We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cosy retreat nestled amongst swiss alps” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grindelwalderhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cosy retreat nestled amongst swiss alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ideally located on the main street, 5 minute walk from the railway station.Spacious family rooms with large bathrooms, clean to the core. since we stayed in november first week which was start of off-season, luxury of free of charge sauna was offered with attached fitness centre.A cosy restaurant where buffet breakfast comprised of a spread of cereals, fruits, breads, fruit juices, beverages,cheese and butter and scrambled eggs were offered since we were not pork eaters.The best part was waking up to a awesome view of the eiger, monch and jyungfrau mountains from the balcony and from the huge windows right in bed!!Balconies were big with a table laid out for us to spend our evenings since all shopping closes by 7pm SHARP( thats swiss precision).We were also offered free city travel coupons .All together , a memorable and homely experience .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umm-zainab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

What a superb apartment. It was spotlessly clean and very spacious. We were travelling as a family of five (3 teenagers). It is a two level apartment with two of the bedrooms upstairs. Beds are very comfortable, kitchen is great and the bathroom large and modern with a lovely corner spa bath. The view from the balcony is simply unbelievable. Stunning mountain views of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau We had to pinch ourselves. Breakfast was a lovely array of breads, rolls, pastries, cereals, eggs, bacon, cold meats and fruit salad. The only downside to the apartment was there was no washing machine or internet connection. Who would stay in Interlaken when you can make your base in such a breathtaking little town such as Grindelwald. We agonised before we left on where to make our base. Grindelwald was perfect. It is the best location to access the cable car to go up to First and to get the train to Kleine Scheidegg for connecting train up to the Jungfrau. It is also a short walk to the cable car to go up to Maennlichen ( for a very scenic walk to Kleine Scheidegg). I read a review before I left that said the hike from First to Bachalpsee Lake was "most scenic hike of our lives". I would totally agree. The scenery was just gorgeous. We had a beautiful meal at Onkel Tom's Hutte, which is a few minutes walk from the apartment. Delicious pizzas here. I suggest arriving early - 5.30pm to get a table as they don't take bookings. I look forward to returning one day to Grindelwalderhof and staying in these tremendous apartments.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whippetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and it was very good. Very clean and comfortable. We had a good time . They served breakfast in the morning and it was good and had variety. It is 5 mins walk from the train station. The service is good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anuradha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed three nights at this charming hotel in Grindelwald. My wife, daughter and me were traveling with another couple with a child, and had booked two double bedrooms but on arrival the lovely lady at the desk upgraded us to really large and spacious family rooms with fantastic views of the Eiger. The kids were thrilled and spent most of the time running between the two rooms. I am sorry to have forgotten the lady’s name, but she was an extremely gracious hostess and made our stay very memorable. The rooms were cozy and were done in traditional Swiss décor, fully carpeted floors and big balconies. Even the breakfast was sumptuous and most elaborate than any other hotel we stayed in Switzerland. Freshly baked croissants, breads, eggs, bacon, many varieties of cheese, flavours of yogurt, i was surprised to see fresh fruits and cut and laid, cold and hot milk with different cereals and even cold cuts. We had a feast. On our second day, which was a Sunday, it snowed and we stayed in the hotel, just watching the snow flakes covering the Eiger and sipping hot coffee. There is a small Chinese restaurant right next to this hotel, in the basement. The food was absolutely one of the best I’ve ever eaten. We did Jungfrajoch, stopping on the way back at Wengen where we had excellent dinner. Another day we went to Spiez where we took a boat ride and latter half we spent in Bern. The hotel being right in the village centre, walking distance from the train station as well as the Gondola, made our commute very easy especially as we had small kids with us.

  • Liked — everything from location, price, quality of accommodation and of course service
  • Disliked — nothing to crib about
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grindelwalderhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grindelwalderhof

Property: Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Address: Dorfstrasse 155, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grindelwalderhof 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grindelwalderhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing