We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What more can you say about the Victoria Jungfrau. Our family just enjoyed our fourth stay in this wonderful hotel and like all of the previous occasions it was a fantastic experience.

We had a junior suite with balcony facing the frau and the views are just spectacular. However it is not just the views , this hotel maintains a consistent standard of excellence on all fronts. The staff are very warm and helpful, the rooms are meticulously maintained and very clean , the breakfast is among the best I have experienced , the spa offers just about everything that could be expected in a wellness facility.

This a true five star hotel and remains a Swiss icon. From the moment you walk in the door , nothing is too much trouble.

Fantastic experience. Cannot wait for our fifth visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our three day stay here was very enjoyable. The staff* is very cordial and helpful; the rooms are very nice*, the location across from the park is great for people and parasailing watching. Considering the age of the hotel, it is very very well maintained. Views of the mountains, on a clear day, are wonderful. The breakfast, included with our room, was also excellent.

That said, having a tower fan in the room for 'air conditioning' was a bit disappointed. The spa, as excellent as it is, was winding down at 9:30, even though the hours are until 10 pm. I think 10 pm means the steam room is still HOT at 9:59pm. Last but not least, there is one concierge who acts like he cant wait until he's done with you; and in a facility like this, that is one concierge too many.

Room Tip: Ask for (or pay for) a room on the front of the hotel, facing the park and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Victoria Jungfrau is an icon in Switzerland, an old palace which has been kept up to date very well. It retains the old palace feel but is well living in the XXI century. All public areas are gorgeous, very well maintained (no "worn" feeling at all anywhere, not sure what some other reviewers were expecting, yes there is no plexiglass or glass everywhere, if it is what you were expecting), you are stepping into history without the old feel other swiss historic hotels unfortunately have. The spa/pool area is simply gorgeous, the rooms quite large for swiss standard and furniture tasteful. There are indeed many Asian tourists, but this is true for the entire Interlaken area, and we should be grateful there are here, as many historic hotels would otherwise not survive.

We only tried one restaurant, the Terrasse, highly rated on Gault-et-Millau, and it was as expected delicious. I thought the price tags on some dishes slightly too high (the one lone scampi with its lone scallop at CHF 42 was a bit of a shocker), despite the high guide ratings, but we had a great dinner.

I found the breakfast disappointing. As five stars, I am expecting something better than a single buffet, albeit well stocked, for example with eggs on demand by a chef, I think there is vast room for improvement there.

Overall, a memorable experience of walking and sleeping into an historic alpine icon, breathing history, but well up to the XXI century. Excellent food and awesome views and location. Lower your expectations with regards to breakfast and do not miss to spend time in the spa/pool area, it is outstanding.

It is not a palace anymore (you would not find a junior suite at $700 in a swiss palace !!!!!) but it is an awesome grande dame and worth every penny. I actually found it quite well priced for what is on offer.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room facing south and avoid a room facing west like plague as another hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IAHGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel faces the mountains; however, we had to stay in a room on the opposite side. The room was rather small and the floor seems to be slightly slant. The best thing of this hotel was a spa. I had a very relaxing time there. Also, breakfast was good and a hotel staff member was very friendly and I had a nice chat with her. For dinner, I asked a concierge to recommend a restaurant for us to have traditional Swiss dishes. Unfortunately the food of the restaurant he recommended was not good. I think the concierge should have shown us a list of restaurants to choose from and should have given some explanation about each restaurant. Do I demand too much?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yokohama235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Victoria Jungfrau used to be a flagship for Switzerlands hotel industry. There are some positive changes, one of the restaurants have improved, but still Pasta which can be eaten everywhere. The "new type" of guests is arriving in coaches and I do hardly believe that those people are spending additional money in the hotel, they are entering the rooms with food bags from local discounters. The rooms definitely need reconstruction, in addition the cleaning was terrible this time, parts of flowers were blocking the lavatory, small pieces from nuts were on the floor as well as on the chairs, even after telling to the reception. Bath tube was full of black hairs, water in the shower was not rinsing properly, most probably hair too... I will try Lindner Beau Rivage for my next visit to Interlaken.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel has a nice entrance and nice, but worn, common areas. My junior suite, at just under $700 per night, was an ok size, and made to seem bigger than it actually was due to sparse, old furnishings. The room was hot, but the hotel does not have air conditioning, which probably had not been invented the last time the room was renovated. The staff was pleasant, but overall, I would definitely not recommend this hotel. An average hotel at way above average prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The perfect gateway to the wonderful Jungfrau glacier. The hotel is prime quality, rooms are spacious and nicely refurbished, service is excellent as we can expect from a hotel of this category. You will enter a real palace, and will enjoy the service you deserve. I particularly appreciated the cigar lounge, the swimming-pool, and obviously the incredible view from the room to the Jungfrau. I didn't try the restaurants, but I went to the buffet at the breakfast. Eggs were really good (which is difficult to find in such buffets usually), and there is a nice attention to the kids with a special corner for them.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the rooms with a view on the Jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bar56te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 39 in Interlaken
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Hoeheweg 41, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Interlaken
#1 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#2 Business Hotel in Interlaken
#5 Family Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range: $340 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken's Leading Hotel, housed in palatial building with fine views of the Jungfrau Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel And Spa
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel Interlaken
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing