We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay at the Hotel Caprice”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at the Hotel Caprice”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I like to try to visit Grindelwald every 2-3 years, and when we do, we always stay at the Hotel Caprice. The reason for this is that it is very charming, and the owners are very hospitable. Also, the hotel is centrally located, so you can park your car, get a pass for the trains and busses, walk down the hill and you never need your car again...until you leave. The owners can provide you with everything from the passes to tours, to ideas for activities and Alex, is always full of ideas. The hotel seems pricey, at first glance, but it really is a good value. Everything is Switzerland can be expensive, so when you get your room and it includes breakfast and dinner, there is a HUGE savings in the amount of money you actually save... Plus the food is great! Breakfast has plenty of options, from meats to eggs, to juice and cheese, fresh baked bread and pate. Dinners are 5 course meals. The restaurant features Swiss wines, that are delicious. This year we stayed in the Residence part of the hotel, and all I can say is OMG. Hard wood floors, a beautiful spacious bedroom, a large living room, and a fantastic bathroom, that even had a washer and dryer. They offer this room with bed, breakfast and dinner or without, but I recommend getting the whole package as you will save a lot of money and enjoy gourmet dinners every night. My parents stayed in the Chalet part of the Hotel, and their room was fantastic as well. All of the rooms have views of the Alps, and there is nothing better than waking up and going to sleep looking at trains and gondolas going up and down the beautiful mountains... I reviewed this hotel years back, and I am glad to say that they have maintained if not even improved from the last time we stayed here. You will not be disappointed with your stay... No matter if it is summer or winter... The owners, Alex and Regula are there for your every whim, from greeting you at breakfast to help planning your day... and dont forget to get a nightcap or a bottle of wine after dinner in the lobby bar.... Ask for the Pepita Special... you can get your drink and take it into the garden to enjoy the evening and look at the alps.... This is a no brainer... a fantastic hotel... and it will make your trip if you stay at the Hotel Caprice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    40
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
39
73
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Caprice for 7 nights in late May and early June. I cannot sing their praises highly enough. The hotel is right smack in front of the north face of the Eiger. We had a room with a balcony that looked right on the mountain. It was just breathtaking. What was most essential about our stay was the advice that the hotel owners gave to us. This trip was a dream come true for me, and I wanted to see as much as I possibly could. Alexander, one of the two owners, gave us excellent advice throughout on how to make the most of our time. For example, on the first day he suggested a hike and two gondola rides that helped to orient us with their panoramic views. From there, we went to more specific places. He told us the best times of day to go to certain areas, what was well worth the cost versus what was redundancy, and the best hikes for all levels. Rather than suggest the more difficult hikes to start with, he got us started on easier hikes and then we worked our way up. I believe that Alexander has lived there all of his life, and his insights made the trip the best that it could possibly be. We hope to go back to Switzerland some day, and we will definitely go to Grindelwald again and stay with the Glarner's when we do. The entire staff was very accommodating and extremely pleasant. We felt very comfortable there. Our room was spacious. Alexander offered to make sandwiches/a picnic breakfast for us one morning so that we could get to our destination before the crowds descended. It is that kind of individual attention that you will get at Caprice. The room and meals were very reasonably priced. We both thought that the food was great. Dinner is a 5 course meal (authentic German/Swiss cuisine) for 39.5 CHF (I believe). It is an elegant dining room, but not stuffy. You can choose from 2 entrees. I tried things that I might not have otherwise tried and liked them. Breakfast is several levels above standard contintental fare. I ate more than I normally would because it was all just so good. The rooms are spacious with several sitting rooms in the inn and a lovely spa. I would say that the two best things about the inn are: 1) the helpfulness and accommodations of the owners and 2) the locale. The inn is right across from the train station and up on a hill. Definitely get the Eiger room for the best view of the mountain.

Room Tip: Get the Eiger room and full board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

One of the prettiest and coziest hotels I have stayed in. Very romantic and fantastic view of the Eiger and the Grindelwald village. Since we were there in the off peak season so there was no else in the hotel apart from us. We reached the hotel late in the night and the next morning the owner was himself waiting on us at the breakfast table. The breakfast was pretty spread out and lot of options. The only bit is that the hotel is quite pricey at 280 CHF for a double room for a night

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivkv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We've stayed in wonderful Grindelwald twice before and this time decided on Caprice for its chalet feel and the previous tripadvisor reports. On top of all the past positive feedback it is worth mentioning that every one of our 10 days came with a pleasant surprise and exceeded expectations. From good food, real attention to detail, it's cleanliness and variety as our the days passed, to really warm hospitality from Alex and Regula. Surprises included Alex's organised sledging and snow shoe walks, The "full of heritage" cellar bar. The seating by the fire with good light to read by ... and many more. The New Years eve dinner and New Years day Swiss Night were particularly memorable - marvelous fun.

The location is properly ideal and we had great views from our rooms. We stayed "4 star previously" Caprice rates as 3* but when you get a 5* level of service in a smaller place with genuine warmth, you know you have found somewhere a bit special. we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Thanks to Alex and Regula for a great stay in Grindelwald. Best location in town, close to the train station and the shops, all is in walking distance. Nice rooms, great view and an amazing farmer breakfast buffet, which you won't expect. It's a small cozy place, family run and well looked after. Tips: You need to go for half-board, nowhere else you can get such a delicious 5 course dinner with great value and view to the Eiger. We will be back, next time even longer. Greetings to Michael as well...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smillingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We are just back from 5 fabulous nights at the Caprice hotel. I can’t say enough about it. It was the perfect stay for the perfect holiday.

The hosts – gracious, courteous, always asking about our day, asking if you needed help, they looked happy to have you there. They spoke perfect English. So polite - they shook my husband's hand when we checked out. They even left a personalized note in our room upon arrival.

Convenience – 2 minute walk down to the train station. Now, don’t let that proximity scare you away. It was convenient but still quiet. The trains themselves are quiet, so you don’t hear them coming up the track in the morning. It was a 3 minute walk to the town as well. You do have to climb a slight hill which takes 2 minutes to get to the hotel, but this was never a problem for us. And having the hotel setup a bit from the street made it that much more cozier.

Our Room – we booked at the last minute and all that was left was a junior suite. The suite was just gorgeous. It had that “Swiss Alpine” feel to it, yet was modern with a large flat screen tv, separate bath tub, rain shower head, fantastic lighting, 2 closets, small refrigerator, and cubbies for storing things. There was even a small and separate room for a child to sleep or someone to take a nap. Being a corner room, there was lot of light (which you could block out with the curtains) and a gorgeous breeze.

The Views – Fantastic. Gorgeous. Perfect view from our balcony.

Food – again it was phenomenal and exceeded our expectations. We only had dinner in the hotel 1 night because we’d be out hiking all day and were never sure if we could make it back to the hotel, shower and be down to dinner at 7pm. The one dinner we had was delicious. They also had a fantastic wine selection. Breakfast was just as nice – hard-boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, cereal, fruits, variety of fresh baked breads, yogurt, etc. The views from the restaurant are fantastic as well and to be fair to all guests, they rotate who gets the window seats each day. You can sit in the lobby and have a drink or two in the evening as well.

Train tickets –they sell them there at the hotel which was so convenient (we had the Swiss half pass) and such a time saver. They were able to advise on the best way to get to our destinations.

Spa – sauna and steam room were great a way to unwind in the evening and relax our tired muscles. We tried the hot tub as well but it wasn’t very hot, even though we had reserved it. There was a stepper and stationer bike for those that wanted to work out.

And that would be our only real complaint - hot tub wasn’t hot and the shower in our room was temperamental in that it would be cold one second, warm the next, cold, and then hot. It was bearable and because everything else was so perfect, it didn’t bother us too much.

One final note about Grindelwald – we found it to be the perfect base for our holiday. It allowed for easy access to the trains and gondolas. So because we spent less time getting to the start of the trails, we had more time for hiking. After being out hiking all day, we enjoyed coming back into Grindelwald, seeing people walking around, having a choice of restaurants, a choice of bars and being able to window shop and soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Although the public areas were nice and the staff friendly our room was stuck in a terrible 70's timewarp. The room was a decent size but the bathroom had to be seen to believed! If it was 6ft by 6ft then that was all it was and the paint really needed redoing. One question I have is just how much would it have cost to have a white toilet seat instead of the grotty one that was there.

I don't like having sinks in the bedroom - there is something really tacky about that. The counters round the sink have certainly seen much better days - definitely haven't been replaced since at least the early 70's. I don't like having my toothbrush in my glass at the sink but every day there it was - YUK!!!

My main problem however was the cleanlieness of our room. One day we came back after a long day and the sinks were dirty and the floor hadn't been vacuumed. We decided not to make a fuss but when the next day the room still hadn't been cleaned - the sinks were filthy and there were crumbs all over the floor I really felt that I had to say something to Alex. It was cleaned after I spoke to him but with the price that we were paying why should I have had to ask for our room to ble cleaned?????

The evening meal option was a good deal but very repetitive and the breakfasts limited for my tastes.

We stayed in several hotels during our trip to Switzerland and this one was the most expensive and by far the worst that we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hbsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Property: Hotel Caprice
Address: Kreuzweg 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#17 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caprice 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Caprice in Grindelwald! Small but beautiful and lovely to the smallest detail. So the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald invites you in its third generation, to stay in one of the 24 cozy single-, double-, or superior-rooms and two apartments. The hotel is centrally located but very quiet. You will reach in a 2 - 3 minute walk the train station, the village center can be reached in about 4-5 minutes. The bus stop from where you can go for free by the local ski bus to all cable cars (Grindelwald-First, Pfingsteggbahn, Maennlichenbahn), is also 2-3 minutes away by foot from the hotel. From the same location, three different mountain bus lines drive to Bussalp (Summer & Winter), to Waldspitz (summer) and the Grosse Scheidegg (summer). Wellness oasis with whirlpool, Finnish sauna and Turkish steam bath After an eventful day, we welcome you in our wellness oasis, where you can give your body the necessary relaxation in the bubbling Wetterhorn whirlpool. Subsequently, recharge your batteries in the Finnish Block sauna, our Turkish steam bath or the infrared cabin Physiotherm or enjoy a wonderful massage. The Hotel Caprice will be your cozy home for a relaxing and restful holiday stay in the middle of Grindelwald. You can take benefit from various advantages at the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald: - Central and quiet Location - Unique view of the world-famous Eiger North Face - Personal service from your host family Regula & Alexander Glarner - Suggestions for your individual hiking tours and excursions - We know the most beautiful ski slopes of the Jungfrau Region - We know the longest sledge run in Europe - Complimentary guest trips with your host Alexander Glarner (snowshoeing in winter and hiking in summer) - Do you prefer a sunrise excursion to the best photo spot - or should it be a full moon walk at 1900 meters above sea level? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing