We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Hotel”
Review of Gasthof Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthof Hirschen
Ranked #6 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night in June in a family room, which was effectively 4 rooms - a bathroom, entrance and 2 bedrooms. The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The building is over 400 years old, which was one of the attractions for us. Breakfast is included in the nightly rate and was a generous and delicious buffet, which we really enjoyed. The staff were all helpful. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the train stations but there are local buses from both train stations that stop nearby. The main shopping area is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumtrees_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
40
60
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great hotel run by bunch of really nice ladies. The room was huge and very quiet. Breakfast was fantastic and all in all it was a tremendous place to stay. Family friendly and in a handy location with lots of free parking off street.

Room Tip: Suite had two rooms a rear of hotel. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a front room - opened the curtains to a magnificent vista with the Summit of Jungfrau in the distance. A short walk to the bus service to the train for Lauterbrunnen - Schilthorn, after my soujourn to Scilthorn piz Gloria back to a shower, excellent dinner, good sleep, great breakfast, and a moderate walk to Bahnhof Interlaken Ost. A superb place to stay in Interlaken, I will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davylad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in Interlaken, and were looking for a nice place on our budget. It's a little bit farther from shops and restaurants than some of the other hotels, but if you have the time to walk Interlaken is very scenic so take the time to enjoy it! We really liked that breakfast was complimentary, and it included different kinds of breads, cheeses, meats, hard boiled eggs, and beverages. The inn looks like it was built a long time ago, but it has a lot of charm (think Sound of Music style). The rooms are average, nothing special but you shouldnt be spending all your time indoors in Interlaken! We did run into a run cons of the place. You can't check in after 8 or 9 pm, because there will be no one there and you will get locked out. Also, there were many times that we needed help or wanted to talk to someone at the front desk, and we usually had to go find them somewhere (they usually also work downstairs in the restaurant). They were nice people, but it was difficult to find someone to help you at times. I would recommend it to someone that is looking to stay somewhere affordable and looking for a free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrZ0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had an absloutely amazing stay at the Hotel Hirschen! Our room was facing the Alps and was quite large for the quaint hotel size. Beatutiful views from the front of the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast which was included was also quite delicious...all of the typical items such as cheeses, meats, pastries and fruit. VERY GOOD!!! The restuarant downstairs has really good food as well. It's a nice little walk to the center of Interlaken, we enjoyed walking by the cows everytime. The two train stations were also very close. With luggage, I suggest a cab though. We will definitelty be returning and recommed this hotel highly!!!
The ONLY negative is that the hotel was under construction while we were there....loud noise in the early morning and scafolding covering the front of the building. But honestly, I would stay there all over again even under the same circumstances!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6...I would HIGHLY recommend this room in particular(I'm even afraid to say i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Brienzersee
Hotel Brienzersee
#3 of 46 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirschen

Property: Gasthof Hirschen
Address: Hauptstrasse 11, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Gasthof Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing