We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B with beautiful views.”
Review of Hotel Brienzersee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Brienzersee
Ranked #3 of 45 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Brienzersee. We took the train here from Zurich via Luzerne. The owners were very nice and friendly. Our room, facing the lake, was nicely updated. We had a balcony to enjoy the beautiful views of the lake. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was small but well appointed. Breakfast was included and it was good. We stayed here as an alternative to staying in Interlaken. Interlaken was very expensive and very touristy. We walked to Interlaken to take the train up to the Jungfraujoch. We didn't go all the way to the top as it was snowing (middle of May). It was raining by the time we got back to Interlaken, so we took the bus back. The bus stop was almost right out front of the hotel. We would happily stay here again. We wish we could have stayed longer. We hope to be back one day to actually see the "top of the world."

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cantwait4mynxttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Brienzersee for 3 nights during our 15 day long Europe holiday. It exactly was as per our expectations for a picturesque and quintessential Swiss village - Serene and Calm. It overlooks the lake brienz and snow capped mountains. You can spend hours sitting in the balcony reading a book or just generally chatting with the friends. It is nestled in a very quiet place and one can also take long and serene walks alongside lake brienz. And despite such a setting you are not too far from the Interlaken city.
Rooms are modern, very clean and have all the facilities. Has a hearty breakfast on offer and a wonderful bar.
The owner Mrs.Sonja is a wonderful lady and very forthcoming to help her guests. The hotel generally has a very warm and a welcoming feel.
Is very close to Ringgenberg Train station and the bus stop that connects to Interlaken OST and Interlaken West. Just 8-10mins in bus and 3mins in the train and you reach Interlaken.
Absolutely recommended for anyone looking for peace of mind and a feel of quintessential Swiss countryside experience.
If I was to visit Interlaken again, will only stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the lake brienz have a wonderful view. Do not miss it for anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kapil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

In its category, this hotel deserves a 10/10. I stayed here for four nights and they were remarkable. Having a big balcony on one of the most breath taking views in Switzerland is more than enough to enjoy every moment in your stay.
The rooms are modern and clean, the breakfast is good and the staff is so helpful and nice. I just wished they had a modern toilet like the room, yet it did not bother me at all. You would need your own transportation if you want to enjoy your time there because it would be difficult without it in such places.
I can’t wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg_ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent three nights at the hotel. First the room - it had recently been updated and was very nice. The bathroom however has not been modernized and was very dated. A large balcony that was very comfortable. Location - you really need a car to get anywhere. There is a bus stop up the street and there is an hourly bus that will take you into Interlaken. You can then take the train into the mountains. We found it easiest just to drive to our hiking destinations and pay for parking as needed. Breakfast - The breakfast was OK but pretty basic as it was cold food only. It was very good but not tremendous given the lack of hot food. The View - this is why one stays at the hotel. FABULOUS! and the reason why we loved the hotel. Large porch up on a hill overlooking one of the world's most beautiful lakes. What is not to like? Hiking in the Alps all day and then watching the sun set from your porch with a nice bottle of wine. While the hotel is pretty basic we recommend it as it is comfortable and one can put up with a dated bathroom given the outstanding views.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have views but the first floor rooms have much larger porches. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irish059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I had a vacation in Swiss with my wife.
I decided to stay at the Brienzersee Hotel based on it's location and other people reports.
It's location is great for traveling in the center and south of Swiss.
And indeed , the hotel was great, all the staff were very polite and helpfull.
I've asked to have a room with Lake View , and I must tell you that it was a great room, the view is breathtaking.
The Hotel's breakfast was also very good , with many things to chhose from.
Over all I really recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel was amazing. The view, the room, the hospitality, the breakfast - can't be beat. The location is 5 mins walk to the train, and is one stop from Interlaken. Just a 5 mins walk away (albeit down a steep hill), you can find a restaurant that has great food including fish from the lake.

Room Tip: Book the lake view - it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janermacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I'm only sorry that I spent only one night at this hotel. Mrs.Sonja, the owner is very nice and friendly.
Everything is as good as it gets. The view, the atmosphere is just perfect. I would truly reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay for a quite weekend.

I would definitely going back here and would like to have the room on the first floor.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderdendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
732 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,251 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
195 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alphorn
Hotel Alphorn
#2 of 45 in Interlaken
314 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chalet Gafri - Hotel and BnB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brienzersee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brienzersee

Address: Beundenstrasse 12, Interlaken 3852, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $149 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brienzersee 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Brienzersee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing