We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a quick bite”
Review of Mercato

Mercato
Ranked #60 of 172 Restaurants in Interlaken
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fresh oven baked pizza, a large selection of pasta dishes, as well as many more Italian specialities bring the gusto italiano right to your table. Fine Italian wine completes your dining experience and makes it extra special. A piece of their homemade tiramisu and an espresso perfect your meal.
Tustin, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needed a quick bite”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were working our way through Switzerland on a long afternoon drive from Freiburg Germany and we needed a quick bite. This is a completely beautiful area with wonderful views. The town itself is a bit touristy or completely over the top depending on your sensibilities. So, I have come to expect in such places mediocre food. While this place surpassed the "mediocre threshold" it did so only by the slimmest of margins. To be fair, we arrived at 1630 and they were only serving pizzas and salads (dinner starts at 1800). We ordered a four cheese "white" pizza (i.e., no tomato sauce) and a plain cheese pizza. The "white" pizza was actually good - a touch of bleu cheese helped make it work. The regular cheese pizza was OK, at best. Both crusts were edible. Would I go back to Interlaken just to eat here. Umm no way. But if you find yourself there and need a bite at this time of day it will suffice and will be worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeSuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    43
    24
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Italian Just Off The Main Street!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Dined here 2 nights on our stay in Interlaken. The food was delicious, the pizza was not at all stingy on toppings and was delicious and the Lasanga was also fantastic. The place is full of Italian staff and Italian diners so it has to be good! It is down a bit of a quiet narrow street and we came across it by chance. The staff were excellent too.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frigid-Frozen-Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best lasagna I have ever had!!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Dropped in for lunch and had the best lasagna I have ever had. My wife is a great cook and we are very very fussy dinners and both of us agreed that it was very special. They used spinach pasta sheets with a tomato cream style béchamel that was delicious. The meal cost 17 Chf which is good value in Switzerland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FeedTheFishMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very good food, very nice staff - the pizzas are much better than their counterpart in Grindelwald. Excellent pizzas, bread and salad. The pasta was average.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirbhay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Pizza reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere friendly staff and the pizza is quite good. Prices are very reasonable which is seldom in Switzerland

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skysurf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing