We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Lehmann`s Herberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lehmann`s Herberge
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Skipton
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A lovely, comfortable auberge in the heart of Grindelwald with stunning mountain views. Four of us shared a comfortable, adequately sized bunkroom with en-suite shower room. The breakfasts are fantastic with fresh, locally sourced produce. Hosts, Franzie and Marco, are very friendly and welcoming and are more than willing to be helpful. This was our second stay here and hopefully will not be our last. Barbara and friends, UK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
32
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Lehmanns with our 2 kids (4/6 years) for a short week-end in August. Location is nice and our room had a nice view to the Eiger. The rooms are pretty basic but at the relatively modest price (attention we are speaking of Switzerland) for this very touristic place it is a good deal. Breakfast was excellent and the couple of owners was helpful to suggest hiking tours adapted for our kids (don4t miss the playground at Bort - middle station of First-Bahn).

Room Tip: parking is for free, but be aware that access is narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolcatbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

It was a pleasure staying here and felt like a home from home. Whilst you share bathrooms, the welcome you get and advice for things to do was great. Bedrooms were relatively small but had everything you needed. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and overall very good value for money. Try and get one of the rooms at the front to take advantage of the views of the Eiger. Stunning

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tangybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were immediately greeted with a warm welcome after a long day of hiking, and shown to our room which was relatively small, but quite cute with a great view. The beds were not together, but the room was appropriately sized for two people. Though the bathrooms were shared, there was always one available for us. The owners were very helpful when we asked about places to eat and shop around town. It was also in quite a convenient location to the train station and the center of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely place, lovely family who look after it, Marco, Franzi and kids -they feel more like your grindelwald family with mum and dad always there (or friends depending on age). Always ready to help out with any questions or just for a chat. Breakfasts each morning are great, just what you need to fuel for a day exploring the mountains. Rooms for 6 are quite squishy, though it's fine because most of your day is spent out doors, only there to sleep and shower. The rooms we stayed in ha mountain views too! Overall, really charming place, what you'd expect a Swiss home to be like.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pampampammieful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Although it's essentially a hostel, us two weary climbers found this place to be an excellent place to unwind and use as a base in Grindelwald. It's got to be about 3 mins from the main train and bus station, right over the road from all the main shops etc. They have a small terrace looking out onto the North Wall of the Eiger - it's spectacular. You couldn't ask for a better location.

The breakfast buffet is much better than anything you'd get in a standard hotel. Same stuff, but fresh and tasty! Staying here is also very, very cheap by Grindelwald standards.

You won't get luxuries, or even your own bathroom, but the place is quiet, clean and cosy. The best part is the owners - two of the most friendly, welcoming people I've ever had the pleasure to meet and lovely children.

Next time I go back to Grindelwald, I'm not even going to bother looking around - I'm staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in Lehmann's Herberge during New Years Eve 2012/13 for four nights.

The couple who is ruling the guesthouse is very nice, helpful and their service is excellent. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is good. The location is very central but quite. The room we had has a floor toilet, but we didn't mind this at all.

Overall you get a good accommodation for a good price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bel Air Eden
Bel Air Eden
#21 of 41 in Grindelwald
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#27 of 41 in Grindelwald
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#24 of 41 in Grindelwald
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
#25 of 41 in Grindelwald
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lehmann`s Herberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lehmann`s Herberge

Property: Lehmann`s Herberge
Address: Ahornengaessli 2, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Lehmann`s Herberge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lehmann`s Herberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lehmann s Herberge Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing