We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Youth Hostel is the best accommodation in our tour. We had low expectations since it was a hostel, but to our surprise, it's even better than most hotels! Everything was great, from the food to the room and the service! The beds were bunk beds very clean and made of pine. The restaurant was self-service, if you have diet allergies, the chef will prepare special food for you if they were advised ahead of time of your allergies. Really appreciated it! Staff was very helpful! The only downside of this hostel is that the wifi is only available at the lobby area and it's really slow. Train station and the shops are just walking distance, atm and money exchanger is just beside the hostel. We'll definitely go back and stay at this hostel when we're at Interlaken!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uberfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 275 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Youth Hostel is located right next to the Interlaken Ost station. All trains start, end or have this station as an intermediate stop which means you are well connected. However the main market is near the Interlaken West station which is about 15 mins walk from the hostel. The hostel has basic rooms. I and my wife took a room without a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable. However, it did not have any modern amenities like TV or refrigerator. That's why said its a proper hostel. The staff is very helpful. They charge a 6 CHF per person per night for persons who are non - members. Quite an expensive stay costing 278 CHF for 2 nights for 2 of us when i compare it to our other stay in Europe. I will recommend it for groups of 4 or more which works out to be lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyush_Deora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I enjoyed our stay greatly with my family in 2012 Winter. There are a few reasons that this is my top choice for accommodation in Interlaken:

1. LOCATION: It's literally 2 minutes walk Interlaken Ost Station
2. Super clean, nice, ultra modern design
3. Low cost (compared to hotel of similar quality).

One important thing is to set your expectation right. Think of it as a hotel or a hotel quality hostel. So don't expect dirt cheap price for a night stay in a typical youth hostel in other country.

But if you compared the price of this with the price on an average hotel in Interlaken, you'll realize this is a great bargain.

The only difference is, you'll need to make your beds and return the linens at the counter upon check-out. But it's no big deal.

Wifi was only available in the lobby area. But it was a cool, and stylish hangout place. So the lack of in-room wifi was not a deal breaker.

We, a family of 4, booked a 4 bed with bathroom and balcony. Room was super spacious. Balcony gave a wonderful view.

Morning buffet breakfast ( included in the room price) was great. Visitors should consider having lunch or dinner here as well because the quality is good and price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms with private balcony is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were a group of four visiting Interlaken for two nights. We booked this hostel on the basis of other TripAdvisor reviews and it did not disappoint us!
The hostel is conveniently located, very close to the Interlaken OST station. The check-in process was swift, the staff was courteous, and the rooms were clean and ready.
The rooms are well thought out. The bunker beds have their own reading lights and charging units. You have to make your own bed though.
There is no refrigerator in the room, but you can ask the front desk for help (we had some medicines we had to stow).
Breakfast was included in the tariff. It was a nice spread for the low price we paid for the room.
Other things to note: There are individuals lockers for every bed in the room, there is an elevator to take your stuff up, and there is a picnic area with a microwave to do some cooking. We would have carried some ready to eats if we had known! There is a Coop supermarket store next to the station for your grocery needs while you stay there.
Overall, an excellent visit and we will most definitely go back if we ever visit there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first experience staying in a Youth Hostel. and we were pleasantly surprised. The building and amenities were modern. Simple yet comfortable. Of course, being a youth hostel, they didn't offer luxuries, but we were happy nonetheless. The Interlaken Ost train station is just next door, a large Coop (supermarket) is opposite the train station and breakfast is included - cereals, bread, coffee, juices, muesli. If you want croissant, you'll have to pay extra. We didn't have to because what was available was more than enough. Large TV in the common area and free wifi is available. It isn't really a Swiss mountains experience, but it was a great base for us to go up to the mountains and do day trips to nearby Lucerne and Bern.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with ensuite instead of a dorm. The rooms are clustered in the end of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great localization, literally 10 steps from the train station. Clean rooms and bathroom facilities, ok breakfast, friendly helpful staff, big lockers. Best hostel I've ever been. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hostel is as good as the reviews, its new, spacious, warm, clean. The staff speak good english and it all made for a very pleasant stay. You couldn't even hear the trains. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreauwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 39 in Interlaken
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Youth Hostel

Address: Untere Boenigstrasse 3a | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range: $44 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Interlaken Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is a town with international flair. The unique location of the youth hostel next door to Interlaken-Ost Railway Station and at the foot of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains offers boundless pleasure for adventurous guests. A train journey up to Jungfraujoch is one of the highlights of a trip through Switzerland. Jungfraujoch also boasts the highest railway station in Europe - at an altitude of 3,454 metres in a high-alpine wonderland of ice, snow and rock. The extensive ski areas with over 200 kilometres of pistes are also very popular in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing