We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Very good place to visit near Interlaken

You need to take cable ride to reach the top. Beautiful view of snow capped mountains and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Suhasgsv
,
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Good start point for hiking

There is a restaurant and more important great place for kids. Therefore if you have kids, make... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Andrew Z
,
New York
Read all 492 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Grindelwald
from $578.50
More Info
from $61.10
More Info
from $19.30
More Info
from $1,273.00
More Info
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
222
63
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
63
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kleine scheidegg cable car lauterbrunnen valley royal walk playground for kids stunning views highest point minute ride mountain train jungfraubahn pass every direction catch the train viewing area takes about minutes easy walk cows grazing start point
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You need to take cable ride to reach the top. Beautiful view of snow capped mountains and surrounding area.

Thank Suhasgsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is a restaurant and more important great place for kids. Therefore if you have kids, make sure you add another hour for your trip. Well design play-area even for younger teens. Better than being on a smart phone. There is a terrace for parents to spend few minutes “without kids”. I recommend walking uphill to Mannlichen Gipfel summit (~ 2300 m) for wonderful panoramic view. Make sure you say “hello” to many cows. Good start point for hiking down to Kleine Scheidegg.

Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to do the Eger trail but our hotel owner recommended us to do the Maennlichen to KS trail first as Eger trail ia only done after 12 PM as you get the sun in the afternoon.
We took a cable from Grindelwald to Maennlichen and then started the hike which is very easy and not at all steep. People of all ages and physical shape can so it. Its a walk for around 90 minutes with some of the best views you can hope for.

There are benches on the way to take rest or photo opportunities.

1  Thank dipin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Take the cable car from Wengen to Maennlichen. Start a walk from Maennlichen to Kleine Scheidegg enjoying beautiful views of the snow mountains all the way.

Can do this within about 3 hours. Highly recommended !

1  Thank king50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

I went up both sides from Grindelwald (in cable cars) and from Wengen (in Gondola). Playground for kids and many different views. There is also a nice walk to Kleine Scheidegg with even better views.

Thank clarksm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Lauterbrunnen on our first day in Switzerland and stayed for three days- I could have stayed there for the full two weeks if our trip. The village and valley are beautiful, the ground is farmed in the old, traditional ways, I talked to a local architect in Wengen who told me the villagers voted- no new buildings could be built in their community going forward. They are serious about holding onto the old ways!

1  Thank owscanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

It’s nice place, few things you can do, some play yard, cart ( only summer up to 16/ sep) and special sport.
It cost around 60 SF per adult

Thank albreiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

If you are a walker this is an relatively easy hike of 3 1/2 to 4 miles. Can be done in a couple of hours including time to admire the scenery, photos and explorations. Take the cable car from Wengen to the top and off you go. There are services available at both the start and finish of the hike, as well as a train back to Lauterbrunnen once you reach the end (either Kleine Scheidegg or Wengen)

1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We took the gondola from Wengen to Maennlichen and hiked down to Grindelwald. The scenery is out of this world. You are surrounded by mountains, the cows are making music with their bells while grazing, marmots peek out from holes or scurry over hills. The trail is well marked and easy to follow. You just have to remember to watch your feet because you cannot stop looking at the surrounding mountains and farms. Spectacular.

1  Thank EHFSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

After a week of hiking the Jungfrau and Lauterbrunnen valley and other surrounding areas, we took the Maennlichen gondola from Wengen and hiked the Royal Path to Kleine Scheidegg and trained back down to Lauterbrunnen to depart the mountains. It was a sunny warm day. We had cake and coffee at the top of the Maennlichen gondola and slowly strolled the path to Kleine Scheidegg. The path is in excellent condition and wide, easy for children and older adults of limited mobility. The views of all our hiking adventures were visible and it was a fantastic swan song salute to a great week of hiking. The mostly sunny weather in September helped a lot and we were grateful for that luck.

Thank shawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews