We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time in most scenic region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic time in most scenic region”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2006

I went to Switzerland for the second time ( on 28June 2006-10 July 2006), a region called the "Bernese Oberland". I stayed with my husband and young brother in a Youth Hostel, as it is a very expensive country. I have stayed at this hostel before. The staff are very friendly and considerate and try their best to be of assisstance.
It caters for all ages and is not too big. The average price is about 28CHF a night and that includes breakfast. You have the option to order supper at 13.50CHF (about £6) and that includes a starter, main course and a dessert. The food is simple fare cooked by local people who run the hostel. It is very good and alot cheaper than the eating else where.
We struggled with the poriton sizes as it was very large and heavy - most restaurants seem to serve large portions.

We had a family room, so you do not have to share if you do not want to. It was very clean and comfortable. The view from this Hostel/Chalet is spectacular, it overlooks the Eiger and Jungfray is just nearby. This town is also very small. Alot of cows about and goats - all with bells - chocolate box houses - evreything you would expect Switzerland to be.

We were here for 12days and still did not find that it was enough as there was so much to do and see.

At the station in Grinelwald you can purchase a Jungfrau pass, which enable you to take most cable cars and trains in the jungfrau region for a period of 6 days. If you are staying in this region for 6 days it is advisable, as the trains and cable cars are very expensive otherwise. We bought a Family pass which cost my husband and me 190CHF (approx £95) my brother of 15 got a pass for a year for the price of 20CHF - which was very good.
However if you take the train ride up to the Jungfraujoch (top of europe) then you have to pay an extra fee as it is further along and the pass does not cover it all.

We did alot of short hikes, but the altitude is very high and one does get short of breath. The most scenic (all of them are scenic...) if thought for myself was a place called First, then also the longest cable car in europe runs from Grund to Manlichen - we decided to walk back - but it took us 6 hours and we are not experienced walkers. We were ofcourse shattered the next day, but it was wonderfull. The alpine flowers growing at various altitudes were beautifull and if you love flowers this is spectacular.

Then there is the train from Grindelwad up to Kleine Scheidegg where you change trains and take the train up to Jungfraujoch, this was very beautifull but i found it very claustrophobic as the train goes straight through the mountian and when you do finaly get there the altitude is so high that people do get dizzy and struggle a bit to walk, people with breathing problems must bear this in mind. The view over the glacier is out of this world. You also have the option to snowboard, ski, there are dogsleighs, restaurants all up ther as well as an ice sculpture gallery - it is a great day out. One must however take sunscreen and glasses, we found it very warm up there despite the snow.

We also discovered the delightfull town of Wengen, which is a carfree town and it can only be reached by train, it is a beautifull village and worth walking around in.
We alslo went further down the Valley to Brienz which is by a lake, where you have an option to swim in the lake, it was very hot - so it is a great place for bathers.

There is so much to say about this area - however it is strictly for lovers of nature and walking- as you do alot of it. There is some nightlife, but nothing too major. It has a bit of every thing, anyone who has any questions can contact me. I will try my best to answer.
Regards

Helpful?
8 Thank Jinxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
13
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

We stayed two nights at this hostel and had a very positive overall experience. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, providing maps, making suggestions on hikes to take and when, and just being very friendly in general. The breakfast was great, with good quality food and lots of variety to chose from in the buffet. They also kindly packed us lunches, which weren't quite as good as the breakfast, but okay.

The chalet is classic, with beautiful wood all throughout and most rooms have a balcony from which you can take in beautiful views over Grindelwald valley and up to the impressive Bernese Alps.

If you have a lot of luggage, the walk up to the hostel can be quite a workout; it is all uphill. There is also a bus that stops right next to the place as another option.

We were out hiking most of the time, but the hostel has a very lovely and cozy lounge including a piano on the first floor that could have been useful in the event of inclement weather.

All in all, this is really a reat place to stay. I am eager to recommend it to friends and will stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2006

This was the first time I have stayed at a YH in switzerland. Very very clean, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was good value. I could not find anything wrong with the hostel. Will return and stay again

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2005

Easily the best hostel I have stayed in. Rooms were spottless, food was excellent and above all the views were incredible. The garden is terraced with hammocks, table tennis and a trampoline - just inviting you to be outdoors! We found the staff very helpful and the hostel itself was charming. I will definitely stay there again.

Only downside is that its location is up a hill - bit of a treck when taking heavy stuff up. A bus service is available but it doesn't run late into the night. Its well worth it though.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smudgepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#33 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindelwald Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Property: Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Address: Geissstutzstrasse 12 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grindelwald Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of the Alps - have fun in the Grindelwald youth hostel! It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable hostels in the Alps. The welcoming cosiness has remained, but modern bedrooms and practical facilities for groups and families have now been added. More than ever before, the youth hostel is a rendezvous for sport fans and young guests from all over the world who want to experience the impressive world of the mountains around Grindelwald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grindelwald Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Grindelwald Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing