We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Des Alpes

Des Alpes
Ranked #95 of 171 Restaurants in Interlaken
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Service was a bit delayed but that was due to the restuarant being full. Everything we ate there was very delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DubaiBinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    146
    73
    38
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
566 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“Good food, particularly Rosti and Pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

A well situated place on the main road between the east side of town and the centre. The outside seating is comfortable and a good spot to admire the snow-capped mountains of the Eiger and Jungfrau as well as watch the world go by and the paragliders landing opposite after rashly flinging themselves from the mountain tops attached only to what appears to be a large handkerchief.

The restuarant offers a reasonable menu, and is particularly well known for its wide range of Swiss rosti dishes. The rosti dishes are more filling than they look at first sight (I can recommend the house rosti) and it seemed perfectly acceptable to order one between two if you haven’t developed an enormous appetite from tramping in the mountains (we saw two people do this on a couple of occasions – ordering one between two that is and not tramping in the mountains!). It also offers a good range of pizzas, made in an adjoining wood-fired pizza oven, and we also enjoyed one of these on one evening. My wife’s chicken strip salad was also very good, with the chicken having a slightly unusual but tasty piquant flavour and an excellent and usual salad containing a variety of fruit, berries and herbs as well as the more usual salad items.

We found the staff generally friendly, but I think it does depend on who serves you, and the prices not unreasonable for the area (although the beer was a bit more expensive than most places elsewhere), so all in all we found it a convenient place for a mid-point evening drink between walking from our hotel (Linder Beau Rivage) to the town centre, and a good spot for an evening meal on a couple of occasions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great service and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have visited in both August and September this year , and I was glad to see service and food up to standard. As my son says there are waiters who are good then there is the best "Benson". THe Des Alpes and Benson are always welcoming and helpful. We will be back again and again while standards remain so good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome food, OK price, VERY slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Try any of the Rosti dishes - we had the mozzarella cheese with tomato, mushroom, and egg - each was incredible!

Price was OK and typical for the location - we ate outside in the sun and in the middle of watching people and the paragliders.

Service was tough as we had to continually ask for hot sauce, water, and then the bill...and we live in Europe where we are used to slower and more relaxed service.

Eat here though for the food and location and you'll be very happy you did.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blahtalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to have dinner and people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fair value meals, choose the sidewalk tables. Service was good and quick. Had a great meal of Swiss Roesti - the local dish. Try it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DreDre07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Des Alpes also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Unterseen, Interlaken
Unterseen, Interlaken
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing