We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Wonderful. Perfect. Exceeded every expectation.”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We are just back from 5 fabulous nights at the Caprice hotel. I can’t say enough about it. It was the perfect stay for the perfect holiday.

The hosts – gracious, courteous, always asking about our day, asking if you needed help, they looked happy to have you there. They spoke perfect English. So polite - they shook my husband's hand when we checked out. They even left a personalized note in our room upon arrival.

Convenience – 2 minute walk down to the train station. Now, don’t let that proximity scare you away. It was convenient but still quiet. The trains themselves are quiet, so you don’t hear them coming up the track in the morning. It was a 3 minute walk to the town as well. You do have to climb a slight hill which takes 2 minutes to get to the hotel, but this was never a problem for us. And having the hotel setup a bit from the street made it that much more cozier.

Our Room – we booked at the last minute and all that was left was a junior suite. The suite was just gorgeous. It had that “Swiss Alpine” feel to it, yet was modern with a large flat screen tv, separate bath tub, rain shower head, fantastic lighting, 2 closets, small refrigerator, and cubbies for storing things. There was even a small and separate room for a child to sleep or someone to take a nap. Being a corner room, there was lot of light (which you could block out with the curtains) and a gorgeous breeze.

The Views – Fantastic. Gorgeous. Perfect view from our balcony.

Food – again it was phenomenal and exceeded our expectations. We only had dinner in the hotel 1 night because we’d be out hiking all day and were never sure if we could make it back to the hotel, shower and be down to dinner at 7pm. The one dinner we had was delicious. They also had a fantastic wine selection. Breakfast was just as nice – hard-boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, cereal, fruits, variety of fresh baked breads, yogurt, etc. The views from the restaurant are fantastic as well and to be fair to all guests, they rotate who gets the window seats each day. You can sit in the lobby and have a drink or two in the evening as well.

Train tickets –they sell them there at the hotel which was so convenient (we had the Swiss half pass) and such a time saver. They were able to advise on the best way to get to our destinations.

Spa – sauna and steam room were great a way to unwind in the evening and relax our tired muscles. We tried the hot tub as well but it wasn’t very hot, even though we had reserved it. There was a stepper and stationer bike for those that wanted to work out.

And that would be our only real complaint - hot tub wasn’t hot and the shower in our room was temperamental in that it would be cold one second, warm the next, cold, and then hot. It was bearable and because everything else was so perfect, it didn’t bother us too much.

One final note about Grindelwald – we found it to be the perfect base for our holiday. It allowed for easy access to the trains and gondolas. So because we spent less time getting to the start of the trails, we had more time for hiking. After being out hiking all day, we enjoyed coming back into Grindelwald, seeing people walking around, having a choice of restaurants, a choice of bars and being able to window shop and soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ljanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Caprice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

Although the public areas were nice and the staff friendly our room was stuck in a terrible 70's timewarp. The room was a decent size but the bathroom had to be seen to believed! If it was 6ft by 6ft then that was all it was and the paint really needed redoing. One question I have is just how much would it have cost to have a white toilet seat instead of the grotty one that was there.

I don't like having sinks in the bedroom - there is something really tacky about that. The counters round the sink have certainly seen much better days - definitely haven't been replaced since at least the early 70's. I don't like having my toothbrush in my glass at the sink but every day there it was - YUK!!!

My main problem however was the cleanlieness of our room. One day we came back after a long day and the sinks were dirty and the floor hadn't been vacuumed. We decided not to make a fuss but when the next day the room still hadn't been cleaned - the sinks were filthy and there were crumbs all over the floor I really felt that I had to say something to Alex. It was cleaned after I spoke to him but with the price that we were paying why should I have had to ask for our room to ble cleaned?????

The evening meal option was a good deal but very repetitive and the breakfasts limited for my tastes.

We stayed in several hotels during our trip to Switzerland and this one was the most expensive and by far the worst that we stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hbsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I just spent a wonderful eight nights at this jewel of place right in the center of Grindelwald (just up the hill from the train station). It is a chalet that has been converted into a hotel. The charm of the chalet is maintained while having all the modern amenities. It is owned and run by a very hospitable young couple, Alex and Regula, who take real care of their guests. The rooms are quite comfortable (good mattress, duvet, mini-bar, bath tub and shower) and clean and most open out to either a balcony or a grassy veranda with an open view right up to the Eiger. The real clincher is the excellent food that is served daily by their chef Michael (who has been cooking there for 25 years- Alex's parents ran the Caprice before). I took the half board and the dinners were wonderfully varied and perfectly prepared and presented. Something delightful and different every evening I was there. The breakfast buffet had everything I could want from fruit, nuts, and grains to cheeses, fresh breads and hard boiled eggs. I wholeheartedly recommend the Caprice with out any hesitation if you like the ambiance and personal attention of smaller family run hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james_cerruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Excellent basis for hiking in the swiss alps - in the shadow of the North face of the Eiger and the Jungfrau

Friendly family run hotel -- large comfortable rooms - spotlessly clean - magnficent view from room

Excellent spa - with sauna and Turkish Bath turn on on demand

Full board option was however interesting - good value - 5 courses for CHF20 - but cooking was mediocre - and we only opted for this one night

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sloane_rangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Though indeed steps from the rail station, Hotel Caprice is up the hill with commanding views of the Eiger and Wetterhorn, quiet and central. In this case close to the rail station means utmost convenience instead of to-be-avoided boonie-ville.

A former private chalet, the hotel has been run by the same family, and is about to change hands to the younger generation next year. The staff is friendly, ready to help with advice, tickets, maps, and guests who book a room with breakfast get a significant discount on dinners at the hotel restaurant.

One thing to note is that the price is per person, not per night, and it's not cheap. For this you get comfortable beds and down comforters, roomy rooms with private balcony, some toiletries (though no shampoo/conditioner), chocolates on your pillow, and a good breakfast spread in the window filled restaurant facing the Eiger.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayfinderHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Very efficiently run small hotel located away from the main street but very close to the railway station. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and their set menu was good value but you must be there at 7pm. Breakfast is one of the best we had - don't forget to look at the boiled egg machine, Swiss engineering at it best.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This is one of the greatest properties in Grindelwald. The rooms are nice, the food is delicious and the breakfast buffett is abundant. The views from the rooms and the breakfast area are spectacular. The owners are present daily and greet you whenever they see you. They have a small Swiss pub in the basement that is really fun to have a drink in, full of history. Also they have a sauna that is very nice as well. Dinner can be included in the price of the room and is top notch. Overall this is a hidden gem in Grindelwald and a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vallartatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Address: Kreuzweg 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#17 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $193 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caprice 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Caprice in Grindelwald! Small but beautiful and lovely to the smallest detail. So the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald invites you in its third generation, to stay in one of the 24 cozy single-, double-, or superior-rooms and two apartments. The hotel is centrally located but very quiet. You will reach in a 2 - 3 minute walk the train station, the village center can be reached in about 4-5 minutes. The bus stop from where you can go for free by the local ski bus to all cable cars (Grindelwald-First, Pfingsteggbahn, Maennlichenbahn), is also 2-3 minutes away by foot from the hotel. From the same location, three different mountain bus lines drive to Bussalp (Summer & Winter), to Waldspitz (summer) and the Grosse Scheidegg (summer). Wellness oasis with whirlpool, Finnish sauna and Turkish steam bath After an eventful day, we welcome you in our wellness oasis, where you can give your body the necessary relaxation in the bubbling Wetterhorn whirlpool. Subsequently, recharge your batteries in the Finnish Block sauna, our Turkish steam bath or the infrared cabin Physiotherm or enjoy a wonderful massage. The Hotel Caprice will be your cozy home for a relaxing and restful holiday stay in the middle of Grindelwald. You can take benefit from various advantages at the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald: - Central and quiet Location - Unique view of the world-famous Eiger North Face - Personal service from your host family Regula & Alexander Glarner - Suggestions for your individual hiking tours and excursions - We know the most beautiful ski slopes of the Jungfrau Region - We know the longest sledge run in Europe - Complimentary guest trips with your host Alexander Glarner (snowshoeing in winter and hiking in summer) - Do you prefer a sunrise excursion to the best photo spot - or should it be a full moon walk at 1900 meters above sea level? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing