We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful warm welcome!”
Review of Hotel Alphorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alphorn
Ranked #2 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful warm welcome!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The welcome at the Hotel Alphorn was wonderful! The manager and the staff were very friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and very helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. We looked forward to the delicious fresh breakfasts each morning and the Brazilian fresh coffee! The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet area and a brilliant base for exploration of the area. It was very hard to leave and the best hotel we stayed in during our travels around Switzerland. Should we plan another trip to Switzerland this hotel will be first on the list!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    91
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
61
172
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very clean and charming hotel. Very good located, quiet area but walking distance from the train station to the mountains and the city center. Spotless clean rooms and breakfast area, with great attention to details. Friendly and helpful staff.
Had a very pleasant 2 night stay with my mom and 5 years old daughter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was the best hotel experience of our 18-day Europe experience. Besides all the important points that the room was spotlessly clean, spacious, and comfortable; breakfast ample and delicious; facilities was good; location was very convenient, the most impressive part was the helpfulness of the staff (maybe the owner) after we missed the check-in deadline on a rainy freezing night. I would definitely recommend the hotel to any of my friend.

The only cons I can think of is it would be better if it could be more budget-friendly. But this is Switzerland and everything is costly. So given the quality of the room, I would say this is good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyYW220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to choose interlaken as our base for 3 nights to explore the Obernese/ jungfrau region of Switzerland. The hotel offers a great value for money especially for a country as expensive as Switzerland. The price also includes breakfast. The place is very walkable from Interlaken West train station (note that when you look at the train timetable..major connections will list Interlaken Ost (East) as a main point, not Interlaken West. The two stations are 5 minutes train ride or 30 mins walk). For us, this wasn't a problem as we have familiarized ourselves with the schedule with the help of the great receptionist so we can manage our logistics. Room was basic...nothing fancy...but they provide suffice amenities, good size and average bedding. The only downside I would say is the noise from other rooms. In general, Switzerland is a super quiet country so any chit chats at night you could hear. Breakfast was ok...with cheese, cold cuts, milk, juices, coffee and fruits to choose from. They also showed the live web cam from Jungfrau everyday so you can decide whether it worths going up the mountain that day or not. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for an active traveller such as myself. If you do look for fancier stuffs where you can wine and dine near town, I would opt for something else in the heart of Interlaken.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PoppyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had a lovely 3 night stay at the Hotel Alphorn at the start of May. Room was spotless clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony. Light and airy during the day and quiet and cosy at night-the bed was so comfortable!
Delicious Swiss breakfast and friendly helpful staff, plus really close to town. Its also the perfect place to chill out with a bottle of wine after a long day on the mountains-and the ladies even provided some wine glasses for us to use in our room. Its the little things like that which make all the difference!
Already planning our return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyce24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alphorn on 14 and 15 April.

Christine is absolutely the best host. She is warm and friendly and always happy to give detailed advise on where to visit. On the first day, she recommended the ferry on lake Thun as a half day tour and we did not regret it at all !!

The rooms were comfortable and clean. In fact, our room had a "small" dining area which was more than I expected out of a B&B. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay in Interlaken West.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterow-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good location is the only pros.
Other cons including Poor quality bed - even worse then youth hotel . The bed has no supporting firmness at all, it makes you even more tired next day.
The ket system is very old style - you need to remember to exchange the room key to front door key - otherwise you will be locked out at night and there is no reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphorn

Property: Hotel Alphorn
Address: Rothornstrasse 29A, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alphorn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alphorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing