We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Break”
Review of Gasthof Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gasthof Hirschen
Ranked #4 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I was very lucky to settle on the Hotel Hirschen for my recent trip to Interlaken. I must have looked at 100 other hotels in the area, and settled on this one because of it's location, age, price and the reviews on this site. I loved it, and can't wait to go back for another visit.
The welcome was warm and genuine, the service was always friendly, the rooms were warm (it was - 12 C outside during my visit), hot water plentiful and the breakfasts excellent.
The building is very old and traditional with creaking floors and narrow staircases, so it may not suit absolutely everyone, but I strongly recommend it to travellers who like their hotels (and staff) to have some personality and charm. If you're looking for bland rooms with a trouser press, try elsewhere.
The hotel is in Matten, about 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Interlaken. There is free parking for hotel guests and excellent buses to the town, the train stations and Wilderswil. Matten is a pleasant village or suburb with its own shops, bars, sports shop etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babelquark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 167 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

We booked into Zum Hirschen last minute for a ski weekend for six people and found the apartment to be excellent. On arrival at the main reception we were directed around the corner, a couple of minutes away by car but also easy walking distance (5 - 10mins) back to the main building for breakfast and dinner.

The apartment is the second floor of a private residence in a quiet street with parking outside. It has three bedrooms (2 doubles, 1 twin) and extra fold out beds can be requested. The apartment is pretty modern but with chalet-style touches such as wood panelled bedrooms and a log burner in the sitting room.

The continental breakfast back at Zum Hirschen was lovely and the building itself is stunning. If the rooms are anything like the entrance hall and dining room then they should be very nice. We ate dinner in the restaurant as well and it was excellent - particularly the hot stone plates that they offer with different meat options.

The apartment would be particularly useful for people wanting to ski different resorts around Interlaken as it gives you a good base for a weekend or longer holiday. Apparently it gets booked up pretty quickly but we'd definitely recommend it and wouldn't hesistate to stay again if with a group.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaselEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here three nights while in the Interlaken area. It 's a bit of walk to the hotel, but local buses take you to both train stations. There are no elevators, but the rooms are roomy, comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. You can see Jungfrau from the front door. We really loved the g breakfast and it has an onsite restaurant. Ther are shops and restaurants a short walk away.

Room Tip: Book a room not on the street side. The street noise can get to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

my family n i booked 2 rooms thru booking.com n stayed for 2 nights in hirschen.we purposely looking for a traditional n non typical hotel in interlaken just to experience the authenticity of a swiss-like home.this hotel definitely met our expectation.the staff was very friendly and caring,the rooms n surrounding was super clean.breakfast was included in the rate,continental style,n complete.some may not like the squeaky sound from the wooden floor n 'swingy feel',but for a 16th century house,it is totally understandable.n bcos that was what we were looking for,antique,clean hotel with a breathtaking view,we would recommend this to others.n lastly,do take the bus #103 from interlaken west until the last stop @ isetwald.it feels like the ride of your life time in the lords of the ring to isengard ;)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masaidiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked this at the last minute, booking a quad room, and a triple room. The rooms were both beautifully decorated and spotless. After a day playing in the snow, the lovely deep baths, with as much hot water as you want were a godsend... The only drawback with the bathrooms were the low ceilings that meant if you wanted to shower you had to kneel in the bath!
Breakfast was continental, plentiful and with something for everyone.
Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.
We're coming back to Switzerland in January for our honeymoon, and had already booked a 5 star hotel... We now wish we were staying here instead - half the cost, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louwilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were only in Switzerland for 3 days and we did enjoy it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We wanted to go on a helicopter ride but couldn't because it was too windy so the staff suggested other places of interest for us to visit. The breakfast was terrific. We ate in the restaurant twice the meals were Hugh and very reasonable in price, the waitress there was great she served the whole restaurant easily. We recommend this hotel to all travellers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 and fount it is be fine its on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in June during my first visit to Switzerland. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The ladies running the show were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is good and filling and the restaurant serves very good food too. All the dinners I had I enjoyed the food.
The location is good and one can walk to the hotel from the railway station. The view from the window of the room I stayed was awsome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirschen

Address: Hauptstrasse 11, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $88 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gasthof Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing