We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous lake, and if you are game...super refreshing swim! Nice hike down to”
Review of Bachalpsee Lake

Bachalpsee Lake
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lake, and if you are game...super refreshing swim! Nice hike down to”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Easy (hourish) hike to this really pretty lake. Ton of tourists, so don't expect remote feel. Happily, once you get there you can find a place around lake. Our family decided to venture into water given it was August. Wow. Some nice spots to have a picnic. We then hiked down to the first tram stop, not where we embarked from, was about an hour or so hike, really gorgeous, and a lot less people than the hike up from the top of tram.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    99
    23
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Just nice. Nothing special.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We trekked out to this lake expecting to find an astounding view with mountains reflected in a glass like lake etc. Just as you see on the postcards. Plus this walk was described in my guidebook as extremely easy and one that families and "non walkers" could enjoy.
Well first off, this walk is not that easy for us city types, and we saw two people trying to push a child's buggy along with great difficulty. I couldn't help but wonder if they had the same guidebook as us! Whilst, of course, it's not an especially challenging walk it is still a slog with some ascending and descending. My 65 year old mother could not do this walk for example, but the guide book suggests otherwise.
Secondly, once we reached the lake I was decidedly underwhelmed. Yes it's a pretty spot, but we saw no reflections on the water (too breezy) and it's like Piccadilly Circus up there. There is no sense of being at one with nature. You're too busy wondering when someone will give up there spot on a bench so you can sit and eat your packed lunch.
On a positive note we did really enjoy the ride up on the gondola from Grindelwald, and enjoyed shopping in the village after we descended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a walk to see”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This mountain lake is about an hours walk from the cable car at First. It is worth the walk, especially if it is good weather, when there are great view towards the Eiger north face and the Wetterhorn mountains. It is a busy route, so don't expect to be alone. Also, be prepared for bad weather and take warm clothes and waterproofs, as the weather changes constantly. There are usually loads of cows with bells around their necks and they are curious and friendly. If you feel more energetic and have the right gear, walk on past Bachalpsee towards Faulhorn. Be vigilant and quiet and you will probably see marmots. We also saw a herd of chamois and we were greatly amused by the young ones jumping in the snow and having a great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must to see!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

To access Bachalpsee Lake, you have to walk hard way from First for 50min. But it is wonderful ! Amazing ! You must to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yamhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bachalpsee Lake was one of the most incredible sites I had ever seen, a wonderful reward at the end of a fairly easy walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bachalpsee Lake also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Bachalpsee Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing