We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish Pub/Hotel Great !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tell Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
reddish
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Irish Pub/Hotel Great !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we explored the nearby mountains. It is is a brilliant location mid way between the 2 Interlaken stations and on a busy bus route with the stops right outside the front door. The room was clean, comfortable and adequate but not brilliant, as the bathroom/shower/toilet was quite small and a bit old fashioned. However the " Irish" pub downstairs was brilliant. They had a "Happy Hour" with cheaper drinks which can be very expensive in Switzerland, and we got a "2 for 1" offer on the fish and chips one night which were delicious. The local beer is really good and there was a great atmosphere in the bar when we were there. Good Hotel - Good Value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yantoReddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at Interlaken for 2 nights on our trip through Switzerland an Hotel Tell was by far our best place to stay at. We stayed on the top floor which has 5 beds, a kitchen, a den, and a bathroom. Our balcony view was beautiful in the morning when the sun is rising and the mountains are in the background.

The staff is super helpful and very friendly. They answered all of our questions about transportation, recommendations of what to do and see and even helped us book out paragliding adventure!

The food is also really good at the Irish Pub which doubles as the reception on the ground floor. It's a lively spot for drinks and for food.

The hotel is located right at a bus stop, which makes travel throughout the town very convenient, especially to and from the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were impressed with the Hotel Tell. It was easy to find and only 15 minutes walk with suitcase from the West railway station. As others have said, once you are there and have received the public transport card, it is easy to get around the toaw and to and from the two stations. The bus stops couldn't really be much closer to the hotel!

We checked in at the bar downstairs. The young man who sorted us out was very friendly and helpful. He told us all about the wifi, how to get in to the hotel and to watch out out for a sharp end on the door handle! He also told us all about the happy hour in the bar, and the various food special offers on in the restaurant.

We were pleased with our room. Although basic, we thought it was very warm and comfortable (it was pretty chilly in the nights) and we were delighted to find tea and coffee making facilities, which can be quite rare in Europe. The bathroom was pretty small, but it was clean and functional. The bed was very cozy, and the duvet kept us nice and warm. The best thing was that the sun flooded in through the windows during the late afternoon, which was really pleasant to come back to after sightseeing.

There was plenty of storage space for us, with a wardrobe and a chest. There were also drawers in the bedside tables amd a small shelf for toiletries in the bathroom. The only downsides were that the shower was not very powerful and the plughole could have done with a little unblocking. My other half also complained about hearing water during the night from the cistern filling up, but I couldn't hear anything so it didn't bother me!

The TV was small but had quite a few channels available and a big TV would have been quite out of place with the rest of the furniture, which was mostly pine and very attractive. It certainly made us feel a bit Alpine!

We were very sad to leave the Hotel Tell. It is not a boutique hotel but is clean, comfortable, down to earth and, for the price, excellent value. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for friendly accommodation which is in a quiet location but not far from the town centre.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the building gives you the best view of the mountains, though every room will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RojBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Tell was the nicest surprise of our trip to Switzerland. Since this is a very expensive country, Hotel Tell was really cheap, even though they don't look like a real hotel (which was nice in the end).

The "reception", per say, is the Irish pub on the ground floor, and it turns out this pub is one of the best affordable places to eat in Interlaken after all. The location may not be the best, but the bus stop is literally in front of the hotel, and Interlaken West or Ost is 5 minutes away. They also give you a card for free local transportation during your stay, so it's easy and costless.

The room was spacious and comfortable, although very simple, and provides coffee and tea amenities. The bathroom is only tolerable for the small price we paid.

As they almost don't have a reception (you have the key for the door on the right side of the pub) and don't provide breakfast AFAIK (pub opens at 11am), we felt a little bit like a resident for 4 days, and it was fantastic.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view. A view in Interlaken is always awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldogiusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Cozy, comfortable and very well located. Spending holidays in Interlaken and its surroundings is pretty expensive with the exception of accommodation that in this case was quite affordable. The room counts with tea and coffee facilities and you can also eat tasty dishes at the ground floor pub which belongs to the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As soon as you arrive you´re given a free pass to travel by bus, which is very valuable since travelling around is very expensive. We had wonderful holidays here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariela2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

In an overly expensive and touristy city, Hotel Tell is pretty nice. It's above a bar as has been said countless times, but even with a live band and full house on a Saturday night, we couldn't hear much from our room on the first floor.

A bit pricey for what you get, but like I said, this is Switzerland. Rooms are clean and staff are friendly. About a 5 minute walk to town and 10 to either train station.

There's a lot on here about the pub downstairs. We found it to be one of the most affordable places in town for what you get - happy hour on beer is a great deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiann0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you get in late, it can be challenging to get to the hotel. The bus that goes to the hotel doesn't run in the late evenings. We had to take a taxi, although we could've walked if we knew our way around. The restaurant downstairs was rather expensive. Not sure if those fish and chips were worth it. The room was clean and nice. The staff was decent and could speak reasonably good English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1999308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Hirschen
Gasthof Hirschen
#6 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Derby
Hotel Derby
#8 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Interlaken Youth Hostel
Interlaken Youth Hostel
#2 of 23 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tell Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tell Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Tell Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Hauptstrasse 49 | Matten, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tell Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Under New Management May 2011- with fresh new Rooms and Irish Pub*** Hotel Tell is located in the centre of the well visited Matten bei Interlaken, 3 km away from Lake Brienz and 5 km from Lake Thun. It sells ski passes and offers free Wi-Fi. Guests can relax on the sunny terrace or rent bicycles in nice weather. A coffee bar is also available on site. The Tell offers traditionally furnished rooms with private bathrooms and hairdryers and a TV. Laundry service is available on request. Tell Hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Interlaken West train station and free public parking is offered on site. The hotel's owners provide help with arranging and booking several activities and they can offer extensive information about the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tell Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing