We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and quick service”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Ranked #144 of 172 Restaurants in Interlaken
Cuisines: Pakistani
Description: Phone Number 033 821 24 14 They also claim to serve Indian Cuisine
Restaurant details
Description: Phone Number 033 821 24 14 They also claim to serve Indian Cuisine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and quick service”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Food was very nice and the service was great as well.

Close proximity to the railway station is convenient as well

Would recommend the restaurant to anyone in Interlaken pining for Indian food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zinihelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    24
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most Disgusting food ever tasted.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I am an Indian and I know how exactly the Indian food tastes like .
We ( a group of Indians ) ordered chicken curry and chicken biryani ...very common dishes.
We were served something which was far away from being called as food...it tasted disgusting.
When we talked with the manager( who earlier had shouted on the waiter for no reason ) and told him that this is not at all biryani...he started mocking at us saying you have never tasted biryani.
...I described him how the biryani is made along with the ingredients and he was asking me to cook biryani in his kitchen..I said .....I am a tourist and just here for an hour or two..and he started mocking again.
We did not eat anything...paid the highly overpriced bill and left the restaurant in search of a good food...
Total money wasted 125 swiss franks...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank d_chanschem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very bad attitude”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

we were looking for some veg indian food, unfortunately we found this restaurant, there was only one person who took the order and went inside to cook, we had to catch a cruise after 40 mintutes, in 30 minutes he was unable to give us anything, when we told him if you are not able to give something pls cancel the order as we can't miss the cruise, he was very rude he started shouting and even tried to block our way to go out, he started abusing too, when we shared this with some other people they said he is like that only and they also had the same problem with him.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank neeleshbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple & Humble”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

A nice simple Indian resturant, doesn't have the WOW factor. A tasty chicken baryani, his subzi is not much of a subzi anyway (Subzi is a persian dish). Good large portions. Drinks served in a bottle. Nice if you are looking for a taste of India in Interlaken with rice to eat. Little bit pricey, but who am I to judge of a small bottle of water in Switzerland cost 4 CHF!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank asuhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and food;”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We ordered Chesse pizza for kids, they put Cheese on top of a Mediternanean bread and called it Pizza. When we asked the waiter to give us a replacement, he refused to take it back or offer us a replacement. The other items we ordered were Chicken and Gobi Aloo both were terrible. I also spoke to the Owner he used fowl language and did nothng about the Pizza. The kitchen was very small and looked fithy. So please stay away from this place and eat at the chinese restaurant next door instead. Shalimar is very pricy for the quality/quantity of food offered.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eat4healthforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing