We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romance capital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“romance capital”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

got to stat in stella by chance.my agency booked in without my knowledge. but nice experience.great view and close to city centre.waking distantance to train station interlaken west.theres a statue of a cow outside.the breakfast spread is generous.tv was tiny and almost no english channels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear sumer_82

Thank you very much for staying with us, thank you very much for posting such a nice review and thanks a lot to your travel agent for booking us ;-)

It was a pleasure to have you here at the Stella in the lovely Jungfrau region! I also feel, that the hotel location near the city center in an area where inhabitants live is good, because it is calmer douring night and within 5 minutes walking, you are at the Interlaken west station or in the city center.

Thank you also for the feedback about the television. We changed them already to a biger model and are trying to improve our service all the time. Thank you for helping us in this matter.

We hope, to see you another time at the Stella and in the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    122
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
164
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiong Bahru, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in September. Hotel is located in a residential area not far from the main thoroughfare. Nearest train station is Interlaken West, follow the signs immediately outside the station and walk right to the end of General Guisanstrasse road.

Nearby within 3 minute walk are numerous restaurants, Mexican, German, Indian and camera shops and also general provisions.

Hotel houses an indoor pool with bar, a restaurant and many classes of hotel rooms. Having stayed in a single economy room, it is sufficient for a solo traveller, with a big wardrobe, sufficient fridge, single-sized bed and a tiny television. Bathroom is large enough to move freely, where the multi-coloured lighting in the shower an interesting addition.

Not knowing how to operate the window at check-in, the lady at the counter, Christine, was wonderful in coming up at 11pm at night to demonstrate the operation of the window and helped set up the paid wi-fi.

Room is warm without opening the window even if it's 10 deg outside, but opening the windows while sleeping poses a certain risk as the balcony was a whole stretch partitioned by what looks like plastic screwed-in panels. Room was very clean though and there were little chocolates given every day as gift.

Breakfast was limited to cold dishes mainly, around 7 types of bread and self service egg station with pan available for use.

Interesting key system and a large variety of tours available for sale. public transport card available for all guests. All service staff were courteous and helpful, especially the morning service ones.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the side that look out to Jungfraujoch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wOoDpEkEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear wOodpEkEr

Thank you for staying with us and of course thank you very much for posting such a nice review here on tripadvisor.
We appreciate specially, that you point out the quality of service and the staff's friendliness! This is what we try hard and it is nice to see, that this effort is worth, to be done.

After your review, we also checked the TV-situation and changed the TV to a bigger model. So thank you also for this feedback, that helps us, to improve.

We hope, to see you again at the Stella - you are heartly welcome and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stella Hotel was a 3 night stop for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Our room was very large and spacious and although very clean, the bathroom was quite dated. We experienced hot weather and found the room to be very hot and after our first hot night, the staff gave us a fan which helped immensely on the remaining 2 nights. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful and friendly especially Bastion. The breakfast was plentiful and held in the beautiful bright sunny restaurant, where we also had a lovely dinner on our last night. The location was very good also and the walk around the streets is lovely and close to the train stations. We thank all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear markarmel

Thank you very much for booking our small familyrunned Stella Hotel - it was a pleasure to have you here!

Thank you also for the perfect remarks you give us for price-value, cleanness and especially for all the details telling us, that you enjoyed our service. - This feedback is highly appreciated.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you another time here in Interlaken - you are heartly welcome.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

we checked into our hotel and were greeted by our hostess who right away gave us a complete run down of the area, how to connect to the train and in her opinion the best time to get up into the Jungafrau region. The room was clean and relatively spacious. Breakfast was as expected with good food and attentive service with the coffee. The location was perfect within walking distance to the train and shopping including a very cool bar Brasserie 17. a big plus is it has parking. I recommend this hotel and would stay again when in Interlaken.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primagerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Primagerm

Thank you very much for being our guest - it was a pleasure to have you in our small, family-runned hotel.

Indeed, I can understand, that you lilke the Brasserie 17 bar - as I do aswell...

Thank you also for your compliments, that we have staff that knows the area - this is very important, the spacious and clean room and for the location.

You say, you would stay again with us....
... heartly welcome - anytime
and in the meantime, I wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay a week this September at the aptly named Stella Hotel. We found all members of staff in this family-run hotel to be efficient and helpful, with a light and friendly touch. We had a spacious room on the fourth floor, with a balcony looking out at the Jungfrau. Comfortable beds and furnishings.
We stayed half-board. The buffet breakfast was generous and varied. Staff were quietly attentive. As for dinner, a feast to the eyes and palate. The dining room was beautifully laid out, the four course meal was preceeded by an extra "surprise" dish of a beautifully presented appetiser. Each dish was exceptional, both in presentation and quality. A lovely experience.
When we next return to Interlaken, we would have no hesitation in booking at this hotel again.
Thankyou to Bastian, and your wonderful staff for giving us such a pleasant stay.

Mr. and Mrs. Rogers, Kent, England

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Rogers

We thank you for the good time, we had together during your stay here at the Stella. And thank you as well for the wonderful review you posted here on tripadvisor!

It is ture, that the Stella is the smallest 4-star-Hotel in the region and family runned and we are very proud of our kitchen and restaurant performance and we are happy that you give us such a good feedback for that!

You are heartly welcome here and we hope to see you again by another occasion.

In the meantime, I wish you all the best!

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed with Stella Hotel for 5 nights and we enjoyed our stay here. The room I stayed in overlooks the beautiful mountains and I can see Jungfrau from afar. Hotel is very convenient and it's only a 5-minutes walk from Interlaken West Station. The hotel isn't located too far away from Interlaken OST Station as well, perhaps a 20 minutes walk.

Room was pretty spacious but it doesn't come with air-con. It gets terribly warm in the afternoon especially during the period I was there, since it's like their hottest summer! However, the weather turns cooler in the night and I slept soundly until the next morning. Bed was comfortable with nice huge fluffy pillows!

Breakfast was okay and was pretty surprised that I have to cook my own egg & bacon.

Something worth mentioning here is their service. When I told them that I need to check out really early in the morning the next day, they offered to check me out the day before and prepared a wholesome breakfast for me and my hubby to take on the train to Zurich. This small gesture means a lot to us! We really appreciate it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Eskonia

Thank you very much for staying at the Stella - the smallest 4-star Hotel in the Jungfrau region. Thank you also for your good feedback here on trip advisor!

One good point about Interlaken ist the safety situation in Switzerland. There is no problem at all to let the window open during the night - so it cools down and luckely, there was good weather during your stay.

What we realy appreciate is your compliment for the staff and the service. This is what we really try hard and we thank you a lot for telling us that you notice this effort.

So we hope to see you another time here and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

very good hotel in central location but quiet at night which was good. staff very helpful. highly reccomend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear deedee687

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Stella. It was a pleasure to have you here at the family runed Stella Hotel and we hope to welcome you another time!

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Hotel Interlaken

Property: Stella Hotel Interlaken
Address: General Guisanstrasse 2, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stella Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing