We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hirschen(Grindelwald)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tschuggen(Grindelwald)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lehmann`s Herberge(Grindelwald)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhotel Schoenegg(Grindelwald)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alte Post(Grindelwald)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
16
16
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
16
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin walkrailway stationcable carbreadmigrosapartmentbasementchfbedsbalconygondolacheesefacilitiessaunaview
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 36 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just returned from our annual "pilgrimage" from Grindelwald where we stayed yet again at the Derby Hotel right next to the railway station. From the moment we walk through the door we are made to feel welcome like long lost relatives., our room was spotless the food up to its usual wonderful standard and the staff all so friendly and professional. Having stayed at countless hotels and establishments around europe I would have to put this hotel in one of the top on my list. looking forward to next year now.,

Room Tip: suggest an up grade to one of the junior suites and if possible ask to face the Eiger that way you will have stunning views to wake up to and go to bed with.,
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan7228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

More a Swiss chalet than a full service hotel in that you should not expect any transport to/from the train station or expect any other type of hotel services. However, it's just 5 mins by bus or taxi from the Grindelwald station and very centrally located on the main road meaning it is easy to lumber up to once you get off the bus. Upon arrival you are required to pick up a phone and state your name and a member of the staff will come down to give you the key to your room. The rooms are simple but tasteful and kept very clean everyday. Amenities are bare so you should bring your own toiletries or purchase them from the nearby Co-op. Everything in the room works as expected and the beds are very comfortable. An adjustable radiator in the room keeps things warm during the winter.

Once you drop your luggage off in your room you can than easily walk to and from the train station and bus station, even in ski boots and skis slung over your shoulder. However, during winter time the roads and pavements are very slippery meaning extreme care should be taken when in ski boots.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritinBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ideally located on the main street, 5 minute walk from the railway station.Spacious family rooms with large bathrooms, clean to the core. since we stayed in november first week which was start of off-season, luxury of free of charge sauna was offered with attached fitness centre.A cosy restaurant where buffet breakfast comprised of a spread of cereals, fruits, breads, fruit juices, beverages,cheese and butter and scrambled eggs were offered since we were not pork eaters.The best part was waking up to a awesome view of the eiger, monch and jyungfrau mountains from the balcony and from the huge windows right in bed!!Balconies were big with a table laid out for us to spend our evenings since all shopping closes by 7pm SHARP( thats swiss precision).We were also offered free city travel coupons .All together , a memorable and homely experience .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umm-zainab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

What a superb apartment. It was spotlessly clean and very spacious. We were travelling as a family of five (3 teenagers). It is a two level apartment with two of the bedrooms upstairs. Beds are very comfortable, kitchen is great and the bathroom large and modern with a lovely corner spa bath. The view from the balcony is simply unbelievable. Stunning mountain views of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau We had to pinch ourselves. Breakfast was a lovely array of breads, rolls, pastries, cereals, eggs, bacon, cold meats and fruit salad. The only downside to the apartment was there was no washing machine or internet connection. Who would stay in Interlaken when you can make your base in such a breathtaking little town such as Grindelwald. We agonised before we left on where to make our base. Grindelwald was perfect. It is the best location to access the cable car to go up to First and to get the train to Kleine Scheidegg for connecting train up to the Jungfrau. It is also a short walk to the cable car to go up to Maennlichen ( for a very scenic walk to Kleine Scheidegg). I read a review before I left that said the hike from First to Bachalpsee Lake was "most scenic hike of our lives". I would totally agree. The scenery was just gorgeous. We had a beautiful meal at Onkel Tom's Hutte, which is a few minutes walk from the apartment. Delicious pizzas here. I suggest arriving early - 5.30pm to get a table as they don't take bookings. I look forward to returning one day to Grindelwalderhof and staying in these tremendous apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whippetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and it was very good. Very clean and comfortable. We had a good time . They served breakfast in the morning and it was good and had variety. It is 5 mins walk from the train station. The service is good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuradha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews