We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an overpriced town”
Review of Hotel Alphorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alphorn
Ranked #2 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in November and were very happy with it. The owner was extremely helpful with information on the area, train schedules, etc. The breakfast was great too with delicious cheeses and breads and really good coffee! The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the shower pressure was amazing and there is free wifi.
Interlaken itself is incredibly expensive and we never felt that we were getting our money's worth at any of the restaurants nor did any of the hotels look particularly nice for what they were charging. I would give Alphorn five stars if it had been just a little less expensive but considering it was the same price as a four star hotel we stayed at the night before in Nice, I just can't give it a full five! Everything was great though and I would absolutely recommend this to anyone staying in Interlaken!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rlowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 313 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel Alphorn was very enjoyable. The rooms were on the small side, as well as the bathrooms. We did have a problem finding a place to put our luggage as there was not much floor space. We had a small cafe table and 2 chairs in the room which came in handy, although it was a little cramped also. We did not spend much time in the room so it was not that much of an issue for us. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were very nicely decorated. If you are spending more time in your room, I would say they are too small. They had a wonderful breakfast in the morning with a great variety of items. The owner (Christine) was very accommodating and helpful. She was also very friendly and we enjoyed her expertise of the area. The location was very close to the West train station and not terribly far from the Ost (east). We walked from Ost a few times and it was an enjoyable walk taking you down the main street of Interlaken so we were able to shop and see the other larger hotels. Everything was in walking distance to our B&B including restaurants, shops, and transportation. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Switzerland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked online and must have overlooked including a comment that my little girl is joining my hubby and I. When we arrived, Christin literally questioned why we did not inform her of the extra guest. Frankly, I was taken aback and felt like a schoolgirl being reprimanded. But the rest of the stay was fine, so we figure it's just her way of communicating. Anyway nothing is going to spoil our trip to this beautiful town! Christin was hospitable for the rest of our stay, the room was clean and I really like the colors. Bathroom is a little small though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_WPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel B&B for one night in a double room. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated, and the bed was very comfortable with a chocolate on each pillow. The bathroom was small but modern, with bar soaps and shampoo/body wash satchels provided. Breakfast was great as well, with fresh coffee or tea and an assortment of bread, meat, cheese, yoghurt, juice and milk. Great wi-fi signal. Located a 5 minute walk from the Interlaken West rail station, grocery store, shops and restaurants. My only complaint would have to be that the Christmas lights strung around the roof shone through our window blinds and were quite bright, but they shut off sometime around midnight. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thank you Cristin for such a good hospitality!!!
We like your place and recomed it to all out friends.
Room - wide and clean, WIFI - working, Breakfast - very tastful.
Smiles and charm - the best.
TODA RABA!
Dalia and Shlomi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shlomiavidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was in this hotel for two nights, the hotel's location was very good, it is just few min. walking from west station and very close to the super market. the staff was very helpful & friendly (we really liked (christin) & others). Breakfast was with few options but very enough and reasonable. The hotel seems very new or recently refurbished & all the finishing looks new. bathrooms are very tight but clean.

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms, but mine was with good view. The only problem in this hotel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We picked Hotel Alphorn as our base to visit Junfrau. Christine, a local swiss who runs the b&b single handedly with the help of her cleaner was the most lovely host we've met. She has a great sense of humour, 30 years working in Jamaica helps. The room was extremely spacious (we had room 205), bathroom was small but functional, very clean and quiet at night (unless you have noisy neighbors). Its 5 mins from Interlaken west station and the local migros supermarket, 5-10 mins from the main town of Interlaken west. Breakfast was great, fresh bread, juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, fruits, ham, cheese and more. Wifi throughout the hotel. Don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvin_sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#28 of 39 in Interlaken
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 39 in Interlaken
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphorn

Address: Rothornstrasse 29A, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $103 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alphorn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alphorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing