We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bettwanzen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Potsdam, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bettwanzen”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

since the rooms dont have big windows the environment is perfect for such insects. Unfortunately I got more than 50 bites from this "Bettwanzen" and I saw one of them in a bet...just i did not know what it was...so hygine in this hostel is doubtful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
13
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Ok, so this is a youth hostel so I can' expect standards to be too high. I went in with low expectations but overall I was pleasantly surprised.

Location was pretty good, 5 or 10 min walk to the town (a shortcut down through the hills) or a bus stop 2 minute walk up the hill.

Our rooms were clean, you have to make your own bed and bring your own towels though.

Views from our balcony were incredible.

Table tennis and table football was pretty cool after a few beers.

We had access to the TV to watch our videos from the day which was pretty cool.

The manager was quite friendly.

Unfortunately there were a few issues that let the place down a little...

Firstly, we arrived late at night in heavy snow and just managed to get there. We struggled to work out where to park and left the car in what we considered a safe place until morning. The next morning we were given a 50CHF fine with no negotiation. Yes we parked in the wrong place but it's a shame they didn't see our side. (It's 7CHF/day for their regular parking)

The second issue was the 50CHF cancellation insurance that was added to our bill. Not quite sure why as we had already paid a 300CHF deposit. Once all the extras were added the place didn't seem quite so cheap.

The doors are paper thin, so even a chat in the evening can be enough to disturb your neighbours.

There aren't enough showers/toilets. When it gets busy you can be in for quite a wait.

Some of the bunk beds are a health hazard. No guard on the side to stop you falling out! One of our group fell and hurt themselves, I would be really worried with kids.

Apart from that, it was OK and we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111. We stayed in 117 we had access to a huge shared balcony with views of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elbows29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful mountain chalet on a lovely place. About 10 minutes to the centre of Grindelwald. Everything was perfect, rooms were clean and spacious and staff was very kind. It wasn´t too expensive and the food was also delicious.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the village. There are beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TePi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I also stayed in room 111 and have spent the last couple of weeks with my arms covered with painful bed bug bites. I knew I was being bitten by something all night but the volume of bites actually made me ill. What is worse is that I emailed to let them know and have had no response either. So rubbish service when I am left trying to boil everything I own!
Stay at your own risk....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SwissWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Please stay away from Room 111. My husband and I stayed there one night, and when we woke up the next morning, he mentioned that he had felt something biting him in the stomach at night. We never gave it much thought. One of the women also sleeping in the same room (we stayed in a 6-bed dormitory room on the first floor) said the next morning that she had been bitten all over by "mosquitoes". Little did we know that it would turn out to be our worst nightmare... BEDBUGS. We didn't realize it until 3-4 days later, when I found I had been bitten over 50 times. We're now worried we brought then back home in our luggage. PLEASE don't stay here. If you do, consider yourself forewarned and bag all your sleeping clothes in an airtight ziploc bag when you leave, lest you carry them home with you like we did. Bedbugs are very, very difficult insects to get rid of. The hostel should hire an exterminator immediately and let customers know what's going on. The service was actually great and the people running the place were very nice, so the reason for our very low scores are the bedbugs....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

You can't beat the views from the balcony of this youth hostel. We spent every evening eating and drinking for hours out there. The rooms are clean and functional although the older building has more character and warmth than the newer building. The staff is very friendly. One day we had to leave for Jungfraujoch early in the morning so they gave us a great packed breakfast to take with us. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends. Lots of families were staying there with kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madison_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

very clean, fun facility. Beds were fairlly comfortable, and not squeeky...being as they are bunk beds. Gorgeous view from bedrom windows...helpful staff...good breakfst... Would defntey stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#33 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindelwald Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Property: Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Address: Geissstutzstrasse 12 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grindelwald Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of the Alps - have fun in the Grindelwald youth hostel! It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable hostels in the Alps. The welcoming cosiness has remained, but modern bedrooms and practical facilities for groups and families have now been added. More than ever before, the youth hostel is a rendezvous for sport fans and young guests from all over the world who want to experience the impressive world of the mountains around Grindelwald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grindelwald Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Grindelwald Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing