We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and Splendid!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Bangkok
1 review
“Perfect and Splendid!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I like this hotel. Eventhough it is not 5 stars hotel. But it is beautiful, peace and romantic. Also the service is good. The staffs are so kind, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
13
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

If you don't get a spot in the charming old part of the hostel, the new building with it's 4 bedded rooms works well for clean, quiet sleeping space. It's basic but unbeatable for the price. Locations ok but learn the bus routes and schedules to avoid late night walks up hill. Showers make one feel good about being green and saving the planet with low flow hot water but hey, it's a youth hostel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

For skiing on a budget you can't go wrong with staying at the Grindelwald official swiss youth hostel.Spectacular views abound from the balconies and quaint features inside make it feel homely and as good as any expensive swiss hotels. Preferably request to stay in old building which over the years has been renovated and is very clean and quaint. If going on your own or as a family there are various types of accomodation varying from dormitory type room to four bedded rooms for families. Buffet breakfast and evening meal is included in price which i have found to be excellent.The local ski bus stops some 100 yards from the hostel.My departure was at 5am and the staff happily prepared me a packed breakfast which I took with me. Only downside to the place is that it is situated 15 mins up a hill and if you miss the last ski bus which departs at 1830hrs it's either an expensive taxi SF24 or a hard slog up a winding road or even worse up along a steep and possibly icy path on the other hand it's good exercise

  • Liked — Location and ambience
  • Disliked — Walk up to property
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjszms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Excellent beds and facilities, despite the age of the chalet, interior is well maintained and some parts even looked brand new. Great balcony view from each room. Staff is extremely welcoming and friendly, and dinner was excellent. Too bad I missed the fondue on Christmas night. This is not your regular youth hostel as it packs in families with kids and the elderly. Expect to feel a little homesick if you are a single traveller, but it sure feels very wholesome. One thing that can be improved on is the location map available online, it was useless. Get the official one from the tourist office instead.

  • Liked — Everything except the hike up.
  • Disliked — Location not so easy to find.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2008

One of the best hostels I've ever styayed at. Very friendly and helpfull staff, excellent food, clean rooms, just about anything you could ask for and the veiws could not be beaten anywhere.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank bishopWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

Ok, I have not stayed at a youth hostel for a VERY long time. We decided to stay here because my sister & a colleague stayed here and raved about it. The views, the breakfast, the dinner etc etc. So my husband & I decided to give this place a try. Because we didn't have advanced bookings, we ended up with a 4-bedder but had the room to ourselves. It's at the new annex and has excellent view. I would have personally preferred a room with a balcony but at -6 degree celsius, the view suffices. So here's my verdict :

THE FOOD. This is the key reason why we stayed at this place. So it is ranked 1st.
Dinner : For the price of Sfr14.50, we had meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and boiled beans, together with a glass of orange juice & chocolate mousse for dessert. That's excellent value for money and getting home-cooked style food. One cannot complain.
Breakfast : A wide selection of cereals, jams, breads, cheeses, and ham, coupled with free-flow of orange juice, milk (cold & hot), and coffee. Throw in the yoghurt.....you have to admit that it is worth every cent.

THE DINING HALL & COMMON AREAS. Functional dining halls, and there's even a cosy fireside area !!

THE ROOM: Excellent view of Mount Eisner. If you turn of the lights at night and see the valley's lights, it feels like Christmas. The rooms come with wash basins, and the bathrooms are just across the hall where the lights are motion activated. It's clean and functional. No TVs or wireless access. So bring along your own book to read or your own notebook for entertainment.

THE BATHROOMS. The water in this hostel is heated by by solar. So this is an environmentally-friendly hostel. Even the shower heats is on push tap basis. So you don't waste unnecessarily. The bathrooms and toilets are squeaky clean. We did not encounter any other users while there. So it is really quite amazing......

THE RECEPTION: Is mildly friendly. There is an internet acess which the hostel charges.

ONSITE FACILITIES: There is a playroom, pingpong room, and ski-storage facility, luggage storage facility. There's also an outdoor playground. That makes this place very friendly.

KEY COMPLAINTS:
1. No wireless internet access. It would have been really great if
there's wireless internet access.
2. They do charge for everything (other than linens). So do
remember to bring your towels along.
3. No onsite cooking facilities. Well! You cannot do your own
cooking at all ! The most the hostel is willing to provide you is
helping you fill your hotwater bottle.
If these complaints are important for you, check out Grindelwald's Downtown Lodge. They allow all of these. The location is great (right in town). The decor and place is not as spiffy....plus you don't get any great views.

But hey, this is Switzerland. Everywhere is clean....if all you want is a roof for the night plus modern conveniences. The weather had forced us to stay one more night so that we can view the Jungfroujoch. So we went for the cheaper option at Downtown Lodge.

  • Liked — Great value for money
  • Disliked — No wireless internet acess
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MouMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

I stayed here for a week during a ski trip. My private room with en suite private shower-room had twin single beds pushed together and a pull out trundle underneath, so it could have held up to three people. I was alone so I had it all to myself, and it was better than many 1-2 star hotels I've stayed at around Europe. There were two secure (lockable) lockers in the room to hold valuables -- put 2 Francs in to use them and the money is returned each time you open the locker.

The hostel is part of the international HI/YHA network and its high standards reflected this. There's a main chalet-style building with some rooms, as well as the living rooms, some with easy chairs and others with tables, where people gather for meals. One of which has a cosy open fireplace. Everyone was very friendly and I was welcomed by other groups to join them for dinner on several evenings. The dinners (12 Swiss Francs extra per 3-course meal, which is cheaper than a hamburger in town) are traditional Swiss fare, such as fondue and traditional bakes. They're home cooked and fairly simple, but quite filling. Far nicer than living on fast food.

The second building is a newish, three story annexe close to the main building. This is where the en suite rooms are. It has a storage room for sporting equipment such as skis, boots and poles so that you don't have this gear cluttering up your bedroom.

There were no TVs in the rooms, but if you take a laptop with a TV card you should pick up 2 Swiss TV channels even without connecting to the aerial jack in the room. But who needs TV. Look out the window at the most spectacular views! I was on the ground floor but the view was stupendous. The dining rooms also had a great view.

The only slight negatives I can think of (and they're hardly worth mentioning):

(1) there is a single internet computer in the main building which is run by an outside company. I think it was 5 Swiss Francs an hour, but it was out of order for a few days while I was there and the hostel just had to wait till the operator came to fix it, and the YHA couldn't let guests use other computers to check email. It would be better if the YHA had its own public-access computer, or better still a free wireless network in the main building!

(2) it's a bit of a hike up the hill from the centre of Grindelwald -- about 15 minutes brisk walk. That said, it's only 10 mins or less to meander down the very pretty mountain path from the hostel's back door to close to the centre of town (a walk definitely worth doing!). Many expensive chalets are located nearby and at comparable distances from town in other directions, so for the price it's an excellent location. Buses run past the door every half-hour or so and are only 5 minutes down to the little 'bus station' (more like a big parking place) near the railway station in the centre of town.

When you check-in at the YHA, you'll be given a red visitor card. This entitles you to free travel on the buses and also a discount to use the sports centre next to the bus station. Ice skating is 2 Francs with this card, and swimming is (I think) 2.50 Francs. It's amazing value!

Finally, the friendliness of the staff should definitely be noted. They really went out of their way to help and to care when something went wrong (eg. if someone had a bad day skiing), to make sure people had the sorts of rooms they wanted, and to make sure everyone felt welcome. I’ve stayed at some excellent Youth Hostels in the past. This was on par with the best!

  • Liked — Views, friendliness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Distance from centre of Grindelwald
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Atheoretical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindelwald Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Property: Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Address: Geissstutzstrasse 12 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grindelwald Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of the Alps - have fun in the Grindelwald youth hostel! It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable hostels in the Alps. The welcoming cosiness has remained, but modern bedrooms and practical facilities for groups and families have now been added. More than ever before, the youth hostel is a rendezvous for sport fans and young guests from all over the world who want to experience the impressive world of the mountains around Grindelwald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grindelwald Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Grindelwald Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing