We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our young teen kids. We found the location of the hotel quite spectacular although it is away from the main town, but that was fine for us as we had a car to get around. We were welcomed quite well and shown the room and facilities but after that initial warmth, the rest of the time the staff were pretty aloof and cold. The flies were what took us completely by surprise. Did not know about this problem in Grindelwald. They bothered the life out of us especially at meal times and sleeping times. The rooms were very warm and if we opened the windows, we got bothered by the flies. I wish they would consider ceiling fans or table fans. In July it was by no means cool and one could do with air conditioners or fan. I could not sleep at all as I either I would get disturbed by the flies buzzing near my ears or I would be too hot. I did ask the reception to try and organize a fan and I was willing to pay for it, but I found their response very cold and they were certainly not even apologetic about shooting down my request. Customer is certainly not the king in almost any European hotel and service industry can learn a lot from hotels of same class in Asia. Prices are steep but service not necessarily proportionate. In Asia if you pay steep prices for a good quality hotel, the service and the willingness to try and make the guest as comfortable as possible is the top priority.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singgal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    56
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
77
149
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

After much searching for a modern contemporary hotel near grindelwald we settled on the Hotel Aspen - the drive up through the valley to the hotel is fabulous and the setting wonderful with stunning mountain views. On entering the very smart hotel we noticed a number of flies in the reception area which we thought was a little unpleasant - we were given a tour of the hotels amenities ( didnt take up the offer of the naked spa - well we are English !!) and then went to our room- thankfully it was lovely with a beautiful bathroom (no flies here) - we ate in the hotel restaurant on the evening and again I was bothered by the amount of flies around us and our food- none of the hotel staff seemed remotely concerned - the next morning for breakfast the buffet was we felt totally unacceptable the flies were everywhere and made worse by the fact none of the food items were covered - so the fabulous array of choice was totally lost on us and this was made worse by the hotels apparent lack of concern. On checking out we mentioned the number of flies especially in the restaurants as it had spoilt our stay and were told in no uncertain terms that "this is Switzerland this is what its like" feeling we had no right to comment.
We were first time visitors to Switzerland and we felt the hotel could have explained this fact to us we are regular travellers and are very careful about our choice of hotels and therefore felt only right to say that the hotel as a whole was nice ( if not expensive which yes we do know "this is what it's like in Switzerland " ) however if you do not like flies around you or your food maybe look for hotels which are not located up in the meadows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel will offer an amazing experience amongst the beautiful backdrop of Jungfraubahn. To be combined with "Top of Europe" trip. Spa and therapy treatments available, the outdoor hot spa is the perfect way to end your day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Up-to-date facilities for 2 senior Danish wanderers with short bustrip to town centre. We enjoyed the traditional Swiss cow-bells, the busy farmers, and the holiday-makers in cablecars, and in the Jungfraubahn going to "Top of Europe".
Superb breakfast after a comfortable sleep in a very nice room, we were ready for our autumn walking... Afternoon at Aspen with tea, and the excellent wellness and spa prepared us for enjoying the obligatory dinner serve by nice young ladies also offering a well-choosen wide selection of wine... Definetly our hotel next time in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Balcony-room view Towers Eiger northface.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband were there over the long weekend. We went to Grindelwald quite often and been in several hotels but we have to say this hotel is very new. The room we booked is junior suite with gallery. The style of decoration is very unique and clean. The room really made me feel unlike in the other hotels in Grindelwald. We could sleep very well. Thanks to the good quality of bed and curtain. The view of our room is also very nice. The hotel also provided wellness area that really helped us a lot after a long walk or skiing the whole day. The view from jacuzzi is really nice. We also spent time in restaurant and the food was really great and not over priced. Overall, we really like the hotel and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to this hotel because of the praised wellness area, and that was definitely great. We were however smart enough to go there during the hotel dinner time, which meant that we could enjoy the entire area with just the two of us for hours.
The rooms were great, but not more than that. Same for the breakfast. Our room was way too warm, but really annoying was that we could not open our window for fresh air because people were smoking on the patio in the evenings and early mornings. Our room was just above the patio.
What we also disliked was the attitude of the personell, which was rather desinterested and blunt. On arrival, we got a short tour of the facilities, but the lady did not listen to our questions at all. The next day, I asked her colleague at the desk about hikng routes, but she glazed at me like if she had never heard of hiking. She pointed to the flyers on the desk, saying if they had anything it must be there. When we were checking out, I told the lady that we had a good time, but that we regretted that we could not open the window because of the smoking. She reacted inappropriately theatrical, like she was totally shocked that people were smoking on the patio, and how awful that must have been. But the whole response was so off, that we concluded that we had just spoken to one of the smokers ....
This could be a very great hotel, if only the service were better.

Room Tip: Non-smokers should choose a room in the back of the building. The smoking on the patio is annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJanssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I had been heli skiing in Interlaken and decided to see what hotels there were to do 3 more days skiing in Grindelwald. We found the Hotel Aspen and were pleasantly surprised when we saw their last minute deal. The hotel was faultless with great service, beautiful rooms and a great spa. The inclusive dinner was good but not quite fine dinning. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Aspen 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chalet hotel is a true discovery with its unique sun terrace next to the ski slope heading down the valley, hiking passes on the doorstep and delightful, typically Swiss details to its interior. In the year 2012 a suite annex, together with a wellness area with outdoor whirlpool, were built and the hotel was completely renovated.This modern house in a rustic, chalet style puts importance on uncomplicated and innovative mountain tourism with close ties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aspen Alpin Lifestyle Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing