We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff and value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tell Hotel-Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tell Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The staff at Hotel Tell is excellent and very friendly. The main reason I selected this hotel was the price and it is definitely value for money.

The rooms are slightly noisy and one can be disturbed by noisy neighbors.

I would recommend the Hotel to everyone looking forward to staying in Interlaken.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

It took us a while to find the hotel when we first arrived at Interlaken. We managed to get some directions from locals and took bus 104 from the train station, alighting at 'Hotel Sonne' stop. This bus stop is just right in front of the hotel.

After checking-in ourselves at the Bar, we had to lug our luggage up to our room which was on level 3. Rather steep steps and was quite tedious with our two 18kg luggage.

The double room was quite small and toilet, particularly the shower area, was tight.
Breakfast was simple but good enough to start off the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuroroMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

excellent location, friendly staff, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

For our stay in Interlaken for a family of 5. We chose to take the holiday apartment for 5 & it was great!

The room is very spacious with 2 larger bedrooms and a small room with a single bed. The place was stocked with a fully equipped kitchen full of cutlery & cooking utensils. The furniture in the apartment is very minimal and tasteful such that there is a lot of open space in the entire apartment. We would definitely recommend this place to any family travelling in interlaken.

The restaurant and bar just below the hotel is really cool & serve everything from gourmet coffee to lagers and a host of meals. It's a very popular restaurant in the area.

Tell is also at a great location, with just 15 minutes walking distance from the station. The adventure sports company is also 2 mins away from the hotel (You can inquire about this from the extremely friendly staff). The bus stop is also right smack in front of the hotel.

All in all Tell is a great place to stay & we'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Family apartment for 5 is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riteshsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had a terrific time at the Hotel Tell – warm, helpful owner, great location and terrific rooms. We had a group of five and had the apartment on the top floor of the hotel. It was perfect for us – very spacious, two balconies with gorgeous views and a kitchen stocked with everything we needed to cook in the apartment. The COOP grocery store is about a block away, the bus stops right outside the front door – so convenient!

The owner, Sandy, is very warm and helpful. I needed to print out some forms and she took time out of her busy day to take me to her office and get the job done – I don’t know what I would have done without her help!

They recently renovated an Irish pub on the first floor - the pub is gorgeous and the food was terrific. The views from the balconies were gorgeous - there can't be a better spot in Interlaken!

We had a terrific time in Interlaken and look forward to returning to Hotel Tell in the future!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferWZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great people at this place with lots of advice. The room was pretty small and basic and we had to lug our suitcases up two flights of stairs which might not be easy for everyone.
Excellent location, bus outside the front door and train stations within walking distance (15 mins) or 5min bus ride. Although I found it expensive for what it was, it was probably one of the cheaper places to stay.
The downstairs is a pub and has lovely pub food.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor in case you're worried about the stairs - although I am unsure if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Welcoming, charming small inn-style hotel located in a beautiful area that's a convenient base for travel to the mountains, adventure activities and access to traveler needs. Very friendly, knowledgeable staff who can also pour a top-notch pint of Guinness. Free wi-fi and buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Hirschen
Gasthof Hirschen
#6 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Derby
Hotel Derby
#8 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#11 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tell Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tell Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Tell Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Hauptstrasse 49 | Matten, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tell Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Under New Management May 2011- with fresh new Rooms and Irish Pub*** Hotel Tell is located in the centre of the well visited Matten bei Interlaken, 3 km away from Lake Brienz and 5 km from Lake Thun. It sells ski passes and offers free Wi-Fi. Guests can relax on the sunny terrace or rent bicycles in nice weather. A coffee bar is also available on site. The Tell offers traditionally furnished rooms with private bathrooms and hairdryers and a TV. Laundry service is available on request. Tell Hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Interlaken West train station and free public parking is offered on site. The hotel's owners provide help with arranging and booking several activities and they can offer extensive information about the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tell Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing