We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Switzerland, very kid friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Switzerland, very kid friendly”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel was a world-class act straight through, with only one minor hiccup.

We traveled with a 16 month old infant. They greeted us with bathrobes and slippers for everyone -- including a tiny child sized bathrobe and slippers! Our room faced the yard in front, so our little one spent hours laughing at the paragliders coming off the mountains and landing in front. Rooms facing this front lawn have a direct view of Jungfrau and the valley.

Rooms were clean, spacious, and well laid out. Bed was firm and comfortable. Interestingly, the TV was small considering the size of the room -- a slight reminder that perhaps you should be outside taking in the natural beauty that is Interlaken, rather than sitting in a room watching TV? :) Whatever the case, this was not an issue for us.

The pool was also great, including many hot tubs and a salt-water outdoor heated bath. There was a "kid's hour" every day for the pool, where the staff brought out all manners of beach toys, which was a great subtle way to encourage families with children to bring their kids down at that time only.... On the topic of kid-friendliness: the breakfast buffet had a nutritious and varied kid-station, and all our room service meals came with coloring placemats and small sets of colored pencils. The hotel seemed genuinely glad that our kid was there, which, for parents, just made our job so much easier and relaxing.

Great restaurants, even better cigar room. My request for their scotch menu was met with a smile and "what would you like"?

Room service: they were understaffed for the low season when we stayed, so room service took a few minutes longer than they promised. This was pretty much the only glitch. There is some sound travel between rooms, as you'd expect from older construction, but curtains around the bedroom blocked out most of the sound.

Already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bogracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    263
    107
    35
    24
See reviews for
274
588
39
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location in Interlaken but take a taxi from the train station because it is too far to walk with luggage from either station (east or west). The concierge told us that 2 hotels, The Victoria and The Jungfrau were joined together to create this magnificent property. The main lobby with the soaring glass ceiling is the area that joins the 2 properties. Our room was in the front of the hotel with a view of the Jungfrau. It was spacious with 2 floor-to-ceiling windows and a small balcony. The bathroom was gorgeous with a jacuzzi bath and large shower. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The SPA was immense and we did not have time to see it all, but we especially enjoyed the large outdoor jacuzzi. The concierge staff was very helpful. On a rainy day during our visit they recommended a boat trip on Lake Thun and we had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxWildThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

One must stay in this hotel atleast once in a lifetime!

That is my recommendation. Majestic and regal. We enjoyed the views of the Jungfrau throughout our two night stay -- with the room's powerful binoculars.

Housekeeping was slightly tardy with rooms not ready until 1615.

Sleep quality was good. Accessories fine.

But there is no power outlet to handle 1 Kindle, 1 I-pad, three cell phones, two cameras -- all which had to be charged by us in a remotely accessed plugpoint behind heavy furniture.

The concierge desk: lackadaisical. Unresponsive to our request for a trip up the mountain without which they would not exist!

The breakfast was ordinary and measly.

Nevertheless, we will return again!

B G KOSHY
BANGALORE
INDIA

Room Tip: Must be Jungfrau-facing with balcony and not very high. We were in 122 - one of the finest suites in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGKoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As you might know, this is one of the Leading Hotels in the World. I have been at least in 10 leading hotels in the world, and this one deserves fully to be one of them. I didn't stay there, so, I can't comment about the rooms, but we spent half of a day in this hotel, because we booked one their special treatments in the spa.

The lobby is impressive, elegant, classic, you can feel the luxury. The spa area is wow factor for us. There is a big pool, 2 jaccuzis and one external jacuzzi which was fantastic: Hot and salty water warming up your body and the cold breeze in your face watching the white mountains, really good sensation, you can spent the all evening inside.

We had a relaxing massage and it was very good, after that, we had dinner at one of their restaurant. Food was good, nothing exceptional but overall the all experience was unique. I also have to mentioned that they treat us very well. I can highly recommend to book one of their treatment at the Spa, you shouldn't miss it if you are there, even, if you are not staying at this hotel.

Switzerland for us, is about the natural beauty and skiing in winter, and for that, you don't need a 5 star hotel, but if your budget allows you, stay at the Victoria Jungfrau, you won't regret.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beto201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The mountain view form the private balcony is amazing. Rooms have wooden floors and are nicely equiped. Superb bathroom (from junior suite upwards). SPA area has been renovated recently, but it remained very elegant. The hotel is an icon of tradition, all public areas are still breathing the spirit from beginning of 19th century without being old fashioned. Unfortunately the restaurant strategy should have some kind of rejuvention as well. Interlaken is some kind of gastronomic desert where fast food and low standard is dominating the scene. There is no place to eat Sushi, but Victoria Jungfrau is offering pasta in one of those three restaurants whilst pasta can be eaten almost everywhere in the village. In addition the breakfast buffet is either a shame for such a hotel. The quality was good, but the choice extremely poor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Classic luxury. Top level service.
Large junior suites with all amenities. Small bathroom.
We choose a Harder view junior suite and the view wasn´t what we expected.... but all other good things made our stay still a very good one.
Very good and helpful concierge. Follow their advice and you´ll have a good program.
Avoid the pastateca restaurant. Except for the starters, the main dish was very poorly executed (raw risotto) and expensive. The same happened with dessert.
Very good spa with a spectacular swimming-pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GProenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

One of the greatest SPA centers I've ever been. The outside jacuzzi during the winter is fantastic. The hotel is a little bit oldfashioned but it's charming. The service is superb. If you are in a room with a view towards the mountain you may be happy to see the parachutes on a weekend mornings.

Take the highest altitude European railway for a trip to Jungfrau.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Hoeheweg 41, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#1 Romantic Hotel in Interlaken
#2 Business Hotel in Interlaken
#5 Family Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken's Leading Hotel, housed in palatial building with fine views of the Jungfrau Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel And Spa
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel Interlaken
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing