We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful service, lovely food & good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Friendly and helpful service, lovely food (they catered for my allergies) and great location. Would stay again.

Rooms: Furnishings are simple (each room is different), but were clean and comfortable - with little personal touches. (TV- just CNN in English, but also live feeds of local tourist spots). Our balcony gave us side views of the mountains and we opened the door (with shutter down) on warmer evenings. Another guest said his Single room was bigger than many elsewhere.

Dining: Dinner at the Stella was very much part of our holiday experience. The food was very good, beautifully presented, and served by friendly staff – with seasonal decorations on the tables. Our half-board menu gave us 2 choices for each of 4 courses (many hotels just offer a choice of main course), with good sized portions, and a little ‘special’ taster from the kitchen to start.
As I have some food allergies, we made the hotel aware of them in advance and Manager Bastian liaised with us when we arrived, enabling the kitchen to offer alternatives when required. If you have allergies, I would still recommend double checking ingredients – but the staff at the Stella were very helpful in this matter.

Breakfast: There is a wide a buffet selection that covered most tastes: Cereal, Fruit & Yoghurt, Breads & Croissants, Cheese and Cold Meats, and pre-cooked Bacon, Scrambled or Boiled Eggs plus, little frying pans, so that you could also cook your own, as you want it.

Location: The hotel is well located, slightly off the main road in a more residential area - but this means that it is quiet. There is some parking and the Interlaken WEST station, Shops and Restaurants are a few minutes stroll away. The OST station (where most tourist trains go from) is only about 20mins walk away (the walk is pleasant) and several trains connect from WEST to OST.

Indoor Pool: A reasonable size if you like to swim lengths. Bath robes/slippers are provided.

All in all, the Stella provides a friendly and comfortable base for a stay in Interlaken.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Inhaber at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Sally N

It was a pleasure, to accomodate you for your summer holiday at the Stella. Thank you for your visit and also a big thank you for your nice and detailed review here on Tripadvisor!

We really appreciate the compliment for our staff! Thank you for it. In my opinion, the good central and calm location and our good team are the biggest pluses for the Stella.

I am still sorry, that we had some nuts in your dessert on your last evening. And I hope, you still have good memories when you think about your holiday at the Stella.

You are heartly welcome again and we hope to see you again one day!
In the meantime, we wish you all the best and send you
Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 412 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The location of the hotel is less than 5 minutes of walk from the Interlaken west station. We stayed in 6 places in our Switzerland trip and this hotel undoubtedly gets the highest rating for customer service. The decor of the hotel may be a little old for some people with old style keys, fuzzy walpaper but they kept the hotel and bed neat and clean. The hotel has a patio/balcony with an amazing view of the Alps. Staff is very friendly and helpful right from giving travel tips to guiding on good restaurants around in Interlaken. The hotel though does not have A.C but the staff was pretty prompt in giving us a table fan when we requested. The hotel gave us free passes to the local trains and buses which made our commute easy and comfortable. Our stay included a very nice and hearty breakfast buffet in the hotel's restaurant. Overall our stay at the hotel was worth every penny we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Inhaber at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Srini K

The biggest compliment you can give us ist to tell everybody on the internet, that your stay with us "was worth every penny" you paid... Thank you for your stay at our small hotel and a very big thank you for your nice review here on Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure, to accomodate you at the Stella and we hope to see you again one day - you will be heartly welcome!
In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel gets a very good because of the service, location, amenities and old school ambiance. There is a nice indoor pool but we didn't partake. You actually get a room "key" and not a room card at this hotel. When we opened the room door, the hotel smelled musty. There is no AC, but you really don't need it in the Alpine climate. The staff did provide us with an oscillating fan, and we were able to keep the doors and windows open with the louvers down but that didn't make me feel very secure. The smell dissipated quickly. The decor was from the 70's, bright yellow century modern bathroom meets fuzzy wallpaper and globe lamps...but the bed was clean and comfortable. There was a giant patio/balcony with chairs and table. The scenery was breathtaking...mountains, trees, and lakes. Good value - the rate included a good hearty breakfast buffet in the hotel's restaurant. Everything was in walking distance and we ate dinner at locale Italian place called La Tarantella.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rritchie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Inhaber at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear rrichie98

It was a pleasure to accomodate you at the Stella! Thank you for your booking and even a bigger thank you for your nice review here on Tripadvisor.

We are aware, that the Economic room you booked is not the most modern one... So I am glad, that I can tell you that we are renovating this and another room completely the next February / March.
We are reinvesting all the money we earn into the Hotel to keep it up to date. I can assure you that an open window is absolutely safe in this area and is also what we (local people) do.

So maybe you are in the mood of looking, how the room will be changed next year? - Wou are heartly welcome again!
In the meantime, we wish you all the best
Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

So I was travelling alone to interlaken and found this hotel and it's reviews on Trip Advisor, so I booked it. The staff were very courteous and allowed me to check in early. My bed linens were changed every two days, including the douvet, which I was not expecting. The front desk helped me book my daily excursions and was able to charge them to my hotel bill for convenience. The rate included a nic breakfast with delicious pastries and fruit among other regular breakfast items. I did not eat lunch or dinner there, however, so cannot comment other than there were always people there enjoying meals. They have a nice indoor pool that is rather underutilized, but it was quite hot outside and the pool was refreshing. if I am fortunate enough to enjoy another vacation in interlaken, I will stay here because of the quality, service, and convenience to rail and shopping. The only reason I didn't give Stella 5 stars wasthe room size was small and there is no AC. Granted,I was traveling solo and the room size did not hamper me at all, it could others. The lack of AC isn't really a big deal in the grand scheme of things, I just happened to be visiting during a heat wave. So in summary, I recommend Stella Hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Cvandeh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Inhaber at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Cvandeh2o

Thank you for your nice review here on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure to accomodate you at the Stella.

Thank you also for your compliments for our staff. We are proud of our young and service focused team and you can beleve me, that it makes fun to work with them!

So, dear Cvandeh2o we wish you a lot of fortune, so we can welcome you again at our small hotel ;-) You will be heartly welcome!
In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

the location of hotel is good as it is 5min walking from station, and still bit off the main area, because of which there is not much noise.

reception was very helpful with everything and in terms of giving info about anything (indian restaurants, travel to Gstaad/Montreau/Chillon Castle/Jungfrou.....).

room had no fan and you needed to pay to rent one. not significant, but still did not leave a good impression. also, requesting for the key to the locker in room required paying a small amount for room service, leaving you the option of going down on your own and getting it.

room structure is very unorthodox and may be layout can be altered to make more space. we had a balcony with mountain view, and that helped. bathrooms were very good quality.

channels left a lot to be desired, in terms of english entertainment channels, and on top of that, internet was not free. may be good to give that atleast.

breakfast was average and you had to make your own omlette....which gave some element of fun to the breakfast proceedings as we had never made an omlette earlier.

pool water was bit cold and since it was indoors, was not possible to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agarwallvivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear agarwallvivek

Thank you very much for your stay with us at the small, family runed Stella Hotel. - It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest!

Of course we also thank you for the compliment about our staff and the good review you posted here on tripadvisor.

Indeed, we do not have a classic room structure in our rooms. As a very small hotel with only 30 rooms, we want to be different than the other hotels.So there is no room the same as another and so we also try to surprise our guests with some details that is not as everywhere. In my opinion, this is a very good way and I asure you, that there is no possibility to generate more space in the rooms.

The situation at breakfast is, that we offer scrumbled eggs, bacon, boiled eggs and a self cooking facility with raw eggs. The reason for this is, that some people wish to know exactly what the dish they eat consists of - because of theire religion. So it is true, that omlette have to be cooked yourself and if you do not wish to do that, you have the possibility to have the already prepeared scrumbled egg or a boiled egg.

For the TV-situation are we planig some improvements to get more chanels. We got the first offer and expect a second one to compare. So we are aware of this fact and are reacting.

The water temperature in the pool is 26 ° C in summer - in winter there is a minimum of 28 °C. This is in my opinion a good refreshment with the temperatures we have in summer.

We thank you very much for your remarks - that helps us to improve our quality and this and to make your guests happy is our major aim.

So we hope to see you again one day - you will be heartly welcome!

Kind reagards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We chose the Stella hotel Interlaken as a base to explore Interlaken and to go up to Jungfraujoch. The hotel is well located near the Interlaken West station (one stop away from Interlaken OST) and is a five-minute walk (you can get the directions from the hotel website). It is a family run hotel in a residential area but still near the strip of restaurants & shops.

We arrived in late at night as we had done a day trip to Mt. Titlis earlier and were coming from Lucerne. We were shocked when we saw out room. It was tiny! The bed was simply half a king-sized bed and there was no air-conditioning. There was a tiny safe but no key. Upon checking with the reception we were told we had to pay a deposit of CHF50 to get the key! We really did not expect this from a 4star hotel. The room was terribly stuffy and we had to leave our windows open to ventilate our room. It was noisy everytime a car or a horse-carriage went by and mosquitoes got in too.

We are exhausted and hungry and it was late (9:45pm) and we asked if there were any restaurants where we could grab a bite and were were just told that the Swiss have their dinner early! The guy at the counter went on to repeat the exact breakfast timing and told us we would not be served breakfast if we were to turn up late for breakfast. The lady at the reception was more polite and did tell us that there were some restaurants just 5 minutes away which would be open at that time. We were thrilled to see the entire area of restaurants abuzz with activity and people eating and having a great time. I guess it was not that late after all.

The breakfast was a simple spread which did get boring on the second day. They did have a small electric stove with raw eggs for those who would like to prepare their own eggs - but the breakfast area was so small that it was very uncomfortable to stand and cook while everyone else was trying to get food from the buffet line. There was a small indoor pool but we did not use it. Nothing fantastic about the hotel but the location.

Room Tip: Avoid in summer as the rooms are just stuffy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear RMS83

Thank you very much for your stay at the Stella. And thank you also for your review here on tripadvisor.

It is true, that we have different room types in our hotel. You booked a small double room with a French bed of 1.4 meters. This room is eighter used as a single room as well as a low budget double room and it is clearly marked on the website. So we provided exactly the type of room you booked.

If you prefer more space and bigger beds, we do also have Economic twin rooms. They are on a 3 star standard as they are not renovated yet and they do not have a balcony.

The Standard twin rooms is on the normal 4-star standard and most of these rooms also do have a balcony.

The biggest and most comfortable rooms are the spaceos Junior Suites.

With pleasure, we would have shown you all the different room typs available and also told you the supplement for the upgrades, so you could have make a good decission for you. Unfortunately, you did not tell us - and so you did not give us the chance to offer you other good options that satisfied your expections.

For breakfast we offer a minimum of 5 different breads, 3 fruit juices, Swiss cheeses, ham, chicken and a mixed sausage, rolls, scrumbled egg, bacon, a self cooking facility for fried eggs, 4 different jams, honey, Nutella, different cerials, joghurt, müsli and other thins. We are sorry that you did not like this range. Your information, what exactly you missed will help us to improve our quality and it is heartly welcome. Please let us know at info@stella-hotel.ch. Thank you in advance.

It is true that we do not have air conditioned rooms - as almost no hotel in Interlaken does have. To let the window oppen and let the fresh Swiss air into your room is absolutely safe and this is also the way how we (local people) do it.

So we hope, you enjoyed your stay in Interlaken and we thank you again that you stayed with us.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We did not expect a 4 star hotel to turn out like this. The rooms are very poorly designed with uncomfortably crooked beds which can make sleeping a problem. Even the mattresses were very uncomfortable.

The location of the hotel is very far from the Interlaken OST station but closer to the West station. We had asked for a king size bed double room but were given a twin room with joined beds and when we complained about the same we were shown a very tiny room with a half a size king bed and asked if we wanted to move there. Obviously we said no.

There is no air conditioning either and if you want to get some sleep in the summers you will have to leave the balcony door open and welcome the insects and mosquitoes in your room.

Not at all recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Maverick145

Thank you for staying with us at the Stella.

We do totaly agree, that the Interlaken West station is only about 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. To Interlaken Ost you can take the public transport for free with the guest card we gave you at the check-in. The walk from the Stella to the Ost station takes you about 15 to 20 minutes. So it takes you a little bit longer to go to excursions to the Jungfrau Region but therefore it only takes you about 3 minutes walking to the city center with all the shops and restaurants.

We are sorry about the circumstand, that you did not like the room. The room you booked was a single room with a French bed for double use. The bed's width is 1.4 m. As we had also other rooms available, we tried to make you a favor and gave you a bigger room with a twin bed side by side. So that means the booking you made was for what you call the "very tiny room with a half a size king bed". That means you still

Of course the softnes / hardnes of a bed is always a personal taste but it is not fair at all to call our beds croked as they are all on a very good standard (most of the beds and matrazes are Swiss made by Superba) - as we think a good sleep is one of the major points, a hotel has to look for.

Correct is, that as allmost all Hotels in Interlaken, we do not have air conditioned rooms.

We hope, you have enjoyed Interlaken, the beautiful nature surrounding it and your excursions, to let you have a good stay even with this thins you did not like.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#6 of 40 in Interlaken
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Hotel Interlaken

Address: General Guisanstrasse 2, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: $136 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stella Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing