We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Swiss Experience”
Review of Gasthof Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthof Hirschen
Ranked #5 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great hotel run by bunch of really nice ladies. The room was huge and very quiet. Breakfast was fantastic and all in all it was a tremendous place to stay. Family friendly and in a handy location with lots of free parking off street.

Room Tip: Suite had two rooms a rear of hotel. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 168 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a front room - opened the curtains to a magnificent vista with the Summit of Jungfrau in the distance. A short walk to the bus service to the train for Lauterbrunnen - Schilthorn, after my soujourn to Scilthorn piz Gloria back to a shower, excellent dinner, good sleep, great breakfast, and a moderate walk to Bahnhof Interlaken Ost. A superb place to stay in Interlaken, I will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davylad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in Interlaken, and were looking for a nice place on our budget. It's a little bit farther from shops and restaurants than some of the other hotels, but if you have the time to walk Interlaken is very scenic so take the time to enjoy it! We really liked that breakfast was complimentary, and it included different kinds of breads, cheeses, meats, hard boiled eggs, and beverages. The inn looks like it was built a long time ago, but it has a lot of charm (think Sound of Music style). The rooms are average, nothing special but you shouldnt be spending all your time indoors in Interlaken! We did run into a run cons of the place. You can't check in after 8 or 9 pm, because there will be no one there and you will get locked out. Also, there were many times that we needed help or wanted to talk to someone at the front desk, and we usually had to go find them somewhere (they usually also work downstairs in the restaurant). They were nice people, but it was difficult to find someone to help you at times. I would recommend it to someone that is looking to stay somewhere affordable and looking for a free breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrZ0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had an absloutely amazing stay at the Hotel Hirschen! Our room was facing the Alps and was quite large for the quaint hotel size. Beatutiful views from the front of the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast which was included was also quite delicious...all of the typical items such as cheeses, meats, pastries and fruit. VERY GOOD!!! The restuarant downstairs has really good food as well. It's a nice little walk to the center of Interlaken, we enjoyed walking by the cows everytime. The two train stations were also very close. With luggage, I suggest a cab though. We will definitelty be returning and recommed this hotel highly!!!
The ONLY negative is that the hotel was under construction while we were there....loud noise in the early morning and scafolding covering the front of the building. But honestly, I would stay there all over again even under the same circumstances!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6...I would HIGHLY recommend this room in particular(I'm even afraid to say i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hirschen for three nights in September. The hotel is well placed for visiting Interlaken, only a short walk from the main shopping area and restaurants and the local buses to both stations pass the hotel, the hotel provides a free bus pass which we made good use of. We had a comfortable and quiet room which was a good size. The staff, well it was mainly one person whose name I forget, were pleasant and helpful. There is a more than adequate traditional continental buffet breakfast. The only down side to our stay was that the roof was being repaired at the time which spoilt the outlook from the room, this is obviously a case of needs must but it would have been nice to have been informed in advance so as to know what to expect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is nicely situated in Matten, walking distance to Interlaken center and the two railway stations, which connects to all surrounding areas. most rooms are like an old Swiss farmhouse style, lots of timber and very cosy. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant is supurb, with both swiss specialities and international cuisine. We have stayed there several times and are on our way again.

Room Tip: Ask for the old style rooms, but beware of low ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddyDurance_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#16 of 39 in Interlaken
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirschen

Address: Hauptstrasse 11, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gasthof Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing