We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip - fabulous for children and a great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We just returned from a weekend at the Grindelwald Hostel and we had a great time. We stayed in the newer annex and this worked out great. The annex has been nicely finished in wood so it really blends into the surroundings. The room had 2 sets of bunk beds and a sink. There was plenty of room for the four of us (husband and sons, 4 and 5 yrs). The view was amazing and the boys could play at the small playground while we watched from the room. The toilets and showers were very clean.

Like others have said, the walk up from town can be tricky if you are carrying lots of gear so try and get there in time to catch a bus. This was a bit expensive - 6chf for full fare but it was worth it! After that, even our 4 yr old happily walked up the hill. We had dinner there both nights and they were good, nothing too fancy but good. The first night there were only 7 people dining but the next there were close to 80. It can get crowded and loud so eat early if that bothers you. There were plenty of places to eat outside. Bring your own wine and beer from town for an after dinner drink because the wine there is very pricey. There were lots of people having impromptu picnics!

We found the staff very helpful and friendly! There were quite a few other families around so the children were occupied. Our boys thought it was the best "hotel" ever.

I recommend this place for anyone with a love of the outdoors but do your homework - plan on getting into town in time to take the bus there (the buses stop early - about 5ish), book your meal there before you arrive if you are getting in late, know your check-in and check-out times, and remember that this is a hostel! You are expected to make and strip your own bed, bus your tables and clean up after yourselves!

Have a Great Time!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kidzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Grindelwald Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed in Feb half term 09 and were due to go back for new year however due to pregnancy we cancelled (much to my disappointment). The hostel was great, very modern and clean and staff very helpful. Our room had a great big window and lovely view, two sets of bunks and was spacious, the loos/showers - again very modern across the hall, it was very peaceful as well at night which I can't say about some places I've stayed on skiing trips!!
Location was up a hill from the main centre of the town, but there were buses to and from the hostel and a "nachtbus" (only be careful as may not access the hill if lots of snow - only happened once taxis are an option..) WE drove to the hostel from the UK snow chains/4X4 essential, our chains were useless as never used them before and don't think were suitable for our car so again beware, we got the car up - eventually but didn't dare move it once it was up there hence the use of the bus (free too!!)
The hostel did a 3 course meal each night, cost 16 swiss francs so not too bad, I am very fussy so tended to venture to town where there was a decent variety of places to eat and some had special offers, all in all on average spent around 80 francs per night incl drinks etc.
Skiing was good, with a good ski school which my then 8 yr old daughter participated in, bookings for this are taken at the leisure centre in the main centre, ski school situated on the bus route from the hostel a little out of the way, if you have kids of intermediate level then ok to meet instructors at the "First" gondola.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it's my opinion you would be hard pushed to stay anywhere over half term as cheaply, roughly £750 for 6 nights (for all of us including breakfast). Yes we had to drive, got the dfds ferry from Newcastle to Amsterdam (£400 all in) and petrol costs but I can honestly say it beat some dodgy package holiday to some dodgy hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!(in a naff concrete resort)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hartley_scott_combo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Grindelwald youth hostel is a brisk uphill walk from the centre of town but once you get there it is a friendly place to stay with excellent value clean rooms in good condition.

If you want dinner you have to book in advance but there are plenty of places to eat in town if you haven't booked.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northumbrianscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

When my husband and I planned a town-to-town hiking trip in the Alps, we thought it would be fun to stay at the hostel in Grindelwald and meet other hikers/travelers. My husband speaks German, so we reserved by phone, and our first warning should have been when the manager demanded a $90 deposit upfront -- even though we would have paid a $6 deposit if we'd reserved online at the Hostelling International site.
Ideally, hostels are friendly and welcoming, but that wasn't the case in Grindelwald. After hiking 23 km from Meiringen, we arrived dead-tired at 7 p.m. We found out the hostel serves dinner, and we would have liked to eat there, since the buses to town had stopped, but we were not allowed because we hadn't reserved in advance. We dropped our pack in our room in the newer, concrete building next to the chalet, which my husband dubbed "the army barracks,'' noticed there was no soap in the bathroom and returned to the office at 7:30, also hoping to buy a beer, but it was locked and the staff had disappeared, so we had to go without.
So we trudged down to town, which is a big tourist trap, but we did find a great place to eat, the C&M cafe. The taxi back in the rain cost $15.
Our room was bare-bones -- concrete walls, nothing on the walls, no view, no clock, thin and scratchy towels, dark corridors. I mean, it's a hostel -- but our total cost was $116 U.S.! The staff treated us like potential thieves -- I had to pay a $5 deposit to use a hair dryer, and at 9:25 a.m. (we had to strip our beds and be out of our rooms at 9:15 a.m.), while I was looking at a rack of postcards, the manager snatched it away and put it in the office so she could lock up for the day.
This hostel may be a good deal in ski season, but in mid-June, we could have stayed at a B&B in town for the same price and actually be welcomed and fed a nice breakfast (breakfast was bare-bones, too, for Europe). The chalet did seem pleasant, and beds there are 32-34 francs per person, so it may be all right for a single traveler, especially during a busier season when there are more people around. But the private rooms in the barracks are not a good deal at all -- the worst value on our entire trip.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaburytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I like this hotel. Eventhough it is not 5 stars hotel. But it is beautiful, peace and romantic. Also the service is good. The staffs are so kind, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

If you don't get a spot in the charming old part of the hostel, the new building with it's 4 bedded rooms works well for clean, quiet sleeping space. It's basic but unbeatable for the price. Locations ok but learn the bus routes and schedules to avoid late night walks up hill. Showers make one feel good about being green and saving the planet with low flow hot water but hey, it's a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

For skiing on a budget you can't go wrong with staying at the Grindelwald official swiss youth hostel.Spectacular views abound from the balconies and quaint features inside make it feel homely and as good as any expensive swiss hotels. Preferably request to stay in old building which over the years has been renovated and is very clean and quaint. If going on your own or as a family there are various types of accomodation varying from dormitory type room to four bedded rooms for families. Buffet breakfast and evening meal is included in price which i have found to be excellent.The local ski bus stops some 100 yards from the hostel.My departure was at 5am and the staff happily prepared me a packed breakfast which I took with me. Only downside to the place is that it is situated 15 mins up a hill and if you miss the last ski bus which departs at 1830hrs it's either an expensive taxi SF24 or a hard slog up a winding road or even worse up along a steep and possibly icy path on the other hand it's good exercise

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjszms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindelwald Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Address: Geissstutzstrasse 12 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range: $92 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grindelwald Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of the Alps - have fun in the Grindelwald youth hostel! It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable hostels in the Alps. The welcoming cosiness has remained, but modern bedrooms and practical facilities for groups and families have now been added. More than ever before, the youth hostel is a rendezvous for sport fans and young guests from all over the world who want to experience the impressive world of the mountains around Grindelwald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Grindelwald Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Grindelwald Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing