We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Grindelwald”
Review of Hotel Tschuggen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tschuggen
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Grindelwald”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our sixth visit to this charming hotel. It's only a 2-star because it lacks a lift and a restaurant but the rooms are 4-star standard. Superb views of the Eiger if you have a south-facing room. Nothing is too much trouble for the owning family who are amongst the friendliest hoteliers we have ever come across. Smashing continental breakfast. Great location - easy walk from the railway station and surrounded by good restaurants. If you want half-board, you can have a package which provides dinner at the Hotel Eiger immediately opposite but Grindelwald is full of good Swiss restaurants plus Italian, Chinese etc. We recommend this hotel for winter as well - the ski-bus stops nearby with good connections to all 3 ski-ing areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basilfawlty826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    90
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
142
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was such a relaxing and wonderful hotel, staffed by friendly owners with a very fresh and wholesome breakfast. We opted to have an in-room bathroom which I recommend just for convenience and privacy, but they do offer shared bathrooms for cheaper. We got the mountain view (as opposed to the town) which I highly recommend - gorgeous views of the Eiger and the Swiss style homes. Room was quite spacious and has all the basic ammenities - apparently few hotels on our trip use top sheets, which is something we are used to in the US, so that was a bit annoying, but not particular to this hotel. Same with the pushing of two twins together instead of a true king as well as separate twin blankets - makes it less romantic but also not particular to this hotel. Hotel felt totally worth the price - oh, and English spoken well by the owners in case that's a question.

Got lots of tidbits and tips on outings an hikes which were wonderful and right on the mark. Only one we found poor was their recommendation of the restuarant next door - we judged it expensive, with poor service and mediocre food. But the place across the street, at the Hotel Selfishness, I think, was amazing! Great service, delicious food, and reasonably priced - we ate there twice!

We definitely recommend Hotel Tschuggen - it was the only hotel we stayed at in Grindelwald but felt no need to wonder about the other places and was definitely one of the top hotels of our trip.

Room Tip: Pick the mountain/Eiger facing rooms with the private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed only two nights here, and reluctantly checked out wishing we had an entire week. The view is superb, Robert and Monika are delightful, breakfast is delicious, and the rooms are lovely. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Eiger. You can have a lullaby of the river and cowbells. Heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael and Car... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Located in the center of this small town and close to the railroad station, the Tschuggen is an ideal location for touring in the Berner Oberland. The Inn is clean and has a spectacular view of the Eiger. The owners, Robert and Monika, provided great information on what to do in the area - in particular recommending when to do certain activities based on the weather. In fact, both insisted we visit Jungfrau the day after we arrived - knowing that rain was coming and Jungfrau is best visited when the skies are clear and the views are well, spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patuxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

There cannot be a better B&B in Grindelwald. Robert and Monika are most gracious hosts. Their hotel is very clean. We had a room with a balcony facing the Eiger. Our weather was perfect and the view unbelievable. The hotel in convenient to the train station and bus stop. Monika is a great hiker and will share with you her knowledge of the trails. If you are staying in Grindelwald in the spring or fall and want to ride the gondolas and trains look into buying the 2 for 1 Berner Oberland pass. It is a real bargin. The fresh bread and rolls at breakfast were delicious.

Room Tip: There is a nice restaurant directly across the street from the hotel that has a Sunday night cheeseb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4cornershiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the Tschuggen in 2009 and again for 11 days in Sept. 2012. Excellent hospitality offered by Robert and Monika. They provide a wonderful experience for travelers. You can count on a clean room with excellent views (balcony rooms), a European style breakfast offered in a cozy dining area and helpful information if needed. The owners are friendly, professional and hard working. You will feel welcome and be well taken care of. The Tschuggen's location can't be beat...easy access to trains, cable cars, busses and hiking trails. I highly recommend staying at the Tschuggen.

Linda

Room Tip: Suggest getting a room with a balcony facing the Eiger. Single and double rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The location is perfect with amazing views. I had checked in at 10PM and the view in the morning of the Alps just blew me away.
The Grindelwald train station is a 5 minute walk,with trains to Jungfraujoch and Interlaken. The cable car station to First is just a 2 minute walk away.Take the cable car to First and you will find a lot of walking/biking trails. Grindelwald is the perfect place to stay if you are planning on Jungfrau,First or Schilthorn.
Hotel Tschuggen is a quiet place to come back to after the day's sight-seeing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can get a little noisy after 7AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tschuggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tschuggen

Property: Hotel Tschuggen
Address: Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tschuggen 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy chalet-hotel with personal service. Central location, 350 meters from the railway station and the first car. Quiet south-facing rooms with balcony and panoramic view to the Eiger North Wall and on the mountain. Apartments and family rooms. All rooms are non smoking rooms. Free Wifi, parking at the house. Free entrance swimming pool and ice rink (sports centre, 200 m away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tschuggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing