We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A must-go”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The perfect gateway to the wonderful Jungfrau glacier. The hotel is prime quality, rooms are spacious and nicely refurbished, service is excellent as we can expect from a hotel of this category. You will enter a real palace, and will enjoy the service you deserve. I particularly appreciated the cigar lounge, the swimming-pool, and obviously the incredible view from the room to the Jungfrau. I didn't try the restaurants, but I went to the buffet at the breakfast. Eggs were really good (which is difficult to find in such buffets usually), and there is a nice attention to the kids with a special corner for them.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the rooms with a view on the Jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bar56te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    264
    107
    35
    24
See reviews for
274
590
39
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Victoria Jungfrau sits like a queen in the middle of Interlaken. It's sited strategically to take advantage of the distant views of the Jungfrau. Our room looked directly on to that view, and it was a pleasure to sit on the small balcony to enjoy it. We could also watch the paragliders landing, a dozen at a time, on the green directly in front of the hotel.

The hotel originally consisted of two separate establishments, the Victoria and the Jungfrau, which were subsequently joined by a corridor. It's a huge hotel with impressive amounts of public space, including several restaurants, an enormous spa, meeting rooms, a billiard room, and sitting rooms. Therein lies the dilemma. Do you want to pay for all that space? Your bill will certainly reflect it. We swam in the pool and . . . that's it. We didn't really hang out in the hotel at all, not even to have a drink in the attractive outside bar on a hot summer day. We had planned to, but over the three days we were there, we just never got around to it.

Our room was large, and as I've mentioned, we had a lovely view of the Jungfrau. I found the decor of our room attractive but dated. There's no air conditioning at all in the hotel because -- as the front desk attendant made sure to tell us -- the historic fabric of the building won't allow air conditioning to be installed. Really?? I've stayed in many historic hotels, including some in Switzerland, and they seem to have managed to install modern ventilation. An extended heat wave descended on the country during our visit, but fortunately, our room stayed cool enough so that we didn't notice too much.

The hotel caters to tour groups. It was filled with Chinese tourists, all buying expensive Swiss watches along Interlaken's main boulevard. To get away from the crowds we wandered across the river to the Unterseen neighborhood, about a 10-15 stroll from the hotel. There's a lovely square there (I wish I could remember the name!) with three good restaurants: Citta Vecchia for Italian food, the Stadthaus for good Swiss dishes, and a very upmarket one called Benacus that we didn't have time to try. We ate outside while the church bells rang -- magical! I'm so glad we found that area of town, away from the very touristy part of Interlaken and much cheaper than the hotel's restaurants.

Our check out was a bit of a disaster. The front desk clerk put my partner's credit card into the machine and couldn't get it out. She panicked and called her colleague (not the manager, just another colleague) who then called a maintenance guy to try to take the machine apart! In the meantime, the front desk clerk offered to send it to our next destination, once they got it out of the machine. Well, we certainly weren't going to leave our credit card behind. Finally, after about a half hour of watching them struggle, my partner suggested they call the credit card company, whose number was very visibly attached to the machine. They did, the credit card company gave them a code, and when they punched it in, the card popped right out. But by that time we had concluded that 1) the desk staff were incompetent 2) They had never been trained to deal with such matters. Offering to send our credit card to our next destination was insane; you don't keep a client's credit card, ever! 3) The credit card machine was clearly very old and needed to be replaced and 4) A guest's experience at check out matters very, very much because it's their last impression of an establishment. Our last(ing) impression of the Victoria Jungfrau is now less than stellar.

I'm glad we were able to experience Interlaken; it's a pleasant town. But next time, I think we'll skip it and go straight to Wengen or Grindelwald, where the real mountain hikes begin.

As for the Victoria Jungfrau -- we stayed in four hotels during our trip to Switzerland, and in my opinion it gave us the least value for money. Oh, we enjoyed it -- it's an impressive hotel, and the breakfasts and spa area were particularly good. But it was the most expensive because, I suspect, it's got the highest upkeep. So many large public rooms and facilities, most of which we never used!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The bets hotel to stay in Interlaken , great heritage hotel with huge rooms and boobies , unlike other European hotel. All real five facilities , good service neat and clean hotel , food is excellent.
If you have the budget this is the place.

Room Tip: If you have Budget then go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I love places like Victoria Jungfrau, but unfortunately there is so few of them left. What a grandezza! And pretty well maintained and refurbished. The public areas from restaurants via bars, terraces to the smoker room are absolutely fantastic. On a sunny day you see the Jungfrau mountain. So beautiful. Easy access to city and other gastronomy in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I went to Victoria in early May with my two kids aged 12, 17.
On going through the reviews and the official website of the hotel, my expectations were quite high and all i can say is that the hotel did not disappoint us. We were asked to wait till check in time since we had arrived earlier than check in time.. which was ok. the room was allocated towards the rear end (was surprisingly told that the front facing rooms were at a premium price, where as no site says so). nonetheless, we were happy with the room more or less, only problem being a long corridors to cross through for reaching to the lift. but with kids it was no big deal.
the hotel is excellently located and is actually the landmark of Interlaken. beautiful interiors and exteriors. the patio where they had fresh flowers was beautiful especially at dawn. Another outstanding feature of the hotel is its spa and pool area especailly the outdoor SALT jaccuzi.. it was relaxing beyond words. the staff was helpful especially the conceirge whose name was DRAGON. ya the name is scary but the guy is amazing and very helpful. would love to come back .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagararora123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Very expensive, but we were there on business for a week so it wasn't out of our pocket. The facility is breathtaking. We would just hang out at the hotel and soak up the atmosphere. Each night we would sit at the cigar lounge, and to save money we bought wine from the Co-op corner store and they were happy to decant it for a charge, but it was still better than the hotel wine prices. The spa facility was amazing. Steam room, sauna, ice room, outdoor salt water jacuzzi and indoor pool, all included for guests.
The location in town was fantastic as well. Great local restaurants for fondue. From the hotel we rented electric bikes and rode up to the base of Schilthorn, and another day we went canyoning. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snakeduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although we did not stay overnight, we booked a 3 hour Sensai Silk spa treatment within the Sensai studio. It included body peeling, facial peeling and treatment, as well as a full body massage all using the Sensai products. Absolutely amazing and definitely would recommend. Felt like new afterwards. We could also use the spa area before and after the treatment so made for a wonderful day out on the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamCu7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Hoeheweg 41, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Interlaken
#1 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#2 Business Hotel in Interlaken
#5 Family Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken's Leading Hotel, housed in palatial building with fine views of the Jungfrau Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel And Spa
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel Interlaken
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing