We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tschuggen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tschuggen
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location of hotel is farther away than expected, it is better to take bus from train station to there if you got heavy luggage (though just 2 stops required). The entrance is one floor lower than the road. Since it was wet with melting snow, it was a bit risky to walk down. As we arrived before lunch, room was not ready and they allowed us to store the luggage there. Bad thing was, I got sick and couldn't stay long outside. But at least they helped to book a doctor for me nearby. However, the instruction on how to find the doctor was not given clearly even asking for more information twice...
Room is cozy and clean, and the price is not too expensive (comparing with others there). So still ok to stay.

Room Tip: It is better not to choose one facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    87
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
136
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great basic property with an excellent location, mid-way between the train station and the First gondola. The rooms are clean, and although amenities are few (notably a nice continental breakfast and convenient ski storage, but no phone/safe/refrigerator in room, and be sure to bring your own skin lotion, shampoo and mouthwash) the helpful staff and location make this a great choice for your stay in Grindelwald.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our sixth visit to this charming hotel. It's only a 2-star because it lacks a lift and a restaurant but the rooms are 4-star standard. Superb views of the Eiger if you have a south-facing room. Nothing is too much trouble for the owning family who are amongst the friendliest hoteliers we have ever come across. Smashing continental breakfast. Great location - easy walk from the railway station and surrounded by good restaurants. If you want half-board, you can have a package which provides dinner at the Hotel Eiger immediately opposite but Grindelwald is full of good Swiss restaurants plus Italian, Chinese etc. We recommend this hotel for winter as well - the ski-bus stops nearby with good connections to all 3 ski-ing areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basilfawlty826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was such a relaxing and wonderful hotel, staffed by friendly owners with a very fresh and wholesome breakfast. We opted to have an in-room bathroom which I recommend just for convenience and privacy, but they do offer shared bathrooms for cheaper. We got the mountain view (as opposed to the town) which I highly recommend - gorgeous views of the Eiger and the Swiss style homes. Room was quite spacious and has all the basic ammenities - apparently few hotels on our trip use top sheets, which is something we are used to in the US, so that was a bit annoying, but not particular to this hotel. Same with the pushing of two twins together instead of a true king as well as separate twin blankets - makes it less romantic but also not particular to this hotel. Hotel felt totally worth the price - oh, and English spoken well by the owners in case that's a question.

Got lots of tidbits and tips on outings an hikes which were wonderful and right on the mark. Only one we found poor was their recommendation of the restuarant next door - we judged it expensive, with poor service and mediocre food. But the place across the street, at the Hotel Selfishness, I think, was amazing! Great service, delicious food, and reasonably priced - we ate there twice!

We definitely recommend Hotel Tschuggen - it was the only hotel we stayed at in Grindelwald but felt no need to wonder about the other places and was definitely one of the top hotels of our trip.

Room Tip: Pick the mountain/Eiger facing rooms with the private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed only two nights here, and reluctantly checked out wishing we had an entire week. The view is superb, Robert and Monika are delightful, breakfast is delicious, and the rooms are lovely. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Eiger. You can have a lullaby of the river and cowbells. Heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael and Car... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Located in the center of this small town and close to the railroad station, the Tschuggen is an ideal location for touring in the Berner Oberland. The Inn is clean and has a spectacular view of the Eiger. The owners, Robert and Monika, provided great information on what to do in the area - in particular recommending when to do certain activities based on the weather. In fact, both insisted we visit Jungfrau the day after we arrived - knowing that rain was coming and Jungfrau is best visited when the skies are clear and the views are well, spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patuxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

There cannot be a better B&B in Grindelwald. Robert and Monika are most gracious hosts. Their hotel is very clean. We had a room with a balcony facing the Eiger. Our weather was perfect and the view unbelievable. The hotel in convenient to the train station and bus stop. Monika is a great hiker and will share with you her knowledge of the trails. If you are staying in Grindelwald in the spring or fall and want to ride the gondolas and trains look into buying the 2 for 1 Berner Oberland pass. It is a real bargin. The fresh bread and rolls at breakfast were delicious.

Room Tip: There is a nice restaurant directly across the street from the hotel that has a Sunday night cheeseb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4cornershiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tschuggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tschuggen

Property: Hotel Tschuggen
Address: Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tschuggen 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy chalet-hotel with personal service. Central location, 350 meters from the railway station and the first car. Quiet south-facing rooms with balcony and panoramic view to the Eiger North Wall and on the mountain. Apartments and family rooms. All rooms are non smoking rooms. Free Wifi, parking at the house. Free entrance swimming pool and ice rink (sports centre, 200 m away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tschuggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing