We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular tranquillity”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Bargarve

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
craigsJ43...
Hampton East
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular tranquillity”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Peaceful characteristic Swiss chalet on on the slopes of an Alpine mountain directly opposite the Eiger.
Cow bells and nothing else to hear.
Warm, comfortable, clean and all the convenience one might need - minus good showering facilities - important for some but not really for us.
A fabulous walk down the valley slopes to the little town of Grindelwald (about 10 mins) but more demanding on the way back - great after sitting in a restaurant though. Super restaurant 2 mins walk away in Hotel Bodmi, and our host Ursula and Peter, we're just attentive and careful enough for our taste.
Highly recommend the Chalet Baergarve

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M
1 review
“Fantastic location with great views”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Hosts welcoming to their chalet accommodation. Great location, above Gringelwald (apx 10 min walk down to the high street). Fantastic panoramic views directly from the chalet of the surrounding mountains, including the Eiger and the glaciers(s). Lots to do locally and with nearby lakes of Thun and Brienz provided us with a very active 2 weeks. We also took our bikes to use in the region and these were happily accommodated in the garage by the hosts Bus route runs on same road as chalet so easy to use.

Great holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L
1 review
“Bargrave beauty”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful time. The setting is divine and majestic, weather notwithstanding, and the chalet was comfortable, homely and snug. Our hosts were helpful and welcoming and everything was clean and worked perfectly. We'd love to come back and we recommend this place to anyone thinking of exploring Switzerland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen G
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in this chalet. It was exceptionally clean and well equipped. Ursula and Peter made us very welcome, and we enjoyed the welcome gifts. We loved the view from the chalet, and it was nice to be slightly away from centre of the town because it was so peaceful up there. I would recommend this to anyone, it is very spacious for a family of 4.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuiltingJ...
Wetherby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great apartment, would love to repeat the stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, helped by Ursula and Peter. The rental has a very good view of the valley and the Eiger.
We had arrived by train, therefore were reliant on local transport, which we thought was excellent. Very enjoyable walks down into Grindelwald, and then using the (free with guest card) local buses to explore more of the valley. The local buses would then return us (free) to the apartment.
The apartment had everything we needed for our holiday, including a small area for sitting out and taking in the view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary...
Mylor, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A clean, omfortable apartment with amazing views.”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ursula and Peter made us very welcome, leaving a "welcome basket" of bread, cheese, wine and yummy nuts, also bringing a bottle of white wine to accompany our fondue. This apartment is in an ideal position, has parking, on the bus route, and has amazing views of the Eiger. Great to sit and watch paragliders landing in the field opposite. On our arrival the apartment was spotlessly clean, and very well equipped with everything one could need. The only thing missing is a microwave, but with hotplates, oven, coffee machine, fondue set, dishwasher, access to washing machine and drier, one could hardly complain. Ideal for a family of 4, or 2 couples.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuanchil
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very good! Find everything we need during our stay! This house is very nice with wonderful view of Mt. Eiger, and the hosts are very friendly! Thanks to Ursula and Peter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Hello Lin,

Thank you for the review. Look forward to having fun with us.

Ursula and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing