We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views, nice people”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

small rooms, comfortable stay, helpful and warm staff. very nice views. not the typical 3 star or 4 star, but just a clean, nice convenient place at a stones throw from interlaken west station

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbaifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 221 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hotel Bernerhof was a pleasant surprise. I almost passed looking at it, thinking that a Best Western is not the place I would want to stay in Interlaken. The location is what sold me initially but I was also very happy with the price considering that it is in the middle of a very expensive town.

My room was facing the street, with a small balcony and great view of the mountains. It was clean, if a bit small, and I did not notice any street noise even though I am a light sleeper. I opted not to pay the extra for breakfast as there are plenty of cafes and bakeries where one can consume a more interesting local fare.

I must complement the honesty of the gentleman on the front desk when I paid for my accommodation on May 3. I accidentally paid in euros instead of Swiss francs and he straight away informed me of my error without any hesitation!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are more interesting. I had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiberiusVerax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

So the room was okay I guess, shower leaked (as per normal European hotels), a view of the jungfrau, didn't venture out onto the balcony as all we could smell was cow manure! Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. Reception staff were certainly very helpful.
Location was its biggest positive, I saw someone say it was three minutes from interlaken west, I don't know how they came to that as the station is literally across the road from the hotel!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rileyineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

WE stayed at Hotel Bernerhof in Interlaken. One thing I can tell you is that this is the best located hotel, 3 min from Interlaken West train station and great mountain views from almost every room. The breakfast is quite good with a lot of variety.
The front desk staff was very helpful in guiding us to the city attractions and providing us with information on nearby towns to be visited.
The rooms although a bot small are well laid out with all required facilities and the attached bathroom was quite clean.
We had the street facing room but ulike feedback from some other visitors we did not find any issue with noise coming from the street since the windows are well insulated. In fact the beauty of street facing rooms is the spectacular views of the mountain ranges.
Jungfrau is a must see, what a wonderful piece of engineering even 100 years back.
A great place to stay and good value for money........thanks again to the Hotel staff for all their help.

Room Tip: The best way to travel around Switzerland is to buy the Swiss Pass. They had a good deal of "2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our ignorance led us to believe that booking a room at a well known chain would be okay. The moment we stepped into the lobby we couldn't believe the stench of urine and wet dog smell - which we found out soon enough - permeated throughout the entire hotel! Couldn't believe that in one of the most magical places on earth, this is how they would run their business and subject their guests to such grotesque. We will never be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at Bernerfof for 3 nights and it was one of the best experiences. The rooms are very clean and bathrooms well kept. The place is just across the west train station and conveniently located to all the attractions.
The hotel staff were very friendly and help you in any way. We had not made any plans as to which place to visit around interlaken and the best places to visit. The hotel staff were very helpful in advising the best best places to visit. We did just that and glad we took their advice. They even booked the tickets to the Jungfrau regions in a jiffy.
Our prices included the breakfast and it was very good.
This is a perfect place to stay and you will not be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at the Bernerhof hotel eariler this month. It is a very clean, well kept hotel in the most convenient location across the street from the Interlaken west train station and the bus stop for most of the many buses in the area. If you happen to need a train departing from the east station it will only take you 2 min to get there by any train. The room rate includes a very nice breakfast of cereals, yogurts, meats, cheeses, eggs and a variety of breads .
The owner and staff are always eager to help you in any way.
This is a perfect place to stay and take daily trips out to see different places every day.
We have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice_Dinkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 39 in Interlaken
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#17 of 39 in Interlaken
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bernerhof)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: $119 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Bernerhof" is situated in one of the most beautiful places in Switzerland, between the two lakes of Thun and Brienz, on the feets of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. The hotel is very centrally located, near the railway station Interlaken West, the boat landing stage for Lake Thun and the bus station. The congress center, the Casino and the Boedelibad, with in- and outdoor swimming pool and a beautiful wellness area, are easy to reach. To explore the entire Jungfrau region we offer you a ideal starting point. Our 43 rooms are distributed on five floors and with the elevator comfortably attainable. From our roof terrace you have an unforgettable outlook on the Jungfrau and the surrounding mountain world. A hairdresser studio is also in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bernerhof
Best Western Interlaken
Interlaken Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing