We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, highly recommended !”
Review of Hotel Alphorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alphorn
Ranked #2 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, highly recommended !”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alphorn on 14 and 15 April.

Christine is absolutely the best host. She is warm and friendly and always happy to give detailed advise on where to visit. On the first day, she recommended the ferry on lake Thun as a half day tour and we did not regret it at all !!

The rooms were comfortable and clean. In fact, our room had a "small" dining area which was more than I expected out of a B&B. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay in Interlaken West.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterow-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    91
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
61
172
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good location is the only pros.
Other cons including Poor quality bed - even worse then youth hotel . The bed has no supporting firmness at all, it makes you even more tired next day.
The ket system is very old style - you need to remember to exchange the room key to front door key - otherwise you will be locked out at night and there is no reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We enjoyed 5 great days with Christine and her girls. Just the best B & B around - very comfortable room with balcony, great bed (I am 187cm tall) spotlessly clean all round, and an excellent Swiss breakfast included to set you up for a day in the mountains. Purple eggs even plus chocolate! Also excellent local knowledge and advice. All this at a very reasonable tariff. We can highly recommend The Alphorn without hesitation. Thank you Christine and your girls - from 2 traveling Kiwi chocoholics.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WainuiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On short notice my wife and I decided to drive to Switzerland for a weekend visit. This hotel was one of the more reasonably priced places and its hospitality was impressive for the price. We brought our small dog and not only did we find a dog bowl in the room, but there was a dog treat sitting there as well (I should say, our dog was quicker to find it than we were). Anyway, the location is a quick walk (under ten minutes, unless you limp, are on crutches, or just like to stroll) from the Interlaken West train station and shopping areas; had to walk through some residential streets, but it wasn't too difficult or weird. Lastly, if you have any questions, need any additional items, or just want to chat, the staff was more than willing to oblige. I recommend this place highly. One more thing - I got a pet room; it was spacious, had its own driveway, and conveniently has a door for easy access to the outside.

Room Tip: Recommend the pet room - it had its own driveway and door leading outside (for the owner's/pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoCentTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel is 5-8mins walking from Interlaken West train station. On arrival the staff Monica was very cooperative and helpful. The checkin time was 2PM however we reached hotel by 9.45AM. We got the room in half hour thanks to Monica. Also thanks to Monica for the suggestions. The super market is just 2mins walk from hotel. The breakfast was very good and Christine was very attentive to all the guests. The hotel is small and managed by Christine and couple of staff. The staff is not available after 7PM at the reception so if you need anything dont know whom to contact(but we did not face any such problem). The only issue in entire switzerland is of drinking water you need to use tap water from the room itself. We had a pleasant stay in the Hotel. Thank you Christine. Highly recommended budget hotel in Interlaken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriyeshV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The room and location is nice, not too far from Interlaken West train station. Service is not just impressive at all,not well service educated.we are Asian, not well treat. Too expensive for this place and service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anitsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Located on a quiet street not far from Interlaken West train station, this establishment is pleasant and cosy. We stayed in a triple room which was big enough for the 4 of us (2Ad2Ch). The room is simply furnished but comfortable. A simple breakfast was provided for us each morning. An added bonus is definitely the splendid view of mountains we had from our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Absolutred16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphorn

Property: Hotel Alphorn
Address: Rothornstrasse 29A, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alphorn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alphorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing