We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Hotel is just at the end of Interlaken west platform, one has to cross the road and you are at the Hotel, staff is very friendly, speak good english, Ground floor restaurant is very
happening, staff there keep on entertaining the customers, breakfast is normal but OK

Vinod Tandon,
Delhi, India

Room Tip: Try for main market facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delhiwalaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We opted for this hotel for our 5 days swiss trip in May 2012. The main advantage of this hotel is that, it is located very near to the Rail, Bus and Jetty/ Ferry Stations. The rooms are decent and clean. However, the shower is too congested. Otherwise Hotel is very nice and the staff is very cooperative and helpful. The guy at the front desk gave some very good tips for planning our tour in Interlaken. The locality/ street has some good shops and restaurants. Overall the hotel is very nice and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I just spent a couple nights at the Best Western hotel Bernerhof during our 8 day trip to Switzerland with another couple.

We arrived at the hotel later in the morning. We were greeted by Thomas at reception and told that our room was not yet ready, but that we could leave our bags at the front desk and do our thing for a bit. We ended up going to Titlis for the day and when we returned later on that night our bags had been taken up to our rooms so that was a plus.

The hotel is located down the street from the Interlaken West train station so it is easy to get around. There are many shops and restaurants located near the hotel.

The room was basic, but clean. The bathroom was also clean. My only gripe was with the small shower. I hate hitting the wall or shower curtain while I'm in the shower. Thank goodness I'm not super fat. Although the shower was small, the water was always nice and hot and the towels were clean.

There is no free internet at the hotel. It costs 5 CHF for an hour or 15 CHF for 5 hours. You get a code and it keeps track of how much time you use each time.

There was a free breakfast, but it was nothing special. While it had much of the same items to choose from as the other two hotels we stayed at in Switzerland, (cheese, meats, breads, juices, cereals, pastries) the quality seemed to be lacking compared to what we had been used to at the other two hotels. For instance, the milk wasn't kept cold and it was obvious it had been sitting out for a while. Same thing with the cheese. You could see the moisture on the edges of the cheese slices and could tell it wasn't really kept cold.

Overall, the Best Western Bernerhof Hotel was a decent hotel for the price we paid. It wasn't fancy by any means, but it was conveniently located and we had a clean bed to sleep in and hot shower which was what we wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

small rooms, comfortable stay, helpful and warm staff. very nice views. not the typical 3 star or 4 star, but just a clean, nice convenient place at a stones throw from interlaken west station

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbaifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hotel Bernerhof was a pleasant surprise. I almost passed looking at it, thinking that a Best Western is not the place I would want to stay in Interlaken. The location is what sold me initially but I was also very happy with the price considering that it is in the middle of a very expensive town.

My room was facing the street, with a small balcony and great view of the mountains. It was clean, if a bit small, and I did not notice any street noise even though I am a light sleeper. I opted not to pay the extra for breakfast as there are plenty of cafes and bakeries where one can consume a more interesting local fare.

I must complement the honesty of the gentleman on the front desk when I paid for my accommodation on May 3. I accidentally paid in euros instead of Swiss francs and he straight away informed me of my error without any hesitation!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are more interesting. I had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiberiusVerax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

So the room was okay I guess, shower leaked (as per normal European hotels), a view of the jungfrau, didn't venture out onto the balcony as all we could smell was cow manure! Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. Reception staff were certainly very helpful.
Location was its biggest positive, I saw someone say it was three minutes from interlaken west, I don't know how they came to that as the station is literally across the road from the hotel!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rileyineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

WE stayed at Hotel Bernerhof in Interlaken. One thing I can tell you is that this is the best located hotel, 3 min from Interlaken West train station and great mountain views from almost every room. The breakfast is quite good with a lot of variety.
The front desk staff was very helpful in guiding us to the city attractions and providing us with information on nearby towns to be visited.
The rooms although a bot small are well laid out with all required facilities and the attached bathroom was quite clean.
We had the street facing room but ulike feedback from some other visitors we did not find any issue with noise coming from the street since the windows are well insulated. In fact the beauty of street facing rooms is the spectacular views of the mountain ranges.
Jungfrau is a must see, what a wonderful piece of engineering even 100 years back.
A great place to stay and good value for money........thanks again to the Hotel staff for all their help.

Room Tip: The best way to travel around Switzerland is to buy the Swiss Pass. They had a good deal of "2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 40 in Interlaken
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungfrau Hotel
Jungfrau Hotel
#3 of 7 in Wilderswil
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#17 of 40 in Interlaken
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#16 of 40 in Interlaken
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bernerhof)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: $158 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Bernerhof" is situated in one of the most beautiful places in Switzerland, between the two lakes of Thun and Brienz, on the feets of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. The hotel is very centrally located, near the railway station Interlaken West, the boat landing stage for Lake Thun and the bus station. The congress center, the Casino and the Boedelibad, with in- and outdoor swimming pool and a beautiful wellness area, are easy to reach. To explore the entire Jungfrau region we offer you a ideal starting point. Our 43 rooms are distributed on five floors and with the elevator comfortably attainable. From our roof terrace you have an unforgettable outlook on the Jungfrau and the surrounding mountain world. A hairdresser studio is also in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bernerhof
Best Western Interlaken
Interlaken Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing