We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”
Review of Minotel Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minotel Toscana
Ranked #28 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Paderborn, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Good”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was very good and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Also it is not far away from Interlaken Ost Railway Station and the gliding centers are very near by. It was quite around the hotel and has a good parking facility too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTravelPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    58
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
43
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived in Interlaken after a 21 hour trip from Hong Kong. We had not slept in 37 hours.We were tired hungry and thirsty. Our rooms were clean and tidy and of a good standard for a three star hotel. We were treated with great hospitality and engaged with the staff who took a genuine interest in our welfare and made sure we got the best out of our stay in Switzerland. The owner of the hotel, whom we knew as Heidi, was gracious and obliging. The food was good wholesome Italian style fare. The hotel is at the western end of the town but is in easy walking distance to all facilities. We were a group of two couples and stayed 5 nights. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear eastern side of the hotel look out onto the large park like area where the tandem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights arriving and leaving by train (Ost station).
Hotel is in middle of town on a "mainly pedestrian street" Quiet at night.
Catch bus to/from train station if you have luggage as it is a reasonably long walk.
Hotel is beautiful, with local and family history displayed on the walls and else where.
The elderly lady who runs the place is very sweet, and keeps her fingers on the pulse, and her staff focussed.
Staff were lovely and very good at their jobs. Ate in restaurant all 3 nights (unlike us) food was good, and atmosphere very comfortable.
Room was clean, comfortable and well appointed, lift was a bonus as we had a bit of luggage.
There is a small charge for WIFI, and they will also let you use the washing machine / dryer
for a small charge.
Overall a very comfortable stay and would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASBGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked this hotel through their other hotel in Lausanne, and they arranged us the best deal ( no doubts) we were there for 1 week and in my view if you would like to visit Switzerland than Interlaken is the best place to plan your stay as it is in the middle and you can easily cover most of the places, and this place is no doubt one of the best place don't forget to visit mystery park nice place with some good information, as far as hotel is concerned this hotel is run by a local family but the problem is only the lady knows good English but other wise it is a nice place in that budget and luckily we got big room with balcony also, breakfast you have less options but not bad, for pure vegetarian people like us we have very limited options in the menu but we enjoyed, over all our stay was nice will definitely prefer this hotel in my next visit. Value for money and clean hotel

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask the City pass, as it is free and you can have free unlimited bus ride in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipankarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

we stayed at the hotel on the easter weekend for 3 nights. it was near to the interlaken west station. service was good and the breakfast was good.only problem was the WIFI. we paid for the WIFI but the WIFI was not accesible from our room on the 3rd floor

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshetty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Family of 3 on Xmas vacation : mom, dad and newborn baby. We spent a night in Interlaken before heading up to the mountains, and I chose Hotel Toscana based on reviews. It is merely a 5 minute walk from the Interlaken West train station (10 minutes if you get lost!), and a relatively easy walk at that if you know where you're going. I love that the hotel is off the main touristy road, down a quiet, car-free cobblestone street lined with tiny shops and eateries. But, you are right next to all the souvenir shops, restaurants, etc. of the main road without the crowded hassle.

Hotel Toscana does have stairs to enter as well as a ramp, for those of you looking to wheel your luggage in or who have a baby carriage. The hotel is decorated like grandma's place--various knick knacks, garden gnomes, plastic ducks, fake flowers, real plants, clocks and such scattered about. The furniture is in the same style-upholstered armchairs with flowery prints, etc. For being someone who usually frequents 4 and 5 star hotels, I kind of liked the place for its quirkiness and homey and warm feeling.

The old lady (we lovingly referred to her as "Nana") who runs the place is sweet and quiet, with not the strongest grasp on English but she communicates enough to have a basic conversation. We were given room 402 on the top floor. The elevator is small and archaic, but it works. However, we were traveling with my newborn son and had to lift the stroller to get it into the room as there is a step to enter, which was kind of annoying, but a minor inconvenience.

The room I booked had a slanted ceiling, which gives the feeling of a larger room, since they are quite small. There is a tiny balcony off the room which has a fabulous view of the mountains and nearby park, but it is so small you can't sit out there, only stand. The room was very clean and minimally furnished in Swiss fashion. There was a single picture hanging on the wall of some sort of flower (very grandma-ish) and the curtains were orange with matching bedspread which was orange with some art-deco-y design on it. Not too fashionable or luxurious but hey this is not a 5 star resort. :) My chief complaint was the bathroom, which was cramped and the shower, which I could barely turn around in. But, everything was clean. The only "toiletries" in the bathroom was a shower cap, but there was soap in the shower and at the sink. Beds were comfortable and decent.

The night we stayed we were exhausted from traveling long distance and taking care of the baby, so we called downstairs to see if we could order "room service". Fortunately, we were able to order food from the hotel restaurant. We both ordered soup (I got vegetable and husband got tomato) which came with a basket of bread. It was brought up to the room by a very lovely and sweet woman, do not know if she was family to Nana or simply an employee. She cooed over the baby and spoke about how she missed her children (maybe in another country?). May I recommend the soup? It was in generous portions and HOME MADE, there is no doubt about it! EXCELLENT, we slurped up every delicious morsel. Nana can cook!

Breakfast in the morning was quiet and serene, with only one other couple attending. Nana was there, setting up our table as we walked in, with a basket full of various breads and croissants. Breakfast is typical Swiss fare: cured meats, cheeses, muesli, hard boiled eggs, as well as cold cereals and juices, tea, coffee and milk. I sat and breastfed my son right there at the table. Also, we needed some pacifiers sterlized, so Nana took me up to her kitchen and we did it there. She was very helpful, albeit slow-moving and with slight cultural barrier. Additionally, she provides you with a bus pass for free so you can move about Interlaken. It was greatly appreciated, as we used it to get up to Beatenberg and back down again.

It's also an extremely safe hotel, Nana takes precautions. She has a key system whereby the outside doors are locked after-hours and you need a key to get in. Once in, you exchange your outside key for your room key. It is a people-free system so no need to wait on anyone to do this for you, the keys hang on the wall by the front desk.

Might I also add that checkout was at noon or whatever and we weren't ready to go up to the mountains yet so we asked Nana if we could stow our luggage behind the front desk and pick them up later and she just tells us to keep our stuff in our hotel room and pick it up whenever we were ready. Major cool points for that. Thanks Nana!

This place is a great stop-over for families making their way elsewhere or backpackers and skiers who need a place to crash for the night.

Room Tip: Just to note that the top floor has the least room in the halls to move about so if you've got b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and child for 2 nights.

Location:
Our train reached Interlaken west at 1500 hrs, within few minutes we could walk to reach the hotel, it is only a 5 min walk from the station.
Do look at google maps walking directions and street view, there are not many markings on the streets, hotels and stores work as best place markers :)
There are lots of Indian, Italian and Thai restaurants close to te hotel. Also, there are many stores around.

Room:
We got a decent sized double bed room.
The bedding was neat, comfortable and clean. There was a big sized sofa, worktable, fan, tv, locker, drawers, etc.
The bathroom was decent sized, clean, with good towels, bathtub,hair dryer, etc.
In short the room had everything we could need to feel at home away from home.



I would certainly like to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INDian_chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#22 of 40 in Interlaken
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#12 of 46 in Interlaken
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Inn Lodge
Happy Inn Lodge
#17 of 46 in Interlaken
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harder Minerva Hotel
Harder Minerva Hotel
#36 of 46 in Interlaken
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minotel Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minotel Toscana

Property: Minotel Toscana
Address: Jungfraustrasse 19, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Minotel Toscana 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Minotel Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Toscana Hotel Interlaken
Minotel Interlaken
Interlaken Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing