We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location and nicely done hotel with a warm swimming pool and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good location and nicely done hotel with a warm swimming pool and good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

A 5 minutes walk from interlaken west. This hotel is not on the main interlaken strip. It's on a quiet area but beautiful enough to see the mountains. The rooms were beautiful and the break fast was lovely. You cannot cook or boil anything in the room and they charge 2 chf per two hour internet. Wish it was free like other four stars... Anyhow will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Piyush123

Thank you very much for your stay at the Stella! And also thank you very much for your nice review here on tripadvisor!

Also we think, that the hotel is good located in an area with a lot of flats from local people where it is not as bussy as in the city center. Of course we also thank you for the compliment for the nice room and the lovely breakfast! - We try hard to staisfy our guests.

You are right: Cooking in the room is forbinden by the fire police because of safety reasons.

So we hope to see you again by another occasion and look forward to that.

In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    123
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
165
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Not very happy...they. were not very accommodating. After an 8 hour evening train ride from Salzburg, the last thing we want to hear is that our room won't be ready until 3 pm, when we checked in at 10 am. For the price of the room, breakfast was absolutely not acceptable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RashidMarwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear RashidMarwat

We thank you for your stay at the Stella and are sorry for the circumstand, that you were not happy with our performance.

Luckely - for us - we were fully booked in the morning of your arrival and also on the day you checked in. As we do not have one room exactly the same as another, we were not able to change your reservation into another room, as we had some reservations with exta beds needed and so we did not have may possibilities to do some changes.

As check-out time is up to 11.30 a.m and the guests staying in "your" room did check out at 11 o' clock, there was absolutely no way to check you allready in at 10 a.m. We do guarantee the check-in from 3 p.m onwards - as you also can see on all online platforms.

So when you came to the Stella at 10 in the morning, there were still guests in "your" room and as we did not see how the room looked like, we toold you, that we can guarantee the check-in at 3 p.m at the latest - according to the information showed on all websites.

We offered you to leave your bags and to refresh you in the swimming-pool changing area and in the end, we could check you in at 1 a.m. - So we did an extra effort and checked you in 2 hours earlier than we promissed.

You also mention, that you did not like the breakfast. Unfortunately,you do not mention, what exactly you were missing - this information would help us a lot.
We provide in our complimentary breakfast from 7 - 10 p.m scrumbled eggs, bacon, fresh fruit salad, 3 different fruit juices, a fruit joghurt, nature joghurt, tomatoes, cumcumbres, different cerials, jams, honey, Nutella, butter, margarine, milk, smoked turkey, ham and a saucage, Swiss cheeses, minimum 5 different breads (including rolls) and there is a self cooking facility for fried eggs.
So if you could tell us what exactly you missed, this will help us a lot to improve our breakfast and our quality in total. With pleasure, we wait for your email on info@stella-hotel.ch

We hope, you enjoyed Interlaken with good trips and sunny weather and wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Stella Hotel. Thank you to all the staff for your friendly, helpful and efficient service. Loved the welcome message on the toilet paper and chocolates on the bed, the swim in your delightful pool, our wonderful meals in the restaurant and the magnificent views from our private terrace. We have lots of very special memories of our stay here in Interlaken. We can certainly recommend this lovely hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony or terrace for spectacular views of the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Kerry and Dave

Thank you for your big compliment about our staff! I also really like to work together in the Stella-Team. We like to have guests and try hard to provide a good service standard. Thank you very much for noticing that!

Thank you also for your nice review with the recommondation to others - this is heartly appreciated and so we hope to see you again one day. - It was a pleasure, to have you as our guests at the Stella.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a great family run hotel. Everyone working in the hotel made us feel extremely and genuinely welcome. We had a double room which was spacious and clean and had a great balcony view onto the mountains behind Interlaken. But if this was not enough, the restaurant and standard of food was beyond belief and to one of the highest standards I have experienced. We never met the chef - Orlando - but I wanted to take him home just to cook for me! The attention to detail, presentation and local flavour was inspired and very soon our thoughts, as we walked through the mountains, was what we would have for dinner that night. The level of service is excellent and to a very high but friendly standard all the way from Bastian the general manager to Franz who is completing his first year's training in the restaurant. I highly recommend a stay at Hotel Stella.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Chris B

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Stella!

I am proud, that I could take over the Stella 3 years ago from my parents and I really enjoy, that they still work with me some days in the week so I am also able to have some days off inbetween and there is mostly someone of the family in the Business.

Thank you also very much for your compliment about the Restaurant quality. Indeed we are proud of that and Orlando and the staff are doing a great job. Luckely, he stays in Interlaken and did not come with you ;-)

It was a pleasure to have you here and I really enjoyed the chats with you. Thank you also for your very nice recommondation here on tripadvisor - this is highly appreciated.

So we hope to see you again one day! In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind regards from the small Hotel with the star on it's roof
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I came to Interlaken for the Greenfield metal rock festival. As I am over fifty (!), I didn't feel like sleeping onsite in a tent. The staff at Stella are lovely, kind, helpful, smiling. The single room was bigger than I expected. Alas, it is at the back of the hotel, so, no view. And, as I arrived at the start of a heat wave and there is no AC, I left the balcony window wide open. That was fine on the first night, but on the second, the neighbours gave a party and they were LOUD! The hotel owner did ask to pipe down but a bunch left at 1:30 am and woke me up. Ah well, that's life!
The kids I was with (they camped) were welcome to the indoors pool (for a fee) and we had the place for ourselves which was grand!
So if you book there, be sure to do so early in order to get a room in front - with a view - and to pack your bathing suit!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear jayftee

We thank you very much for your stay at the Stella!

We also thank you ver much for noticing our effort the serve people smiling, nice and quickly - this is a point we try hard and focus on.

We are sorry for the loud noise at 1.30 in the night. I can assure you, that normaly this is completly different - as you also can read in other comments here on tripadvisor.
The circumstand, that on that weekend was the Greenfield open air rock festival and you heard this music during the night in Interlaken, did not make it easy, to argue for more silence.
So of course, this will not help you but we hope, to have the pool on your own, the nice breakfast and the big single room let you have a good stay in Interlaken and at the Stella.

So we hope to see you again one day and in the meantime, we wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Stella is a lovely small hotel situated just a few meters from the main area. The East railway sation is only a short walk from here. The staff were very helpful in reccomending places to visit and will even show you on their computer the live views from any webcams in the area that you wish to visit. Very helpful if cloud cover is low. Generous size rooms, good breakfast and even a swimming pool in the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Salsa13

Thank you very much for staying with us! - It was a pleasure for us.

With big pleasure, we read your comments about the nice and helping staff and indeed, we try to satisfy all guest wishes, whenever possible. So we thank you for noticing that and mention here on tripadvisor.

As we are a small hotel with a family atmosphere, it is important for us also to get in touch with our guests personaly - if they want to.

So we hope, to welcome you again at the Stella one day.
And in the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from our stay at Hotel Stella in Interlaken. We we received a very warm welcome from the receptionist who then escorted us to our room. We were on the 3rd floor with a south facing view of the lovely mountains. At dinner we met Bastian, the owner/manager who welcomed us and had a short chat. The choice from the set meal menu was very good with four courses, and the food at each meal was fantastic - they have a really great chef. Breakfasts consist of a very wide choice, cereals, fruit/juice, yoghurt, cold meats, cooked breakfast (including some you can cook yourself), even rice for the Asiatic guests staying there. The rooms are simply furnished but comfortable with a good sized bathroom with toiletries. There is an indoor swimming pool, although we didn't use it. Every member of staff greeted you warmly and were very friendly. All spoke excellent English. Hotel Stella is to be highly recommended if you visit Interlaken. It is a short walk from West station and about 20 minutes walk to Ost station, but buses and trains take you there in a few minutes. If we return to Interlaken we would definitely choose to stay at the Stella.

Room Tip: Opt for a south facing room for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandjNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear dandjNotts

It was a pleasure, to have you in the Stella! Thank you for your booking and also thank you for your very nice review here on tripadvisor.

We are proud for our kitchen quality baised on the classic French kitchen with a modern and creative touch and it is nice to read, that you appreciate this.

It makes fun to work together with our good staff and I really like to read, that everybody is greating you and also the English knowledge ist good. - This is a point we trained hard and to see that this is improving the quality makes fun!

So once again: We thank you very much for staying with us and we would like to assure you that you are heartly welcome at the Stella at any time!

Have a good time. And we hope to see you at another occasion.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Hotel Interlaken

Property: Stella Hotel Interlaken
Address: General Guisanstrasse 2, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stella Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing