We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb - Natural Wonder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bachalpsee Lake

Bachalpsee Lake
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb - Natural Wonder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We hiked from First to Lake Bachalpsee, it took around an hour and was quite a hike for us as we are noobs at hiking. But the destination was amazing. The lake is a natural wonder, and the sun glistening on the lake with the 2 mountains reflection alongwith, is a sight to behold. Must go!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank devesh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    93
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were blessed with wonderful weather on the day of our hike and had an amazing time doing the hike from First station to Bachalpsee. Not exactly an easy hike with undulating terrains and some really steep climbs. Having said that it is not difficult...you just have to do it at your own pace. This is a very popular trail and we met many people along the way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“9 Km round trip to First with a 125m elevation gain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Approximately 4.5 km one way with a 125 metre elevation gain (on GPS) is given a rather sporting 50 min walk time on the sign post at First cable car station. The road is broad and well laid out but does undulate up and down so you will feel it! Families were walking with prams and dogs which gives you some idea of the level of difficulty. At the end is the superb lakes which those photographers of you are framed against the backdrop of the great snow capped mountains. You do need some time there to walk around and as the last cable car down in summer is at 5 pm, leave yourself plenty of time for the trip back. There are of course other exit hikes which I was tempted to do but the red and white striped signs (indicating greater difficulty) did not really give much information what to expect and hence I opted for the trip back and the cable car.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wasn't easy to arrive there from First but worth every effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful view of mountains, cows and flowers. take your time and enjoy looking around. The way down to waldspitz from the other side of the lakes is nice too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jannab48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

A wonderful walk with breathtaking scenery. We met cows and very friendly goats along the way and also spotted some marmots. Overal beautiful. Take the walk back to Bort and hire a trottibike...so much fun!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_e62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bachalpsee Lake also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Bachalpsee Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing