complimentary basis (I believe this applies to suites only) though we probably did not make full use of it. The sofa bed was not the most comfortable and could possibly be improved.The only other negative was a lack of air conditioning which seems to be an issue with
hotels here throughout.Having travelled around the world this is the one thing that's difficult to understand which is something which hopefully can be addressed in the future by this hotel and others.The bathroom also was excellent and had a bath and a separate shower cubicle.

The breakfast was also good with a good variety of breads, scrambled and boiled eggs as well as cheeses and other items.

The hotel is not cheap but then hotels in Switzerland and Interlaken in particular are generally not.One of the main reason for choosing it was that the room was able to accommodate our family of 4 in one room which can sometime be an issue.

Our parting thought was that it had proved to be an excellent choice for us and we would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aamir10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

WEll kept hotel, nice and clean in right in the main street, across the street to the bus station and walking distance to interlaken WEST train station. The bus takes 5 min to Interlaken OST where you take the train to go up to the JUNGFRAU.
Main street could ne noisy and hotel has no AC, we did not need it since the temperature was great, but at 10 or 11pm it was all very quite, no problem at all.
Breakfast very good, included in the rate, good service, nice super nice waitress.
Front desk, excellent, explain everything needed to know
For the pice, I will go back without thinking interlaken is very very expensive (LIKE ALL IN Switzerland)

Room Tip: all rooms face the JUNGFRAU
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guanajo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Clean, comfortable and friendly. Great location for Interlaken West. BUT....no air conditioning in the summer is a major problem. As the hotel is on a main shopping street if you open the window at night to try and cool the room it's impossible to sleep. We did get a fan given to us when we asked why the air conditioning didn't work (although there is a thermostat in the room!) but that just moved the hot air around! We were told no hotel in Interlaken had air conditioning which is a little hard to believe.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

i was quite apprehensive about this hotel as it was booked by our agent and i had not reviewed it on tripadvisor....which i normally do before i book one....this hotel is on one of the main streets of interlaken just a walking distance from the interlaken west station so you dont need a taxi just stroll your luggage to the hotel.....friendly staff.....good rooms ...great balcony and view.....can visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhavana_praveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

So we went for our honeymoon and landed in interlaken at 11 in the morning. We made a hummble request for an early check in as we had been travelling for last 12 hours. Now I have been told no to early check ins before in my life but the front office staff made sure we got the message clearly and rudely that no Early check in and CHECK IN TIME IS 3PM ONLY CHECK OUT TIME IS 11AM.
Also the AIR CONDITIONING does NOT work.The hotel also DOES NOT provide FANS. So be careful.
Otherwise the hotel was nice, clean rooms,rest of the staff was courteous. Location is pretty good with 3mins walk from the station.

Room Tip: No AC in Rooms. No fans available either. Check in time 3 in the afternoon and check out 11AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umesh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkhotels, Manager at Hotel Krebs, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

First, I would like to thank you for writing your review on tripadvisor. Only through our guest's feedback can we improve ourselves constantly.

I understand that you were tired after a long journey and the only thing you wish for is the possibility to check-in early so you can relax and recover. it was only informative that the receptionist said what time check-in usually is. However, we always try to arrange early check-in when possible. As soon as a room is ready, our front office team is informed and any guests arriving can be checked-in right away. If a guest arrives and his room is not ready yet, front office informs housekeeping immediately and the room is prepared in approx. 60-90 minutes - provided that the previous guest has already departed.

Furthermore, I would like to draw your attention to the fact that we do not have air conditioning (it is not that it was not working). If our guest informs us that it is too hot for him, than we provide a fan in his room. Generally, however, the temperature cools off at night and we also recommend guests to open the window, which is very pleasant.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope that your stay was still a pleasant one. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back again next time. Until then, I wish you all the best.

Summer greetings from Interlaken

Sonya Martin
Deputy Manager
s.martin@krebshotel.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at New York Hotel in Disney Land and then travel to Interlaken and stayed here with my wife and 2 kids. Overall standard was not as i expected from a hotel of this high rating and price. Breakfast was fine, but not that good, there were no fresh fruit juices. Hotel offers free wifi, but it turns out you need to get a new code every 24 hours. The pull-out sofa bed for the children was not comfortable at all and after we open the sofa bed there is not much space to move around. One of washbasin was leaking but the bathroom was clean. There isn't AC, and the room get stifling hot. Leaving the window open at night brings in loud street noise. Otherwise, the location is good and just steps from the train station. Person at the front desk were helpful. The other times, the front desk person was either disinterested or unable to help because yshe was either too busy or lacked knowedge of the area. I would recommend to downgrade the ratings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hassan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krebs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krebs

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 4, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
#6 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#8 Romantic Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range: $146 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krebs 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Krebs - more than 130 years of hospitality Built in 1875, Hotel Krebs was completely renovated and re-opened in 2008. Centrally located, just a short foot walk from the train station West, the Hotel Krebs is equally popular with business travellers and also tourists.The 37 rooms and 7 suites are modernly furnished and boost friendly colours. All rooms are equipped with bath/WC, flat screen TV, telephone, internet access, safe deposit box, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The junior suites have a mini-bar in addition. In the interest of our guests, Hotel Krebs exclusively disposes of non-smoking rooms and we do not have air-condition. The use of internet and Wifi is free of charge. The culinary handwriting of our gastronomy is marked by a classical Swiss cuisine with international influences. Local products are used whenever possible and great importance is placed on high quality products, from the moment of purchase to the presentation on the plate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Krebs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krebs Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing