We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lehmans Herberge should be avoided at any cost”
Review of Lehmann`s Herberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lehmann`s Herberge
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Hendrik ido Ambacht
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lehmans Herberge should be avoided at any cost”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

we planned to stay in this little hotel hotel with the well known ill-tempered owner, but after seeing this miserable room for 160 francs a night we got away as quickly as we could. I only have one advice: stay away from this overpriced dump-place and save some extra money for a real hotel! Anwyway, on the last day of 2006 we found a lovely room just across the street at the Steinbock hotel.
o, Lehmans, what a terrible place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taams020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

If you are by yourself, this place cannot be be beaten. The location is in the center of town. The view from the balcony is of the Eiger, The breakfast was superb - as soon as the best cheese was consumed, Frau Lehman brought more, The coffee was fresh, The food was unlimited. The noise ordinance at 2200 hrs was enforced! So you get some sleep. Until their kid starts running around at 0600. And there was adequate parking - 6 spaces for 6 rooms. Now, you do have to drive down a 20% grade with a 2 meter gap between walls to get to it, but my rented Citroen C5 (European Full Size) had at least 1 cm to spare on either side. If your car is too wide, there is a municiple garage a few hundred meters away for CHF18 per 24 hrs.

The bad thing, and this is because Switzerland is just a huge rip off when it comes to fleecing tourists, is that the rooms are tiny, by US standards, We had the family room, about 11ft by 8 ft for 4 people. Hence my opening comment that it is great to be by yourself. However, at 1/3 the price of the average hotel in Grindlewald, if you must visit the town, you will not beat Lehmans. You can walk to both train stations, the Glacier, the falls, the church, and the gondola all from the inn, so you won't need a car once you get here.

It was funky and beat my expectations, but I will not be back to Switzerland. I live in Colorado, and our mountains are more spectacular, our food better, free drinking water with dinner, rather than the EUR8 per bottle because thy won't give you tap in the restaurants, and our cost of living 75% lower than Switzerland. I own and rent to guests a 150 sq meter 3 bedroom condo at Keystone for a week for what I paid for a 10 sq meter room at Lehman's for 3 days! So all you world travelers who have been intoxicated by those pristine pictures of Switzerland, come to Colorado instead. I'll give you some tips on where to go if you email me at wtrav@earthlink.net

And if you go to Lehman's, take your binoculars to watch the climbers on the Eiger!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LordBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I had the pleasure of spending 10 days at Lehmanns and can say that it was delightful in every respect. True my room was basic but what I expected for $42.00 per night. The breakfast was excellent and the company(fellow guests) of very high quality. The atmosphere was warm and always friendly. Franzi was so nice and Marco was always good company. Their 2 children added to a very satisfying stay for me.

Douglas Mathieson, Boca Rtaon Fl.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank douglasgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I spent 6 nights in this hotel and it was an extraordinary experience. My room cost 31€ per night which is incredible considering its location. The views of the Eiger are awesome. The cleanliness is remarkable: they clean the room and change the towels every day. Every little corner of this hotel has a pretty detail. I think it must be the hand of Franzi, the owner. She is so sweet and kind, and always willing to help.

You can use a dining-room for your meals if you want and you can make use of a refrigerator, an electric oven, a microwave oven, all the dishes and silverware. And they wash it all for you! They also provide you with sugar, powder milk, coffe and all kinds of tea bags. Amazing!

My room was all made of wood and it feels so warm and snug. I loved it. Most of the hotel is made of wood. Large windows, balconies and light everywhere.

The breakfast is included in the price and I found it excellent and varied.
You have bars, restaurants, stores, supermarkets and railway station at one step.

It's not a luxury hotel but it's so pretty and cozy that if I return to Grindelwald I will repeat my stay there.

It's true that in winter you can have trouble with the driveway and you should park anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josepito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed there for 2 days and it was comfortable, quiet and clean. We had a nice balcony and a kitchen for a very reasonable price. Good breakfast plus one morning, we were leaving very early and they made us a lunch to go, Awesome!!!
Well located in the middle of the village. Free parking; as long as you know how to drive… Thank Marco and Franzie.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpaking_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torres Vedras, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

This is really what you need if you have a limited budget or want to pay the right price for a decent accommodation. This is my fifth time in Grindelwald (not in this hotel) and also my fifth time with limited budget . This is a peaceful hotel and is located in the central area of Grindelwald you couldn't find best place to stay for this price. Supermarket at 200m, bus stop for skibus 75m, main train station 350m, sport center 200m, Bars and discos at 20m, the best in town. This is a family hotel and if you're looking for hotel for apres ski or party just forget it, after 22h silence is mandatory. If you are with family or friends for sports (ski, hiking, etc...) and like to rest then I recommend this hotel. The rate was 50 Swiss francs (aprox. 35€) per night/person breakfast included, very good price! Don't expect so much services (No TV on the rooms, for me is great !!!). Mountain view from the room, room with balcony, adequate room temperature, clean room (room is cleaned every day). A ski room is available (overnight room for ski and snowboards). Just a negative point if you're going by car and if the road has ice it would difficult to remove the car. But to solve this issue a covered parking place is available in the sport center (200m), I don't remeber the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kantakye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I really liked this B & B right in the centre of town next to all the good restaurants and bars. It is basic but with friendly owners who let me use their iron and ironing board in their living room because I was going to a wedding! The breakfast was a bit dissapointing but still, a lot to eat. This place is so cheap and a bargain for the location it is in. Lovely views of the Alps in front of the typical chalet like house.

  • Liked — The location & views
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast - small room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermaid_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bel Air Eden
Bel Air Eden
#21 of 41 in Grindelwald
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#28 of 41 in Grindelwald
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellary
Hotel Bellary
#30 of 41 in Grindelwald
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lehmann`s Herberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lehmann`s Herberge

Property: Lehmann`s Herberge
Address: Ahornengaessli 2, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Lehmann`s Herberge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lehmann`s Herberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lehmann s Herberge Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing